Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

3

9 Ash Brow, Newburgh,, Wigan, WN8 7NG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Martin R

  • August 2015

Pub with rooms to the rear

Basic room and bathroom small but adequate providing you just want somewhere to sleep for a night or two.

Water did run away properly both from basin and bath so you get to paddle whilst you shower. Bit noisy as rooms look out onto car park next to the main road with no a/c. Did not stay for dinner but full English breakfast in the pub good although was never told what time breakfast was served from and to. Overall nothing exciting but not bad for the price for a stop over.

  • Lori H

  • July 2015

Lovely Room

My husband and I stayed here as we were attending a wedding nearby.

The Staff were very helpful, the room was lovely and it was really good value for money. We didn't manage to be up for breakfast as we'd had a late night and it finished at 9am so I can't comment on food but I would definitely stay here again.

  • A Kidd

  • July 2015

The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

The hotel was fine and staff friendly,however the hotel is not disabled person friendly,doors opened the wrong way to many steps and uneven paving,I had to walk my disabled wife through the pub to our accommodation because it was to difficult to use our wheelchair we were under the impression it was all on the flat and it wasn't and was unable to use the bathroom properly because it was impossible to get my wife in the bath because of her disability,so we could not stay there again.

  • Caroll B

  • May 2015

Perfect!

All good at The Red Lion.

Kate the waitress was welcoming, efficient and a 'breath of fresh air'. Breakfast was good too. we were offered more toast and coffee. Nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend.

  • Y Harman

  • May 2015

Nice surprise

Booked just the one night as somewhere to 'crash' for the night, being rather tired.

The room and evening meal was so good I treated myself to a second night. Very good staff made the stay a pleasure. Will stay again.

  • S Kirby

  • March 2015

Excellent choice!

A lovely stay despite the horrid weather.

Couldn't fault the room or facilities at all. Breakfast the following morning was excellent and the service received was friendly, prompt and professional. The whole establishment was welcoming with areas to eat and drink, and a lovely outdoor sitting area by the arches (for better weather).

  • J salter

  • January 2015

Lovely

  • Susan E

  • December 2014

Lovely little place

Very welcoming, the staff are very friendly & helpful

  • Angie I

  • November 2014

Close to Martin Mere

Excellent stay.

Staff so friendly. Will go back.

  • Andrew M

  • November 2014

Pleasant stay

Rooms were spacious.Food choice was restricted