Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns


9 Ash Brow, Newburgh,, Wigan, WN8 7NG

Price From 124.99 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Janet J

  • September 2014

Very Good

Room lovely and comfortable, and very quiet, a very pleasant stay.

breakfast was very nice and set us up for the day.

  • vanessa dodd

  • September 2014

excellent hotel

Very friendly on arrival room very clean and everything you need food was excellent breakfast cooked to order and when I left the hotel I left a wallet behind they got in touch and posted it straight off to my address free of charge would recommend this hotel very highly

  • Declan W

  • July 2014

Nice country inn

Delighted with our stay.

Everything was lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

  • j yates

  • June 2014

happy wedding day

Excellent stay we attended a wedding in the area and were very happy with the accommodation

  • Christine S

  • May 2014

Good country pub and overnight stay

Welcoming and helpful manager - gave us somewhere to lock up bikes overnight.

Room spotless and well equipped.

No noise from pub even on Friday night. evening meal and breakfast excellent

  • Gary P

  • April 2014

We were only here to sleep as we had a party nearby but the room was nice, the bed was comfy and the staff were all very pleasant.

The breakfast in the morning was really nice with cereal/fruit/yoghurts available alongside a cooked breakfast made to serve. We normally stay at the premier inn in Orrell but we'll definitely return the the Red Lion in the future.

  • alistair h

  • April 2014

Marston pub/hotel

for an economical one night stay this is great --- ok the rooms are tired but the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean.

The food in the attached Pub was excellent and as always for a lover of real ales the beer speaks for itself -- wish I had the energy to saty up for more than 1 pint. bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful -- Breakfast again first class. not somewhere to stay if you want the ritz but blooming good vlue for money.

  • p wolff

  • April 2014

A little.

bit noisy from upstairs room but overall excellent value .

  • A Porter

  • April 2014

The room was nice and clean but the bed very hard and the pillows even harder.

Staff at this hotel are not great probably why there is nobody in there in the evenings. On the plus side however, the lady that serves the breakfast could not be nicer and more friendly, just a shame the rest of the staff do not take a leaf out of her book. Breakfast is ok but on the small side

  • P Greaves

  • March 2014


well worth every penny, staff are pleasant ,accomadation was excellent