No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
9 Ash Brow, Newburgh, , Wigan, WN8 7NG
The Red Lion is the only surviving pub left in the beautiful Lancashire village of Newburgh. This traditional pub with its cosy corners and appetising menu is a hit with locals and visitors to the area. The 13 rooms are refurbished to a high standard with a modern contemporary feel.

Newburgh sits on the Leeds and Liverpool canal a short distance from Parbold and a few minutes drive from the M6 and Wigan; Newburgh is also close to attractions such as Martin Mere, Wigan Pier and Camelot and is attractive to walkers.

In our recently refurbished bar and restaurant, our menu has a wide choice of traditional favourites along with selected dishes from around the world accompanied by our daily changing specials from the blackboard. We also serve a fine selection of cask ales featuring some of the renowned beers from Banks, Marstons, Jennings, Ringwood and Wychwood. For the wine lover we have a selection of wines from around the world with many of them served by the glass.
Picture of The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns, Wigan at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Marston pub/hotel
for an economical one night stay this is great --- ok the rooms are tired but the bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The food in the attached Pub was excellent and as always for a lover of real ales the beer speaks for itself -- wish I had the energy to saty up for more than 1 pint.
bar and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful -- Breakfast again first class.
not somewhere to stay if you want the ritz but blooming good vlue for money.

Reviewed by
alistair h

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little. bit noisy from upstairs room but overall excellent value .

Reviewed by
p wolff

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was nice and clean but the bed very hard and the pillows even harder. Staff at this hotel are not great probably why there is nobody in there in the evenings. On the plus side however, the lady that serves the breakfast could not be nicer and more friendly, just a shame the rest of the staff do not take a leaf out of her book. Breakfast is ok but on the small side

Reviewed by
A Porter

From Thamesmead, England
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
well worth every penny, staff are pleasant ,accomadation was excellent

Reviewed by
P Greaves

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Greeted by staff on arrival. Friendly welcome. Room was excellent although a touch small, but very adequate. Good breakfast with good choice of hot and cold food cooked to order.

Reviewed by
Stephen Bourne

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
room was clean staff were friendly and helpful,we had a meal not long after arriving ,starters and main .food was good ,breakfast was excellent with lots of choice.,no complaints to state a nice reasonably priced getaway ,

Reviewed by
m williams

From fleetwood, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay.
We have stayed here twice now bringing friends with us the second time, this we think speaks for itself. Lovely.

Reviewed by
nicola edwards

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice cosy room, good shower. Good breakfast. Great value for money.

Reviewed by
M Walters

From Ely, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very contemporary but cosy. It might be a little tight for space if there were two sharing as it was on the snug side. Everything was very clean and fresh looking. The lady who looks after the breakfasts in the morning was very cheery and helpful.

Reviewed by
Lorraine C

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

down to earth good value for money.we are on our fourth visit our base when we go racing to aintree

Reviewed by
r hill

From horton kirby nr dartford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next