No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Winelodge

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 VICTORIA TERRACE ESPLANADE, LOWESTOFT, NR33 0QG
Winelodge is a modern contemporary hotel offering well appointed, hi-tech and stylish accommodation. Located 50mtrs from the award winning beaches and just 600mtrs from the Town Centre & Train Station all rooms have en-suite facilities, LCD Televisions and complementary high speed internet access for as long as you stay with us, with Suites and Executive rooms offering 42" PLASMA TELEVISIONS. The bar offers a large selection of wines, premium branded largers from around the world, light bites and snacks and the intimate restaurant creates a unique dining experience offering two bar meals for just £7.95 with FREE Wi-Fi connection in the bar/restaurant area. Full English Breakfast Included

Picture of Winelodge, LOWESTOFT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary break
We stayed for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary. The staff were very helpful. The hotel was clean and easy to find. I was worried that our room was above the kitchen. I thought we might get the smell of cooking and constant noise but I was happily surprised. I would have liked a chair to sit in to watch the tv when we were in or just to relax in as the room was big enough.
All in all our stay was very good and we would go back again.

Reviewed by
Y WEST

From Sutton in Ashfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Winelodge Sat 28th Sep-13
This is a good value all round accommodation. The bar/reception staff are very competent and friendly.
The only drawback was that a couple booked into the room opposite to us could not get into their room when returning late at night due to their key fob not working. One slept on the corridor floor outside our room and the other downstairs on a half sofa in receptioN. The were unable to contact anyone during the night to get their key fob or whatever sorted. I would expect a procedure to be installed for any such future instance.
Thanks

Reviewed by
David E

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean but needs the bathroom silicone changing as the old was moldy

Reviewed by
Dean C

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All I wanted was a wake up call. Don't forget your alarm clock!
Business trip. Needed a fairly early start. No alarm clock in the room. The guy on reception made very little effort to locate a clock, he thought there may be one in the store cupboard. I asked for a wake up call at 0700 and was told that the hotel didn't offer that facility. I asked for a wake up call at 0730 instead and was told that the lady who makes the breakfasts in the morning could give my room a knock if we left a note out for her, she gets in at about 0740. Will that do? After realising that this wasn't a joke I went to bed with the blinds open hoping that the light of morning would wake me.. . .

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1950s approach to breakfast lets down an otherwise fine and welcoming hotel . . .
I found the Winelodge Lowestoft to be an excellent and comfortable stopover whilst exploring East Anglia during the Britten Centenary, but at £60 a night I was surprised (and not a little embarrassed) to be refused an egg at breakfast time because I had already had a bowl of cereal! Apparently only one item is allowed - it reminded me of my granny's tales of post-war Blackpool when you were charged extra for 'use of the cruets' !
A pity really, and I suspect that this 'one item only' policy has come from some kind of superimposed 'micro-management', as it contrasted vividly with the same hotel's amazing generosity on Tuesday evening, when with an excellent curry & all the trimmings for £6.95, I also got a free pint of beer (worth about £3) !
Lovely friendly staff at all times, and excellent service and provision, but what a false economy to lose a return or recommendation for the sake of a breakfast egg!

Reviewed by
John McCarthy

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

All depends on the room number...
Room 8 is right next to the kitchen extractor fans - very noisy.

Reviewed by
James S

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Second time of staying here. Would stay again, perfect location for short break. Breakfast was full English which was included in price and was very nice. Also had the Sunday roast which was also good value for money. Two small problems one being when a small group of people left the nightclub opposite and decided to keep shouting and being a nuisance, but realised should have closed the windows but as they are high was bit difficult but did it the next night. Think the nightclub is only open on Saturday night so no problem. This was when I realised the blinds in the room needed a good dusting. We stayed in the family room which we had before and would request again. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Irving S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money convieniant for beach staff exellant and very hard working good choice of menu
night club across the road caused us a problem, staff sorted matter with little fuss yes the paintworks tired in places but its the end of the season no hesitency in returning next year.
regarding food various offers made for a varied diet all well prepared

Reviewed by
Alec Bradford

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fairly good
Room was dusty and bed throw stained. Breakfast was good and served quickly. Customer service was fair but only one member of staff about during stay.

Reviewed by
A Bailey

From Northampton , England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent stay for a cheap enough price - dodgy in certain areas
We stayed at The Winelodge for two nights in late August on a last minute break. The decor in both the rooms and the bar is good but I made the mistake of searching for another plug socket and it was filthy down the sides of all the cabinets, and when we pulled the blinds, on all the window ledges and behind them. The rest of the room was fine and they made the beds every morning. We were in room 8 and unfortunately this was next to the air conditioning machines ( I think that's what they were) on the roof outside. I would make a point to avoid all rooms that look out onto the roof because of this as it was so noisy. This is worse, I would imagine, in the summer months as the room was stifling so you'll need the windows open. The bathroom was nice and the shower was great. The breakfast was ok but my plate was covered in a thin layer of water - I think it was from the poached eggs or the mushrooms. It was palatable but I wouldn't rave about it. We had a light meal also, and that was much better, typical pub food.
It wasn't bad for £60 a night but I wouldn't hurry back.

Reviewed by
S Murray

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 Next