No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
9 Ash Brow, Newburgh, , Wigan, WN8 7NG
The Red Lion is the only surviving pub left in the beautiful Lancashire village of Newburgh. This traditional pub with its cosy corners and appetising menu is a hit with locals and visitors to the area. The 13 rooms are refurbished to a high standard with a modern contemporary feel.

Newburgh sits on the Leeds and Liverpool canal a short distance from Parbold and a few minutes drive from the M6 and Wigan; Newburgh is also close to attractions such as Martin Mere, Wigan Pier and Camelot and is attractive to walkers.

In our recently refurbished bar and restaurant, our menu has a wide choice of traditional favourites along with selected dishes from around the world accompanied by our daily changing specials from the blackboard. We also serve a fine selection of cask ales featuring some of the renowned beers from Banks, Marstons, Jennings, Ringwood and Wychwood. For the wine lover we have a selection of wines from around the world with many of them served by the glass.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns, Wigan at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Marstons pub with rooms at the back.
Nice pub that serves food from a standard menu with a specials board. Part of Marstons chain. Rooms are in an annex at the rear so undisturbed. Good cooked breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pleasant location. Overall it was just what we wanted at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Room lovely and comfortable, and very quiet, a very pleasant stay. breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day.

Reviewed by
Janet J

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
Very friendly on arrival room very clean and everything you need food was excellent breakfast cooked to order and when I left the hotel I left a wallet behind they got in touch and posted it straight off to my address free of charge would recommend this hotel very highly

Reviewed by
vanessa dodd

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice country inn
Delighted with our stay. Everything was lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Declan W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy wedding day
Excellent stay we attended a wedding in the area and were very happy with the accommodation

Reviewed by
j yates

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good country pub and overnight stay
Welcoming and helpful manager - gave us somewhere to lock up bikes overnight. Room spotless and well equipped.
No noise from pub even on Friday night.
evening meal and breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were only here to sleep as we had a party nearby but the room was nice, the bed was comfy and the staff were all very pleasant.
The breakfast in the morning was really nice with cereal/fruit/yoghurts available alongside a cooked breakfast made to serve.
We normally stay at the premier inn in Orrell but we'll definitely return the the Red Lion in the future.

Reviewed by
Gary P

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marston pub/hotel
for an economical one night stay this is great --- ok the rooms are tired but the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The food in the attached Pub was excellent and as always for a lover of real ales the beer speaks for itself -- wish I had the energy to saty up for more than 1 pint.
bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful -- Breakfast again first class.
not somewhere to stay if you want the ritz but blooming good vlue for money.

Reviewed by
alistair h

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little. bit noisy from upstairs room but overall excellent value .

Reviewed by
p wolff

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was nice and clean but the bed very hard and the pillows even harder. Staff at this hotel are not great probably why there is nobody in there in the evenings. On the plus side however, the lady that serves the breakfast could not be nicer and more friendly, just a shame the rest of the staff do not take a leaf out of her book. Breakfast is ok but on the small side

Reviewed by
A Porter

From Thamesmead, England
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next