No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Kensington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1A Lexham Gardens Kensington, London, W8 5JJ
This stylish, recently refurbished hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Earls Court Underground Station, next to Earls Court and Olympia exhibition centres.

Mercure London Kensington is your city base where you can relax, unwind and refresh. Enjoy snacks and Starbucks coffee throughout the day in the stylish cafe-bar with outside seating; experience the sumptuous guest rooms with luxurious bedding and amenities and wake-up to a delicious breakfast served in the restaurant filled with natural daylight.

Situated in the centre of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, exclusive shops and restaurants surround the property. The Natural History, Science and V&A Museums as well as the beautiful Hyde Park are only a short walk away.

All the hotels facilities are state of the art with FREE Wi-Fi in all areas, air-conditioning throughout and interactive flat-screen TVs in all rooms. Limited parking is available onsite.
Picture of Mercure London Kensington , London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this is a really good hotel that lives up to all four start only down fall is that there is no were for you to park, knowing that you pay a decent amount to stay in the hotel then still have to pay £25 to park at another hotel was not acceptable

Reviewed by
L Salmon

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the second time we have stayed here & we would stay again. The location was great-just a short walk away from the tube station, and the room was very comfy.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maintanence needs attention
Bath taps extremely stiff. Could not turn them on, neither could porter who came to check out issue. Reception staff allocated another room. Here the taps easy to turn on but whole hot and cold tap fitting was loose from the bath! Paintwork along skirting board was flaking off and one of ceiling tiles was hanging down.

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A piece of bliss
We recently booked a room at short notice , got an excellent rate for the room. Directions online we are clear and straightforward. Staff on reception were welcoming and friendly. The reception area and lobby were bright airy and comfortable. Our room was lovely, bed was comfortable nicely heated. Very clean. Room service was lovely with prompt delivery and priced appropriately. Really enjoyed our stay would recommend it highly.

Reviewed by
D M Brady

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apparently this room usually retails for over £300 - what a joke. It was like staying in a cell - you had to turn sideways to navigate yourself around the bed. I won't be staying here or any other Mercure hotel again based on this experience

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read your concerns and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Our rooms vary in size from small doubles to king executive. The small doubles are compact indeed, however our guests prefer them as they are value for money. For future stays my personal recommendation would be to book one of our executive rooms as they are very spacious and accommodate a king size bed. Please do not allow this experience to influence your choice of hotels in the future. Please email me directly prior to your next stay with us at so I can ensure you experience a more enjoyable stay. I hope you will not judge solely on this experience and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions. Kindest regards, Georgiana Pusnava, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
S Turner

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel stays
Very helpful. Staff
Top quality hotel just like ibis in Amsterdam
Thank you

Reviewed by
roger hudspith

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food, good beds
I booked a room for 3 days via LateRooms.com and got an excellent room at an excellent price. I extended my stay for 3 more days, but this time it was a bit more expensive. Unfortunately when I extended my stay at the hotel, I asked to extend until Thursday but the receptionist understood Tuesday. I know my English is not perfect and I would not argue too much about that. The first night was horrible but not because of the hotel...well not directly. A group of persons that looked and behaved like street thugs or hooligans were very loud, kept banging the doors all night. I think the hotel should have refused to accommodate them. It was clear by their look and attitude that they were troublemakers. If it weren't for that first night it would have been a very nice stay. The services there are very good especially the girls where they server breakfast. All in all its a good hotel.

Reviewed by
Ene Marius Ionut

From Bucharest, Romania
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, clean room
Although the room was small, it was perfectly adequate. It was clean, comfortable and in a great location. Perfect for a one night business stay.

Reviewed by
Dianne Newman

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room, we stayed in one of the privilege rooms which was excellent. The room was spacious with king size bed, expresso machine and small fridge stocked with soft drinks included in the price. The bathroom was modern and most importantly clean. We enjoyed a lovely traditional breakfast at a time which suited us. We will be booking again in Aoril to see more sights of London. The Hotel is an excellent base only 5 minutes from Earls Court Tube Station.

Reviewed by
J DAVIES

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visit to tennis in London

had a great time at the Albert Hall watching the tennis and the hotel was nearby in Kensington so we could walk there. Hotel was fine except the water was only luke warm in the shower next day and for the price this wasn't good enough.



Reviewed by
sharon ettrick

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next