No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Kensington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1a Lexham Gardens, Kensington, LONDON, W8 5JJ
Recently refurbished, this contemporary 4-star hotel is in the midst of the fashionable Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea. With fast connections to Heathrow Airport and London Underground, Mercure London Kensington is minutes from Earls Court and Olympia, the exclusive shops of High Street Kensington and Knightsbridge, and the Natural History, Science and V&A Museums. State-of-the-art facilities include free WiFi, a conference room and a Starbucks lounge-bar with an urban terrace.
Picture of Mercure London Kensington, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern boutique feel cosy hotel in great location.
Room was nicely contemporary furnished. The standard room was small but adequate for a couple of nights stay. Bathroom also very small but again modernized clean & adequate.
Room had everything required for an overnight stay: Tea/Coffee maker , Hairdryer , internet.
Great location and modernized contemporary boutique feel I would stay again for short stays.

Reviewed by
Stella R

From Kingston , Jamaica
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient
The hotel is clean, the staff helpful and it is well located. It's not the cheapest but is reasonable for a London hotel in this location.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments have been passed onto our team in order to encourage them to continue providing excellent service. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions. Kindest regards, Georgiana, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
L Rutter

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More like 2* than 4*
Absolutely appalling room 8ft square for £205 - to call this cheaply converted 1960's/70's building 4 star is a complete misrepresentation. One decrepit 40 year old looking lift that clearly had been badly refurbed, bathrooms that didn't look much better with a shower that didn't work properly. Just an awfully depressing experience, couldn't wait to get out of the place

Reviewed by
J Kidd

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night at the Mercure
Check-in was quiet and quick, the room was good for the Sunday night rate also.

Reviewed by
Michael W

From Sevenoaks, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally positioned for a works trip to the National History Museum
The hotel staff, really are excellent. In particular Jekaterina on reception, very helpful and even shared a laugh and a joke. The waitresses at breakfast were very attentive too. The hotel is clean and ideal for getting my head down after a free bar works do!

Reviewed by
Jason R

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Albert Hall - Short notice trip
I chose the Mercure because of it's location and the images of quality and comfort. It was a pleasant short walk to the Royal Albert Hall where my son was performing; the standard of room was excellent and it was straight forward check-in by pleasant staff. It was a one night stay therefore I did not dine or use the bar facility; however these amenities looked very good. as I said the accomodation was spotless and comfortable and I would not hesitate to recommend or indeed return to this lovely hotel.
G Scott (infrequent visitor to London, unfortunately).

Reviewed by
G Scott

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BUSINESS STAY

Reviewed by
claire w

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No air-con, no hot water, but no refund or compensation
During the night of 5th/6th September, whilst I stayed at this hotel, there was no air-conditioning available in the rooms. This was one of the warmest nights of the year, and I was therefore unable to sleep before a very long and important day of business. To add insult to injury, the hot water was not working, so I was not able to shower/bathe either that morning.
I mentioned these problems to the receptionist at check-out, and was given a rather terse apology, but nothing more...

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to learn of your concerns regarding your stay at our hotel and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you encountered. I trust that you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are not representative of our usual high standards, and I have investigated this issue with our Maintenance Manager, who has asked for his apologies to be linked with mine. On the night in question, we have experienced a power cut that has sent into shut down mode all our boilers. When the power came back, our water boilers failed to start up. This failure affected the entire hotel in terms of hot water and air conditioning. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. By a way of an apology and in order to regain your confidence in us I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our Privilege rooms, next time you travel to London. The upgrade includes Full English breakfast, minibar and unlimited WIFI Kindest regards, Georgiana, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
Chris F

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great London stay
Have to say the staff made this trip better than expected, friendly and very helpful. Could not be faulted whatsoever. Thank you

Reviewed by
chris s

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for short stay
Initially given a double instead of twin but was moved to a twin room and staff even managed to re-accommodate whole party on same floor close to each other without any hassles. Friendly and efficient service, room was quiet despite being on a busy road, only had breakfast but very nice. Would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Michelle H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next