No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ten Hill Place Hotel

4Visit Scotland Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
10 Hill Place , Edinburgh, EH8 9DS
Located in central Edinburgh, Ten Hill Place Hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and other major tourist attractions. This contemporary 4 star Hotel is based in a quiet Georgian Square and offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout all bedrooms and public spaces.

Each of the 77 well-equipped and spacious rooms has a sleek bathroom, a flat-screen TV with freeview channels, personal safe, iron, ironing board, hair dryer and a hospitality tray. Hotel beds are all king or super-king with allergy-free duvets and pillows to compliment a great night’s sleep. On the top floor, the four Sky-line rooms include an exercise bike, a mini fridge, towelling robes and slippers.

No. Ten Restaurant offers an a la carte menu from 5.00pm, which changes seasonally using locally sourced produce where possible. Hotel guests can also enjoy a drink in 10 Wine Bar, a fabulous space offering an exclusive selection of wines supplied by Corney & Barrow, spirits and locally produced beers. Light meals, snacks and sharing platters are available from midday seven days a week.

The hotel is proud to have been awarded the Gold Award in Green Business Tourism and has received many other accolades including Eco Hotel of the Year 2010, Green Hotel of the Year 2012 and Edinburgh's Best Small City Hotel 2013.

The hotel is owned by the Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh and was opened in November 2006. It was created from the combination of an existing Georgian building, previously the Postgraduate Residence of the College, with a stylish yet sympathetic new development. All profits from the Hotel are invested back into The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh to provide education and assessment for medical students, surgical trainees and consultants who in turn bring life-saving and life-changing skills to all corners of the globe.
Picture of Ten Hill Place Hotel, Edinburgh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 125 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet and convenient retreat
Given a complimentary upgrade on arrival - which was nice!

Reviewed by
D Paton

From Newport on Tay, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, good value hotel
We booked our hotel here very late so had a massive reduction in costs, which was lucky. I would have been very disappointed if I had paid the standard tarif for our room. It's clean, spacious and the bed was comfy. However, there was no luxury really to the room, it was quite clinical.
However, staff were fab, location was great for the city, and parking was just around the corner.

Reviewed by
T Fanning

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mrs warhorse
Chose this hotel as it was close to theatre, literally round the corner, quiet street. Our room was large for a city centre hotel, staff were very nice. Wine bar attached where you can have lunch/snacks with someone playing piano at weekend. Please with choice and would stay again

Reviewed by
Anne-Marie P

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Handy hotel
Good choice hotel for edinburgh festival theatre which is only a couple of hundred yards away. Friendly hotel staff, room clean and well appointed, bed comfortable, bathroom spotless. I would stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Allison

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday weekend in edinburgh
hotel was a 10 minute walk to princess street ideal for the shopping and bars ,staff were friendly and helpful room was a good size, clean ,and well decorated very good hotel would recommend it to anyone, great base for the weekend ,theatre around the corner and a great Italian restaurant cia roma great break will come back in future

Reviewed by
t wansell

From Rowlands Gill, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip to the Festival Theatre
We stayed one night at Ten Hill Place. We were going to the Festival Theatre and wanted somewhere close by. Ten Hill Place was ideal - a 5-minute stroll round the corner! We travelled by train to Edinburgh Waverley and a taxi was just over £5. Our room was huge and smelt lovely and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the street was quiet. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Reviewed by
Pamela D

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel, friendly staff, very clean, did not eat there but food looked lovely,great location

Reviewed by
jill ellison

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely large modern clean room. Very well placed for our theatre night out.

Reviewed by
A Fraser

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly Hotel
The only thing I would like to say about the hotel was the mattress sheet was to small for the bed and I don't see why guests should have to pay for parking in the hotel grounds.
Love the hotel modern decor, would stay in this hotel again.
Got a good rate through Laterooms.

Reviewed by
F Chen

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gem of a hotel
My wife and I stayed here for one night to see the Lion King. We picked it as it is close to the center and not too far from the Play House if you know your way around. It truly is a wee gem of a place. Receptionist was so polite on arrival and very helpfull with parking, restaurants etc. Our room was cracking and veru tastefully decorated. The shoeer was the best id ever had! We did not eat here as we were out and about but I hear the food is very good. The bar was a really nice place for a night cap (they had my favourite beer on tap Blue Moon) Absolutely delighted with this! All in all a fantastic place to stay in the capital.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next