Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns


9 Ash Brow, Newburgh,, Wigan, WN8 7NG

Price From 125.23 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mark Farnell

  • November 2015

Made for quality

At first we arrived at the pub/hotel...traditional and rustic.

We were greeted with the friendly very welcoming staff/owners of the property. Not long after we were shown to our room. From then on, everything seemed 5*

The food, the hospitality...everything was to the height of quality order.

From our experience here, we are in serious talks of returning.

  • Colin E

  • October 2015

High Quality Budget Stay, Lovely Breakfast and Great Service

Booked only because of proximity to an event we were attending and good reviews - for budget priced accommodation attached to a pub this is a very good standard of accommodation, and certainly comfortable enough for people to enjoy for a short break if visiting the area.

Set in a rural village setting, good sized car park with a welcoming traditional pub atmosphere, busy serving evening meals which looked nice. Rooms are in a block at the back of the pub and able to access independently when the pub is closed, our room was clean and seemed freshly decorated, wardrobe, flat screen TV, tea & coffee making with a decent shower / bath combo - it had all the comforts of a high street budget brand. This was made even better by the excellent breakfast choice, lovely none greasy breakfast choice, along with cereals, juice etc, all with a friendly smile. Highly recommended for couples looking for something comfortable in a rural location - you could have all your meals here to supplement your stay.

  • Susan B

  • October 2015

Great place

Great location, fab service, good value

  • Andrew L

  • September 2015

Red Lion not roaring

Great little pub / hotel - food pretty average - a shame because the accomodation was top quality!

  • Jon Power

  • September 2015

The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

Nice Quiet Place.

  • B Thomas

  • September 2015

One night stop

A very pleasant experience, nothing was to much trouble for the owners and always at your service.

  • Martin R

  • August 2015

Pub with rooms to the rear

Basic room and bathroom small but adequate providing you just want somewhere to sleep for a night or two.

Water did run away properly both from basin and bath so you get to paddle whilst you shower. Bit noisy as rooms look out onto car park next to the main road with no a/c. Did not stay for dinner but full English breakfast in the pub good although was never told what time breakfast was served from and to. Overall nothing exciting but not bad for the price for a stop over.

  • Lori H

  • July 2015

Lovely Room

My husband and I stayed here as we were attending a wedding nearby.

The Staff were very helpful, the room was lovely and it was really good value for money. We didn't manage to be up for breakfast as we'd had a late night and it finished at 9am so I can't comment on food but I would definitely stay here again.

  • A Kidd

  • July 2015

The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

The hotel was fine and staff friendly,however the hotel is not disabled person friendly,doors opened the wrong way to many steps and uneven paving,I had to walk my disabled wife through the pub to our accommodation because it was to difficult to use our wheelchair we were under the impression it was all on the flat and it wasn't and was unable to use the bathroom properly because it was impossible to get my wife in the bath because of her disability,so we could not stay there again.

  • Caroll B

  • May 2015


All good at The Red Lion.

Kate the waitress was welcoming, efficient and a 'breath of fresh air'. Breakfast was good too. we were offered more toast and coffee. Nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend.