No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
9 Ash Brow, Newburgh, , Wigan, WN8 7NG
The Red Lion is the only surviving pub left in the beautiful Lancashire village of Newburgh. This traditional pub with its cosy corners and appetising menu is a hit with locals and visitors to the area. The 13 rooms are refurbished to a high standard with a modern contemporary feel.

Newburgh sits on the Leeds and Liverpool canal a short distance from Parbold and a few minutes drive from the M6 and Wigan; Newburgh is also close to attractions such as Martin Mere, Wigan Pier and Camelot and is attractive to walkers.

In our recently refurbished bar and restaurant, our menu has a wide choice of traditional favourites along with selected dishes from around the world accompanied by our daily changing specials from the blackboard. We also serve a fine selection of cask ales featuring some of the renowned beers from Banks, Marstons, Jennings, Ringwood and Wychwood. For the wine lover we have a selection of wines from around the world with many of them served by the glass.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns, Wigan at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay for a night or two
Booked this hotel last-minute while travelling up the M6 - was pleasantly surprised by quality of accomodation - room was small but well presented and comfortable with ensuite. Breakfast also good.

Reviewed by
Adrian K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless, couldnt possibly complain.
The room was Very clean and organised, staff very cheerful and friendly. disabled friendly accommodation and good food.

Reviewed by
David Case

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
He staff are really friendly and welcoming and would stay their again and also recommend the Red lion to my friends and family

Reviewed by
Dominic Sherwin

From , England
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice location. Staff very friendly
Really like where me and my friend stayed. Like how the rooms were outside and separate from the pub. Breakfast was really nice and the staff were really helpful! Would deffinatly stay again

Reviewed by
J Clarke

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smashing hotel
Lovely part of the world and lovely hotel/ pub. Had a lovely meal on the Saturday evening and the breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Sarah M

From Stockport, England
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic!!!
A lovely place to stay. Room immaculate. Staff very welcoming and food was fab.

Reviewed by
S Ware

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent bedroom and bathroom
Second Marston pub that I have stayed in recently. The bedroom and bathroom facilities at both venues were excellent and very good value for money. Nice pub with good atmosphere, so much nicer than the 'plastic' hotel!
One constructive criticism the porridge was very stodgy and really a disappointment, apart from that no complaint whatsoever

Reviewed by
Frank N

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
Jacques Schultz

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend
Excellent all round

Reviewed by
Michael O

From Colwyn Bay, England
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonderfully warm welcome
This is a fabulous wee hotel in the village of Newburgh. All of the staff are friendly , welcoming and a real delight.
The room was amazing ...warm and comfy ...like a home from home. Wifi connections were perfect.
The food in the pub is perfect ......very posh , very well presented.
The breakfast also amazing. Warmed croissants....has to be a first here in the UK.
Am only sorry that I did not find it sooner.

Reviewed by
Joan L

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next