No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ten Hill Place Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
10 Hill Place , Edinburgh, EH8 9DS
Located in central Edinburgh, Ten Hill Place Hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and other major tourist attractions. This contemporary 4 star Hotel is based in a quiet Georgian Square and offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout all bedrooms and public spaces.

Each of the 77 well-equipped and spacious rooms has a sleek bathroom, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, personal safe, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and a hospitality tray. Hotel beds are all king or super-king with allergy-free duvets and pillows to compliment a great night’s sleep. On the top floor, the four Sky-line rooms include an exercise bike, a mini fridge, towelling robes and slippers.

No. Ten Restaurant offers a pre-theatre menu from 5.00-6.30 pm each night and an a la carte menu from 6.30pm, which changes seasonally using locally sourced produce where possible. Hotel guests can also enjoy a drink in 10 Wine Bar, a fabulous space offering an exclusive selection of wines supplied by Corney & Barrow, spirits and locally produced beers. Light meals, snacks, tapas and sharing platters are available from midday seven days a week.

The hotel is proud to have been awarded the Gold Award in Green Business Tourism and has received many other accolades including Eco Hotel of the Year 2010, Green Hotel of the Year 2012 and Edinburgh's Best Small City Hotel 2013.

The hotel is owned by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and was opened in November 2006. It was created from the combination of an existing Georgian building, previously the Postgraduate Residence of the College, with a stylish yet sympathetic new development. All profits from the Hotel are invested back into The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh to provide education and assessment for medical students, surgical trainees and consultants who in turn bring life-saving and life-changing skills to all corners of the globe.
Picture of Ten Hill Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 127 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fringe stay
Visiting my daughter in fringe and have usually stayed nearer to princess gardens. However had a spacious, quiet room with friendly staff. Onsite parking. Only 10 minutes to princess gardens. Did not eat here but can't fault service or room for money. Have paid so much more for inferior room at this time of the year.

Reviewed by
jacqueline r

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
Picked this hotel at the last minute, so glad we did. Justin on reception was informative and helpful, booked the hotel restaurant for our evening meal, The steak was amazing ... our room was clean and had everything we needed, would stay here again without hesitation and would recommend to anybody going to edinburgh

Reviewed by
amanda merson

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal
Loved the location, not on a busy noisy street but close enough to all the hustle and bustle of Edinburgh. The hotel itself was clean, the room spacious and reception staff were welcoming and helpful. We enjoyed a drink in the bar where we were served by a lovely young gentleman. The room was warm through the night but I find that in all hotels. Parking in Edinburgh is always going to be an issue (plenty of parking available near by the hotel) but that doesn't put me off coming! Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
R Schreiber

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh Castle concert weekend
Lovely, bright, spotlessly clean hotel. Location was great, in easy reach of the Royal Mile and all other attractions. We arrived 2 hours before check-in time but as our rooms were ready the staff were more than happy to let us check-in straight away. Rooms were quite spacious and airy (we had a classic double). Was very quiet at night even though the hotel was fully booked. The breakfast was good value for money considering the city location. Plenty of choice and excellent and attentive service from the dining room staff. Loved the fact that breakfast was available until 12 midday on the weekend. Although the hotel car park was full (this is very small) we parked at a nearby NCP car park and got a reduced rate through the hotel. Was only about £12 for 24 hours. The only one complaint about the hotel was a leaky plug hole in the bathroom basin. It was fine when the water was running into the sink but when the plug was removed it drained all over the bathroom floor. This didn't affect the enjoyment of our stay and would certainly stay again. Almost forgot, housekeeping were a bit eager in the morning we were checking out and came in to the room at about 10 o'clock to make up the room (when we were still getting showered etc) even though we weren't due to check out until 12. Would suggest you put the "Do Not Disturb" notice on the outside the night before if you don't want the same thing to happen. She was very apologetic.

Reviewed by
Kaye Fraser

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely weekend break in Edinburgh for our wedding anniversary
The city is beautiful and the hotel is perfectly positioned just a 10 minute walk from the Royal Mile so there was very little noise in the evening. There was some construction work going on just outside our room causing some noise from the generators, however they were switched off from 6pm - 8am (ish). The hotel is very modern and the bed was super comfy the only slight negative would be the broken toilet seat which ideally should or could of been replaced. There was also no parking on site due to construction workers parking on there however the lovely chap on reception was very helpful and advised us of an NCP car park close by that provides 24hr parking and there is a 10% discount with staying at the hotel. We were also advised of the free parking on single yellow lines in the city from 6:30pm in the evening on Saturday through to Monday morning so this was a big plus. Overall the hotel was spot on.

Reviewed by
Victoria W

From Nantwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recent trip
Excellent value - nice and clean hotel - happy to stay there again

Reviewed by
B Boyce

From Melton Mowbray, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room quite tight and let down slightly by cheap toilet seat. Frosted door on bathroom trendy but slightly disconcerting. Otherwise great. Breakfast good but not fantastic and quite pricey. Great location.

Reviewed by
JON SIMMONS

From Helensburgh, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Hotel was very clean and welcoming. The only issue is when I booked through late rooms I used a credit card to confirm booking it starred that I needed to pay using that card. Upon settling bill at hotel I was charged a fee for using a credit card rather than a debit card

Reviewed by
Nigel W

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh Surgeon's Hotel
I have previously stayed at this hotel and know the quality of the rooms to be of a fairly high standard. There was a hen party on my floor but thankfully the rooms shut out most of the noise from the corridors. The towel radiator was not very warm although I complained about this there was no way of adjusting the temperature of it. You may find this a bit picky but if you are caught in the rain like we were that weekend and need somewhere to hang clothes to dry, you may be in for a surprise. The beds/ bed linen is of a very high standard- had a great night's rest.

Reviewed by
J St Mart

From Ilford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and great value for money
I would definitely recommend hotel and look forward to staying again

Reviewed by
C Barr

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next