No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Kensington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1A Lexham Gardens Kensington, London, W8 5JJ
This stylish, recently refurbished hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Earls Court Underground Station, next to Earls Court and Olympia exhibition centres.

Mercure London Kensington is your city base where you can relax, unwind and refresh. Enjoy snacks and Starbucks coffee throughout the day in the stylish cafe-bar with outside seating; experience the sumptuous guest rooms with luxurious bedding and amenities and wake-up to a delicious breakfast served in the restaurant filled with natural daylight.

Situated in the centre of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, exclusive shops and restaurants surround the property. The Natural History, Science and V&A Museums as well as the beautiful Hyde Park are only a short walk away.

All the hotels facilities are state of the art with FREE Wi-Fi in all areas, air-conditioning throughout and interactive flat-screen TVs in all rooms. Limited parking is available onsite.
Picture of Mercure London Kensington , London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable hotel, Second time we have stayed there
We stayed at the Mercure, Kensington at the beginning of December and as we were happy with our experience there we decided to stay there again at the beginning of this week. Again we were comfortable, good food and pleasant staff. Will definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
J Bryan

From Brecon, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfactory stay
I've only ever stayed in one Mercure before (Nottingham) and was really impressed. Whilst there was nothing at all wrong with this stay, the experience was "just okay" as opposed to when I'd stayed at Nottingham, where everything from the entrance and staircase through to customer service exceeded my expectations.
So the staff were friendly, the room was fine (albeit the bathroom felt a bit like it needs modernising) and the breakfast was ok (although the clearing of tables could have been swifter). Nothing at all to put me off staying again if I was doing business in the area, but nothing to wow me either - hence the title of the review.

Reviewed by
Carl B

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good hotel not great but good value

Reviewed by
Deborah C

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cold and unfriendly
The reception staff was very unfriendly and unhelpful when I arrived, almost laughing at me when I was a bit flustered arriving because of the snow. My room was extremely cold and when I rung reception to ask for a blow heater I was told there weren't any and they would provide me with an extra blanket. When I asked if they could send someone up to check the heating was working, they reluctantly agreed, a porter came up and basically said that was as good as it gets and that there was nothing further they could do.
When I complained the next morning, again I was greeting with a what can I do expression by the receptionist.
Would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
H Thomas

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very clean hotel
High standard of cleanliness both in public areas and bedroom. Would use again. Only minor point was directions to hotel could have been a little clearer on walking from tube. We thought we had gone the wrong way as it was slightly further than expected. Sainsburys was the guide point but could not be seen for some time. Maybe a guide point that is visible would be more helpful.

Reviewed by
Amanda V

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kooza visit
The room was very small and cold even with the heating turned to maximum. Breakfast was excellent as was the breakfast room. I wanted to take other meals but as these were served in the reception area at low tables which I find very uncomfortable I did not take any.Had the meals been served in the retaurent I would have eaten there. The situation of the hotel was excellent and near to all the places I wanted to visit, the staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
P Hallas

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room but no space.
The Mercure was lovely and clean with great beds, linen and pristine bathrooms. Only complaint is that I could bearly walk round the bedroom the space was so small, and considering it was a double, they should think about making it a single room, so that you can get dressed without swiping off bedside lamps, banging into wardrobe drawers and nearly having the television over. They obviously give their smallest sized rooms to people who have booked " Online" - ask to see the room before you agree to have it.

Reviewed by
Saraha C

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

EXCELLENT VALUE

Reviewed by
r humberstone

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Kensington
The check-in staff were unwelcoming & rude. The room was supposed to be a double - it was pathetically small. We struggled to move between the bed and the wall and we're slim people!! I've had bigger single rooms in the past.

Reviewed by
J Bartlett

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rooms :)
I have stayed in a Mercure Hotel in Bristol where the rooms were larger however they hotel, room presentation, size of bed and nice pillows made for a very lovely stay!! The room was warm on arrival which was nice as temperatures had fallen below zero outside. Good size TV with all the amenities you could want e.g. iron hairdryer, safe...

Reviewed by
michelle clark

From Bristol, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next