Fowey Hotel

4

Esplanade, Fowey, PL23 1HX

Price From 312.68 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Phil Sutton

  • April 2015

Relaxed, friendly, amazing views & great food too.

We stayed in a superior room with a sea view as it was my wife's birthday and I wanted something special.

The whole break was superb, the room, the staff, the location and the views were everything that we could have wanted. The staff were attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, they obviously had pride in their hotel and their work. The view from our balcony was exceptional with the beautiful river Fowey flowing into the sea before us. The food was also excellent with enough choice for my vegetarian wife and for my carnivorous self.

Altogether a very satisfying and relaxing stay and we have resolved to return before too long.

  • michael baird

  • December 2014

wonderful views but a bit faded

Its worth a stay for the view and to use the old lift with brass gates, wood panelling and mirrors.

Good big bed and good bathroom. Carpets and fittings a bit old. Feels old fashioned. Lovely helpful staff - all a bit split between wonderful and ordinary

  • jane gibbs

  • November 2014

Excellent stay at fowey hotel

Everything was perfect from the moment I booked, reception rang me to check my requirements, then I received a warm welcome on arrival.

Every member of staff smiled and asked if they could help when they saw me. Food was wonderful. Only drawback was the parking but I knew that before I booked.

  • Paul Saunders

  • October 2014

First class accommodation and excellent staff.

  • lucy russell

  • August 2014

Room review

Our room was very comfortable but the windows/ carpet need an upgrade this apart .

no complaints at all with the overall standard of the room and grounds

the breakfasts were excellent and the staff each morning were very pleasant and quick to meet all requests

we did not eat dinner in the hotel as we wanted to visit local eateries ..but the menu looked tempting

The check out system should be looked at.......whilst we were in no great hurry it was annoying to have to wait behind a guest arranging to stay another night and being in a chatty mood whilst doing so

we were very lucky being able to park in St Finnbarrus St . each night but shudder at the alternatives

  • David N

  • May 2014

Just what I needed

This was just what I needed a relaxing stay with the staff helpfull and accommodating

  • Angela Harper

  • May 2014

Short stay but very enjoyable

Booked into the Fowey Hotel for one night stay but delighted with the service and the attentiveness of the staff.

I would suggest to anyone staying here that booking a parking space outside the hotel is essential as Fowey is built in and estuary with very steep streets. Next time we will go for a room with the harbour view. Stunning location.

  • Emma S

  • April 2014

Lovely old-fashioned hotel. Would have breakfast elsewhere in future.

We booked two nights for our honeymoon as we love Fowey.

The staff were lovely, the room had a gorgeous seaview, four poster and jacuzzi bath and we loved the old lift. The breakfast was a bit 'so-so' - juice from concentrate, no real vegetarian option, and atmosphere a bit 'clinking teaspoons stuffy.' There are so many gorgeous little cafés and Fowey that we would eat there instead in future. I've stayed here before and will stay here again. Last time I took my dog which was fabulous.

  • Corrie Williams

  • April 2014

Stunning views & great service

Views are absolutely stunning and the breakfast service is superb.

However when advertising a superior room you have to read the small print as it is a standard room with a view. The standard room is quite small and basic.

  • M Wright

  • March 2014

Great trip to Cornwall

Me and my partner, Trish, have just returned home after a visit to the Eden project and a two night stay at this wonderful hotel over-looking the Harbour in Fowey.

Check in was quick and efficient and the staff extremely helpful. Our room was on the first floor which was a bit of a shame as we couldn't justify using the fabulous old lift. Our room was small but perfectly formed, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you could need. The beds were very comfy and the linen was crisp and white. The bathroom had a full sized bath and brilliant shower. Actual HOT water and lots of pressure. The towels, (thick, soft and fluffy) were probably the best I have ever encountered in a hotel As we hadn't booked a premium room, we were unable to reserve a parking space, and I expected to have to park in the public car park about a five minute walk away from the hotel itself. However, as the hotel wasn't full when we arrived, we were allocated a parking space at just £5.00 per night. Be warned, though. If you have a large car (mine is a Vectra Estate) driving in Fowey can be a bit of an adventure. Some of the roads were barely wider than the car and some of the corners required a 3 point turn to negotiate. The breakfast menu is extensive and there would be something to satisfy the fussiest eater. Your bacon and eggs is freshly cooked and brought to your table by friendly, attentive staff. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but chose to walk into town and sample the local eateries. On consecutive nights we chose The Galleon Inn and The Ship Inn. The food was fabulous and very reasonably priced. The walk down to the Harbour and up again is a bit steep, so take care if you have too many glasses of wine with your dinner. Would we go back. Absolutely. If you choose to stay here you will not regret it.