Reviews - The Red Lion Hotel by Marstons Inns


9 Ash Brow, Newburgh,, Wigan, WN8 7NG

Price From 125.23 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Y Harman

  • May 2015

Nice surprise

Booked just the one night as somewhere to 'crash' for the night, being rather tired.

The room and evening meal was so good I treated myself to a second night. Very good staff made the stay a pleasure. Will stay again.

  • S Kirby

  • March 2015

Excellent choice!

A lovely stay despite the horrid weather.

Couldn't fault the room or facilities at all. Breakfast the following morning was excellent and the service received was friendly, prompt and professional. The whole establishment was welcoming with areas to eat and drink, and a lovely outdoor sitting area by the arches (for better weather).

  • J salter

  • January 2015


  • Susan E

  • December 2014

Lovely little place

Very welcoming, the staff are very friendly & helpful

  • Angie I

  • November 2014

Close to Martin Mere

Excellent stay.

Staff so friendly. Will go back.

  • Andrew M

  • November 2014

Pleasant stay

Rooms were spacious.Food choice was restricted

  • christine neads

  • November 2014

Stay at Red Lion

A warm welcome as always at the Red Lion - friendly staff and excellent service - great food and lovely room

  • iona h

  • October 2014

clean comfortable and quiet

  • R Boyles

  • October 2014

Had a two night stay for our wedding anniversary.

Accommodation was very good, staff were very friendly and the evening meals excellent - indeed my wife commented that it was the best cooked steak she had in a very long time (she sends them back if they are not done correctly). Highly recommend for a short break

  • Mike C

  • September 2014

Good Marstons pub with rooms at the back.

Nice pub that serves food from a standard menu with a specials board.

Part of Marstons chain. Rooms are in an annex at the rear so undisturbed. Good cooked breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pleasant location. Overall it was just what we wanted at a reasonable price.