No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Green Lodge Hotel by Marstons Inns

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
2 Stanley Road,Hoylake , Wirral, CH47 1HW
The Green Lodge Hotel has six rooms, four doubles and two twin rooms all newly refurbished to a very high standard with new comfortable beds, En- suite bathrooms, Complimentary Biscuits with Tea/Coffee /Hot Chocolate making facilities in all bedrooms, New flat screen television, Free WiFi,Free bottled water and Complimentary full English Breakfast. The restaurant offers the Marstons Two For One menu with extensive chef's specials board also two for one. There is a lovely garden patio area for eating or drinks al fresco!

Ample Car Parking with CCTV. The hotel is located within three minutes walk of Hoylake town centre and train station, the local beach and the Royal Liverpool golf course. Boasting nearby picturesque views of the River Dee and Hilbre Isles it is ideal for a relaxing break or connections to Liverpool, Birkenhead and Chester.
Picture of Green Lodge Hotel by Marstons Inns, Wirral at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfort
Everything was good nice and clean only thing that I would change is the pillows I had four but felt like I had none.

Reviewed by
Brian D

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Green Stodge Hotel
When is a hotel not a hotel? I have nothing good to say about the Green Lodge.
We stood at the "Hotel" reception which was at the end of the bar with our luggage for 5 mins before anyone acknowledged us. We were then shown to our room, which we were told was the largest of all, through a dank corridor.
Upon entering the room we were hit with a damp musty smell. No net curtains, so you're continuously on view to the public from 2 sides. The night entrance which is basically the 1st floor fire escape at the rear of the "Hotel" has no security whatsoever, so anyone can enter the building and break into your room, and in a case of an emergency there are no night staff to help you, the whole "Hotel" is completely deserted.
I was so disappointed with our room and the smell we actually stayed at the Holiday Inn over the road which is far superior and you can book a room for as little as £24pppn.
I complained about our room the following morning and lack of security and night staff to the manager. Bearing in mind double rooms cost £73, which we got at a discounted rate on this site for £44. Her response was that they don't promote the Green Lodge as a hotel and what did I expect for £44!!! What a response!!!
My advise is that the word "Hotel" should be removed from the building and please be aware the bedrooms look nothing like the images on the website.
Green Lodge Hotel? Green Stodge! Don't stay here.

Reviewed by
Andy P

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. The room was spacious, clean and comfortabke with a good ensuite and plenty of refreshments. The breakfast in the morning was superb and well presented. Our stay was very enjoyable and great value and we would would definetly come again.

Reviewed by
P Kidd

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good value
A pleasant hotel, not far from seafront. Alarge beer garden and plenty of parking space.
This was nicely decoarated, beds comfy. Plenty of tea/coffee supplies.
There was a mix-up about breakfast times, we were offered toast/cereal. The manager came over and apologised, and offered to cook us full breakfast, we settled for a bacon sarnie.
Would return, a busy but pleasant pub and hotel.

Reviewed by
christine parker

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money.
Excellent value for money. Large twin room and lovely bathroom. Few minutes walk from the beach promenade and few minutes from the local railway station. Breakfast was part self service but full english provided if needed.

Reviewed by
M Farrell

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Pit Stop
Excellent overnight accommodation, was fine for me as solo traveller, would have been rather snug for a couple
,

Reviewed by
Elaine C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bed and pillows
The bed was quite uncomfortable and the pillows were very poor

Reviewed by
Heather H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the money
Was attending an event at Royal Liverpool golf club (home of the Open 2014).The one night stay was surprisingly inexpensive and very good value including breakfast .it worked out cheaper than the return cab fare.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of some TLC
We booked 2 rooms, room 1 and room 3. 1 was the largest with 3 being a small double. Both were clean if in need of some minor TLC. The main area for improvement has to be the breakfast. The food was okay but the 'make it yourself tea and coffee' service was just plain lazy. Worse was the impression of our waiting staff in the morning. A smile would not go amiss and we definitely felt we were an imposition rather than a welcomed guest. Sorry but thats how it was.

Reviewed by
Ian A

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking
Good clean room. Great value

Reviewed by
Tim S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next