No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Captains Club Hotel and Spa

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
37 WICK LANE , CHRISTCHURCH, BH23 1HU

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "The comfortable beds, breakfast on the terrace and waterside views all made this a great place to stay."

Modern and luxurious river facing, desirable,individual, boutique and exquisite 4* hotel. Chic and contemporary decor. A privately owned hotel located in a truly enviable location.

Excellent food, locally sourced produce (2 AA Rosette status) and superb, friendly service, Pre bookings for the extensive 'Club' menu is a must. Luxury suites within the main part of the hotel, ideal for families, also long term and short term stays, (similar to serviced apartments) two and three bedrooms accommodating from two to six guests, and deluxe double and twin rooms, all rooms are river facing including two river view wheelchair user friendly rooms with hand rails and wet rooms (walk in showers). Spa facilities including hydro-therapy pool and sauna (permitted use by persons aged 16yrs +) and boasts four treatment rooms offering natural Caudelie and Aromatherapy Associates products and Leighton Denny nail products. Pre bookings for the treatments are strongly advised.

Envious river facing spacious terrace area with comfortable and modern furniture, ideal for drinks and food.

Special occasion - why not treat yourself and book your own luxury cruise, hotel Motor Cruiser, licenced up to 8 guests, prices available on request, tide dependable.

The hotel operates a non smoking policy in all areas of the hotel. For Smokers we do have a designated seating area outside. Ideally located in historic and evolving Christchurch and only fiteen minutes drive to Bournemouth town centre and Bournemouth Airport. Situated five minutes from the unspoilt Hengistbury Head, local beach and Mudeford Quay. Twenty minute drive to the beautiful New Forest. Free parking onsite and fully air conditioned. "Passionate about people"


Picture of Captains Club Hotel and Spa, CHRISTCHURCH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay. Nice surroundings and atmosphere.

Reviewed by
M Monteith

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a lovely relaxing stay. Breakfast is excellent and service in the restaurant was good. The hotel bar team seemed to serve locals/regulars first which was irritating. Also, there always seemed to be a large number of reserved tables - which is testament to the popularity of the bar and restaurant but it did make me feel a bit grumpy as we were guests of the hotel and paying good money for the privilege. If you want to spend time in the bar or have a meal in the restaurant you do need to book in advance. The spa and hydrotherapy pool were lovely. Overall, this a great hotel in a fabulous location. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
K Pryce

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality food, quality service, quality weekend break .......treat yourself, this will not disapoint!
A brilliant weekend, arrived Fri lunch time to a warm welcome from friendly staff. Lunch in the main bar was A1. Escorted to our room by friendly porter, table booked for the evening meal (in advance - recommended) for 2030; food was outstanding (Fridays special 'fish Pie', was to die for). Cocktails to finish off with at the bar. Sat, more of the same but with spa thrown in, swim, sauna and whirl pool was an ideal way to relax after a lovely walk around Christchurch and surrounding areas. Weather was on our side but actually, if it was bad, the hotel, service, spa etc is more than enough to relax, unwind and chill. Highly reccomended ................. You can even hire your own boat to cruise up and down the river.

Reviewed by
Barry Henderson

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great little hotel! with lovely views from the rooms
spa is small but a perfect place to unwind and have a few treatments. all the rooms over look the river with big opening windows you get great views of the river and whats going on, food in the restaurant is very good and the staff all helpful and friendly

Reviewed by
J Allen

From Peacehaven, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
My wife and I checked in here for the weekend, and although the room was not ready until 3pm this is really the only thing that I could grumble about. From beginning to end our stay was very good, the level of customer service that we received was excellent (although on one occasion a little over-bearing), the rooms were spacious and very clean, had the appropriate amount of facilities for a weekend stay and had a lovely water view. Like most hotels the walls of the room were a bit on the thin side and we had some noisy children staying in the room next door to us, this is not the fault of the hotel though. My wife was heavily pregnant and was shown an excellent level of service towards her when it came to requests for food after the kitchen had closed, but also the understanding that the waiting staff had when it came to food types she could not eat etc. The spa facilities although small were very good, and we both enjoyed a couple of treatments, handled by very experienced staff. We were treated to a very pleasant stay all round and we would definitely visit again. Well done Captains Club.

Reviewed by
alan saraiva-stewart

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room, great service
The room was beautiful with a great view of the river. The room was immaculately clean and the bed huge and so comfortable I didnt want to get out of it.
For my purse i found the room a litle expensive as was the food, but all in all a great place to stay if you can afford it.

Reviewed by
Kerrie Weaver

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Lovely hotel, excellent customer services. Breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was good. Will definitely visit again

Reviewed by
Emmanuel Mwamba

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely break.
Myself and my partner stayed at the captains club for one night for a romantic getaway, from the moment we arrived we were treated with politeness and a higher level of service than we had experienced at any other 4 star hotel. The staff were well trained and happy to help at all times infact everyone we came into contact with was friendly and totally professional. Our room was above the main function room were there was a birthday party in full swing but we didnt hear a thing.
Our room was spotless and very comfortable with lots of room and a lovely soft bed with cotten bedding and no shortage of pillows. The view was very nice and framed by floor to ceiling windows which were again spotless. The tv had all the freeview channels and was a modern flatscreen there was also an ipod docking station which we used to play our own music.
We decided to have room service which only cost £5 tray charge, the food arrived in a hotbox which transformed into a buetifully laid table with fresh linen. The food was very nice especially the mussels which in the plenty.
We had a very peacful rested night which was then followed by a very well organized breakfast service although it wasnt the best food we had ever had although definately 4 star standard again it was the fantastic service and personal touch by the staff that made it feel like a special experience.
Overall our stay at the captains club was very enjoyable and we would definately return.

Reviewed by
amanda casserley

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classy captains club
Fantastic service from all the staff. Martin in particular went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. The management should be proud of thier staff.

Reviewed by
G Baines

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay from start to finish
Faultless. We could not have had a better welcome, parking, food and accomodation.

Reviewed by
Sally H

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next