No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ten Hill Place Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
10 Hill Place , Edinburgh, EH8 9DS
Located in central Edinburgh, Ten Hill Place Hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and other major tourist attractions. This contemporary 4 star Hotel is based in a quiet Georgian Square and offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout all bedrooms and public spaces.

Each of the 77 well-equipped and spacious rooms has a sleek bathroom, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, personal safe, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and a hospitality tray. Hotel beds are all king or super-king with allergy-free duvets and pillows to compliment a great night’s sleep. On the top floor, the four Sky-line rooms include an exercise bike, a mini fridge, towelling robes and slippers.

No. Ten Restaurant offers a pre-theatre menu from 5.00-6.30 pm each night and an a la carte menu from 6.30pm, which changes seasonally using locally sourced produce where possible. Hotel guests can also enjoy a drink in 10 Wine Bar, a fabulous space offering an exclusive selection of wines supplied by Corney & Barrow, spirits and locally produced beers. Light meals, snacks, tapas and sharing platters are available from midday seven days a week.

The hotel is proud to have been awarded the Gold Award in Green Business Tourism and has received many other accolades including Eco Hotel of the Year 2010, Green Hotel of the Year 2012 and Edinburgh's Best Small City Hotel 2013.

The hotel is owned by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and was opened in November 2006. It was created from the combination of an existing Georgian building, previously the Postgraduate Residence of the College, with a stylish yet sympathetic new development. All profits from the Hotel are invested back into The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh to provide education and assessment for medical students, surgical trainees and consultants who in turn bring life-saving and life-changing skills to all corners of the globe.
Picture of Ten Hill Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We stayed here for one night at the beginning of jan.. Hotel was lovely, and staff could not have been more helpful!! Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Claire C

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ten hill place Edinburgh absolutely lovely!
We stayed in ten hill place from 3 January to 5 January and have to say one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The standard room was lovely and clean as well as the bathroom. We went to visit family and Edinburgh attractions and the staff were very helpful when we asked for tips on best places to go. The one minor criticism I have is that because we drove up thete was no free parking near by and had to pay and display on the next street. Other than that lovely stay and hope visit again.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great if you get a last minute deal
Only paid £69 for the room, got free upgrade as hotel not full (slightly larger room). The hotel is 10 minute walk from all the biz and Waverly Station (up the hill, though). Close to everything, but just down a side street so nice and quiet. Modern decor, big bathroom. Only disappointment was the cooked breakfast - not good value for money as cold plates and food lukewarm. Ask for your eggs freshly prepared. Would stay again but only if got a deal - expensive otherwise.

Reviewed by
Clare B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel, friendly staff, excellent location close to all local amenities

Reviewed by
K Stubbs

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
Hotel well hidden away and quiet but still fairly central. Superior room was very large and bed huge and extremely comfortable. Bathroom large modern and spotless. Definitely would come back.

Reviewed by
John S

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good return visit
Excellent location; close to the city centre yet quiet at night.

Reviewed by
Tracey M

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beware the Hairdryer!
I can't complain about the hotel or accommodation itself, but I am complaining about the hairdryer in the room. All hairdryers are supposed to have a mesh cover preventing your hair from getting caught up in the motor. I didn't realise this one didn't until my long hair got caught up in it and ripped a chunk of it out. Not impressed. I would stay there again but take my own hairdryer in future.

Reviewed by
Helen R

From England
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Lovely quiet hotel. Room was spacious cool and functional.

Reviewed by
L Botha

From Elgin, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice modern hotel, situated in a very convenient location for sight seeing.
5-10 minute stroll to the Royal Mile, Waverly Station, Central Gardens and the Grassmarket. Modern nicely decorated rooms. Reception staff exceptionally helpful. Will stay here again!

Reviewed by
B Spiller

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and welcoming
This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in, the staff are very friendly,helpful and went out of there way to make our stay a great one. The room was great ,the service second to none and the food could not be faulted. This is one hotel that I can say we will return too to experience the excellent service again. Thank you

Reviewed by
patricia white

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next