No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ten Hill Place Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
10 Hill Place , Edinburgh, EH8 9DS
Located in central Edinburgh, Ten Hill Place Hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and other major tourist attractions. This contemporary 4 star Hotel is based in a quiet Georgian Square and offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout all bedrooms and public spaces.

Each of the 77 well-equipped and spacious rooms has a sleek bathroom, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, personal safe, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and a hospitality tray. Hotel beds are all king or super-king with allergy-free duvets and pillows to compliment a great night’s sleep. On the top floor, the four Sky-line rooms include an exercise bike, a mini fridge, towelling robes and slippers.

No. Ten Restaurant offers an a la carte menu from 5.00pm, which changes seasonally using locally sourced produce where possible. Hotel guests can also enjoy a drink in 10 Wine Bar, a fabulous space offering an exclusive selection of wines supplied by Corney & Barrow, spirits and locally produced beers. Light meals, snacks and sharing platters are available from midday seven days a week.

The hotel is proud to have been awarded the Gold Award in Green Business Tourism and has received many other accolades including Eco Hotel of the Year 2010, Green Hotel of the Year 2012 and Edinburgh's Best Small City Hotel 2013.

The hotel is owned by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and was opened in November 2006. It was created from the combination of an existing Georgian building, previously the Postgraduate Residence of the College, with a stylish yet sympathetic new development. All profits from the Hotel are invested back into The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh to provide education and assessment for medical students, surgical trainees and consultants who in turn bring life-saving and life-changing skills to all corners of the globe.
Picture of Ten Hill Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel, friendly staff, very clean, did not eat there but food looked lovely,great location

Reviewed by
jill ellison

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely large modern clean room. Very well placed for our theatre night out.

Reviewed by
A Fraser

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
The only thing I would like to say about the hotel was the mattress sheet was to small for the bed and I don't see why guests should have to pay for parking in the hotel grounds.
Love the hotel modern decor, would stay in this hotel again.
Got a good rate through Laterooms.

Reviewed by
F Chen

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of a hotel
My wife and I stayed here for one night to see the Lion King. We picked it as it is close to the center and not too far from the Play House if you know your way around. It truly is a wee gem of a place. Receptionist was so polite on arrival and very helpfull with parking, restaurants etc. Our room was cracking and veru tastefully decorated. The shoeer was the best id ever had! We did not eat here as we were out and about but I hear the food is very good. The bar was a really nice place for a night cap (they had my favourite beer on tap Blue Moon) Absolutely delighted with this! All in all a fantastic place to stay in the capital.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Scotland for the first time!
A lovely hotel in a quiet city centre location. All you could wish for in the room and the dinner in the restaurant was truly outstanding and reasonable value. Would gladly recommend to anyone and definitely go again.

Reviewed by
L K

From LE12 5EQ, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We stayed here for one night at the beginning of jan.. Hotel was lovely, and staff could not have been more helpful!! Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Claire C

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ten hill place Edinburgh absolutely lovely!
We stayed in ten hill place from 3 January to 5 January and have to say one of the best hotels we have stayed at. The standard room was lovely and clean as well as the bathroom. We went to visit family and Edinburgh attractions and the staff were very helpful when we asked for tips on best places to go. The one minor criticism I have is that because we drove up thete was no free parking near by and had to pay and display on the next street. Other than that lovely stay and hope visit again.

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great if you get a last minute deal
Only paid £69 for the room, got free upgrade as hotel not full (slightly larger room). The hotel is 10 minute walk from all the biz and Waverly Station (up the hill, though). Close to everything, but just down a side street so nice and quiet. Modern decor, big bathroom. Only disappointment was the cooked breakfast - not good value for money as cold plates and food lukewarm. Ask for your eggs freshly prepared. Would stay again but only if got a deal - expensive otherwise.

Reviewed by
Clare B

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value hotel, friendly staff, excellent location close to all local amenities

Reviewed by
K Stubbs

From Alton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden gem
Hotel well hidden away and quiet but still fairly central. Superior room was very large and bed huge and extremely comfortable. Bathroom large modern and spotless. Definitely would come back.

Reviewed by
John S

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next