No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
9 Ash Brow, Newburgh, , Wigan, WN8 7NG
The Red Lion is the only surviving pub left in the beautiful Lancashire village of Newburgh. This traditional pub with its cosy corners and appetising menu is a hit with locals and visitors to the area. The 13 rooms are refurbished to a high standard with a modern contemporary feel.

Newburgh sits on the Leeds and Liverpool canal a short distance from Parbold and a few minutes drive from the M6 and Wigan; Newburgh is also close to attractions such as Martin Mere, Wigan Pier and Camelot and is attractive to walkers.

In our recently refurbished bar and restaurant, our menu has a wide choice of traditional favourites along with selected dishes from around the world accompanied by our daily changing specials from the blackboard. We also serve a fine selection of cask ales featuring some of the renowned beers from Banks, Marstons, Jennings, Ringwood and Wychwood. For the wine lover we have a selection of wines from around the world with many of them served by the glass.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns, Wigan at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice cosy room, good shower. Good breakfast. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
M Walters

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very contemporary but cosy. It might be a little tight for space if there were two sharing as it was on the snug side. Everything was very clean and fresh looking. The lady who looks after the breakfasts in the morning was very cheery and helpful.

Reviewed by
Lorraine C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

down to earth good value for money.we are on our fourth visit our base when we go racing to aintree

Reviewed by
r hill

From horton kirby nr dartford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and welcoming
nine of us stayed here for the farmageddon weekend, The staff were very helpful and friendly, accommodating our needs. The rooms were tastefully decorated and clean and couldn't fault the standards here. Would recommend.

Reviewed by
Lorna G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent !!!!!!
Stayed at the Red Lion for 2 nights whilst visiting Blackpool...30 mins and Manchester...30 mins. Ideal Location and what a find the Red Lion was. The room was excellent for my Family. The food choice in the Restaurant was very good and prices were extremely reasonable. Very good portions and well presented. There was a 2 for £12 offer on until 9pm, but we stayed on the normal menu with loads of choices. The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast the following morning was very good. Had to send the Sausages back on day one as they were a bit off, but the Staff couldn't do enough for us, with extra Bacon, Toast etc. Day 2 the whole breakfast was "spot on". All in all the Red Lion is a definite place to stay and excellent value for money. We will return !!!!

Reviewed by
SHAUN S

From Wigton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and staff both excellent. Was on a short family visit and this accommodation enabled us to travel and stay together as a family group.

Reviewed by
Janet Douglas

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money, staff are very freindly, the accomadation is excellent.

Reviewed by
k baker

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accommodation, spotlessly clean and staff very friendly
Our purpose built accommodation was absolutely lovely, everything a 4 star hotel could provide.
We had an evening meal in the restaurant, the meal was first class, and mine host and staff most
helpful. Would highly recommend staying here and if ever we are in this area again, would
certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Mary L

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business layover
Friendly staff, good food and rooms fine. Doing nothing wrong

ManagementResponse

Thanks for the positive comments, all the staff like to see reviews, and respond accordingly, to address adverse comments as well as the positive, and are keen to improve our % score. We look forward to seeing you again.

Reviewed by
Malcolm B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay for a night or two
Booked this hotel last-minute while travelling up the M6 - was pleasantly surprised by quality of accomodation - room was small but well presented and comfortable with ensuite. Breakfast also good.

Reviewed by
Adrian K

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next