No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
9 Ash Brow, Newburgh, , Wigan, WN8 7NG
The Red Lion is the only surviving pub left in the beautiful Lancashire village of Newburgh. This traditional pub with its cosy corners and appetising menu is a hit with locals and visitors to the area. The 13 rooms are refurbished to a high standard with a modern contemporary feel.

Newburgh sits on the Leeds and Liverpool canal a short distance from Parbold and a few minutes drive from the M6 and Wigan; Newburgh is also close to attractions such as Martin Mere, Wigan Pier and Camelot and is attractive to walkers.

In our recently refurbished bar and restaurant, our menu has a wide choice of traditional favourites along with selected dishes from around the world accompanied by our daily changing specials from the blackboard. We also serve a fine selection of cask ales featuring some of the renowned beers from Banks, Marstons, Jennings, Ringwood and Wychwood. For the wine lover we have a selection of wines from around the world with many of them served by the glass.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns, Wigan at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little place
Very welcoming, the staff are very friendly & helpful

Reviewed by
Susan E

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to Martin Mere
Excellent stay. Staff so friendly. Will go back.

Reviewed by
Angie I

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Rooms were spacious.Food choice was restricted

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Casnewydd, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at Red Lion
A warm welcome as always at the Red Lion - friendly staff and excellent service - great food and lovely room

Reviewed by
christine neads

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clean comfortable and quiet

Reviewed by
iona h

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a two night stay for our wedding anniversary. Accommodation was very good, staff were very friendly and the evening meals excellent - indeed my wife commented that it was the best cooked steak she had in a very long time (she sends them back if they are not done correctly). Highly recommend for a short break

Reviewed by
R Boyles

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Marstons pub with rooms at the back.
Nice pub that serves food from a standard menu with a specials board. Part of Marstons chain. Rooms are in an annex at the rear so undisturbed. Good cooked breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pleasant location. Overall it was just what we wanted at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Mike C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Good
Room lovely and comfortable, and very quiet, a very pleasant stay. breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day.

Reviewed by
Janet J

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
Very friendly on arrival room very clean and everything you need food was excellent breakfast cooked to order and when I left the hotel I left a wallet behind they got in touch and posted it straight off to my address free of charge would recommend this hotel very highly

Reviewed by
vanessa dodd

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice country inn
Delighted with our stay. Everything was lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Declan W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next