No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Kensington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1A Lexham Gardens Kensington, London, W8 5JJ
This stylish, recently refurbished hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Earls Court Underground Station, next to Earls Court and Olympia exhibition centres.

Mercure London Kensington is your city base where you can relax, unwind and refresh. Enjoy snacks and Starbucks coffee throughout the day in the stylish cafe-bar with outside seating; experience the sumptuous guest rooms with luxurious bedding and amenities and wake-up to a delicious breakfast served in the restaurant filled with natural daylight.

Situated in the centre of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, exclusive shops and restaurants surround the property. The Natural History, Science and V&A Museums as well as the beautiful Hyde Park are only a short walk away.

All the hotels facilities are state of the art with FREE Wi-Fi in all areas, air-conditioning throughout and interactive flat-screen TVs in all rooms. Limited parking is available onsite.
Picture of Mercure London Kensington , London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideally positioned for a works trip to the National History Museum
The hotel staff, really are excellent. In particular Jekaterina on reception, very helpful and even shared a laugh and a joke. The waitresses at breakfast were very attentive too. The hotel is clean and ideal for getting my head down after a free bar works do!

Reviewed by
Jason R

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Albert Hall - Short notice trip
I chose the Mercure because of it's location and the images of quality and comfort. It was a pleasant short walk to the Royal Albert Hall where my son was performing; the standard of room was excellent and it was straight forward check-in by pleasant staff. It was a one night stay therefore I did not dine or use the bar facility; however these amenities looked very good. as I said the accomodation was spotless and comfortable and I would not hesitate to recommend or indeed return to this lovely hotel.
G Scott (infrequent visitor to London, unfortunately).

Reviewed by
G Scott

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

BUSINESS STAY

Reviewed by
claire w

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No air-con, no hot water, but no refund or compensation
During the night of 5th/6th September, whilst I stayed at this hotel, there was no air-conditioning available in the rooms. This was one of the warmest nights of the year, and I was therefore unable to sleep before a very long and important day of business. To add insult to injury, the hot water was not working, so I was not able to shower/bathe either that morning.
I mentioned these problems to the receptionist at check-out, and was given a rather terse apology, but nothing more...

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to learn of your concerns regarding your stay at our hotel and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience you encountered. I trust that you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are not representative of our usual high standards, and I have investigated this issue with our Maintenance Manager, who has asked for his apologies to be linked with mine. On the night in question, we have experienced a power cut that has sent into shut down mode all our boilers. When the power came back, our water boilers failed to start up. This failure affected the entire hotel in terms of hot water and air conditioning. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. By a way of an apology and in order to regain your confidence in us I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our Privilege rooms, next time you travel to London. The upgrade includes Full English breakfast, minibar and unlimited WIFI Kindest regards, Georgiana, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
Chris F

From Aberystwyth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great London stay
Have to say the staff made this trip better than expected, friendly and very helpful. Could not be faulted whatsoever. Thank you

Reviewed by
chris s

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for short stay
Initially given a double instead of twin but was moved to a twin room and staff even managed to re-accommodate whole party on same floor close to each other without any hassles. Friendly and efficient service, room was quiet despite being on a busy road, only had breakfast but very nice. Would happily stay again.

Reviewed by
Michelle H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Northern couple staying in London for sightseeing and meeting up with local family
Excellent hotel in good position. Very comfortable and clean. Restaurant staff in particular were very good. We only had breakfast there (which was excellent) and had evening meals out. The evening meal menu was very basic anyway and we did not use it. Did not like the idea of having to leave a £60 deposit at reception for which I was not offered a receipt. Reception got my booking wrong by saying I had not booked cooked breakfast when it was clearly on my LateRooms.com documentation. Also a coffee which I never had was added to my final bill. I paid in cash for any bar items. On the morning of our check-out I receivead a 5 am wake-up call which I did not ask for and did not need.
Good experience overall but there is some lack of organisation in Reception.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room was very clean, very quiet,
fourth floor room, amazing when the lift worked, only one. and eight flights of stairs.

Reviewed by
Jackie N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was really well presented and priced.
The only complaint I would have is that it was not as close to where I needed to be, which was advertised when the booking was made and was therefore slightly inconvenient as was on a business trip. However lovely area and would visit again, but not on business!

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wrong room, wrong charge, wrong attitude
Stayed here for one night on business with my partner, was booked into a single room when I'd asked for a double - although this was quickly rectified. My partner checked out the next morning and had to fight to get the room deposit refunded onto my card without me there (we weren't told when checking in the card holder would need to be present); he also left his bag there for the day but when returning to pick it up was told he couldn't have it because he hadn't been issued with a cloakroom ticket (their mistake, not his) - again had to fight to get it back, which he eventually did after a manager had to be called . Got home and checked my receipt to find I had been overcharged by alomst £50. Called to complain, was told my room was that price - had comedic "No it wasn't" "Yes it was" with same receptionist before she conceded it was their mistake, was told manager would call me ASAP; four hours later I hadn't had a call. Called them back and was told it was being sorted and refund would be with me in a few days but wasn't offered any further explanation nor apology and had to ask for a new invoice to be sent to me as it wasn't offered. Room was fine but small for the price. I maybe got them on a bad day but I wouldn't stay again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Ms. Branford, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay and would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused. I checked your reservation details and I am afraid you booked a single room. The confirmation details that were sent to us by laterooms show a single room. As a gesture of goodwill however the receptionist on duty has complimentary upgraded you to a double room. When she upgraded your reservation due to a system error the room rate has changed from £245 to £295. Unfortunately this mistake was not noticed on check-out and would like to offer my sincere apologies for that. As soon as you reported the issue with us, we have issued a refund. Your comments regarding the attitude of our receptionist come as a surprise since most of our guests praise us for the excellent service and hospitality we offer. Please rest assured that the appropriate re-training has been put into place in order to prevent other guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention and I do hope you will not judge us solely on this experience. By a way of an apology and in order to regain your confidence in us I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our Privilege rooms next time you travel to London. Please email me directly at and I will ensure you experience a more enjoyable stay. Kindest regards, Georgiana Pusnava, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
Hilary B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next