No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Kensington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1A Lexham Gardens Kensington, London, W8 5JJ
This stylish, recently refurbished hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Earls Court Underground Station, next to Earls Court and Olympia exhibition centres.

Mercure London Kensington is your city base where you can relax, unwind and refresh. Enjoy snacks and Starbucks coffee throughout the day in the stylish cafe-bar with outside seating; experience the sumptuous guest rooms with luxurious bedding and amenities and wake-up to a delicious breakfast served in the restaurant filled with natural daylight.

Situated in the centre of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, exclusive shops and restaurants surround the property. The Natural History, Science and V&A Museums as well as the beautiful Hyde Park are only a short walk away.

All the hotels facilities are state of the art with FREE Wi-Fi in all areas, air-conditioning throughout and interactive flat-screen TVs in all rooms. Limited parking is available onsite.
Picture of Mercure London Kensington , London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apparently this room usually retails for over £300 - what a joke. It was like staying in a cell - you had to turn sideways to navigate yourself around the bed. I won't be staying here or any other Mercure hotel again based on this experience

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read your concerns and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Our rooms vary in size from small doubles to king executive. The small doubles are compact indeed, however our guests prefer them as they are value for money. For future stays my personal recommendation would be to book one of our executive rooms as they are very spacious and accommodate a king size bed. Please do not allow this experience to influence your choice of hotels in the future. Please email me directly prior to your next stay with us at so I can ensure you experience a more enjoyable stay. I hope you will not judge solely on this experience and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions. Kindest regards, Georgiana Pusnava, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
S Turner

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel stays
Very helpful. Staff
Top quality hotel just like ibis in Amsterdam
Thank you

Reviewed by
roger hudspith

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food, good beds
I booked a room for 3 days via LateRooms.com and got an excellent room at an excellent price. I extended my stay for 3 more days, but this time it was a bit more expensive. Unfortunately when I extended my stay at the hotel, I asked to extend until Thursday but the receptionist understood Tuesday. I know my English is not perfect and I would not argue too much about that. The first night was horrible but not because of the hotel...well not directly. A group of persons that looked and behaved like street thugs or hooligans were very loud, kept banging the doors all night. I think the hotel should have refused to accommodate them. It was clear by their look and attitude that they were troublemakers. If it weren't for that first night it would have been a very nice stay. The services there are very good especially the girls where they server breakfast. All in all its a good hotel.

Reviewed by
Ene Marius Ionut

From Bucharest, Romania
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, clean room
Although the room was small, it was perfectly adequate. It was clean, comfortable and in a great location. Perfect for a one night business stay.

Reviewed by
Dianne Newman

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room, we stayed in one of the privilege rooms which was excellent. The room was spacious with king size bed, expresso machine and small fridge stocked with soft drinks included in the price. The bathroom was modern and most importantly clean. We enjoyed a lovely traditional breakfast at a time which suited us. We will be booking again in Aoril to see more sights of London. The Hotel is an excellent base only 5 minutes from Earls Court Tube Station.

Reviewed by
J DAVIES

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

visit to tennis in London

had a great time at the Albert Hall watching the tennis and the hotel was nearby in Kensington so we could walk there. Hotel was fine except the water was only luke warm in the shower next day and for the price this wasn't good enough.



Reviewed by
sharon ettrick

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room
Clean and tidy room but extremely small. Just about OK for a single person but not for a couple

Reviewed by
R Foster

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value in South Kensington
I stayed at numerous hotels on my trip to London and this was the best value by far. The lobby was very nice, the staff was super kind and helpful and the room was small but tastefully decorated and clean. It was refreshing to have normal sized hallways with pretty doors. The awesome staff was beyond helpful which is so appreciated. They held my bag while I was out all day which gave me piece of mind. They also had internet included which is a must when travelling internationally. The one downside was that my room (614) was under or next to what sounded like a laundry room so it was a bit loud. Other than that, I would stay here again for sure!

Reviewed by
L Willman

From Mesa, USA
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

payment issues
we book all our company travel through late rooms using a directors credit card. For the first time ever I was asked for the card used to reserve the room when I checked in - which I did not have and have never had to produce previousley. This cause paperwork problems/delays checking in and reconciliation issues with the directors credit card. Apart from that, great hotel, very clean, very quiet, great location.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Halesworth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Modern boutique feel cosy hotel in great location.
Room was nicely contemporary furnished. The standard room was small but adequate for a couple of nights stay. Bathroom also very small but again modernized clean & adequate.
Room had everything required for an overnight stay: Tea/Coffee maker , Hairdryer , internet.
Great location and modernized contemporary boutique feel I would stay again for short stays.

Reviewed by
Stella R

From Kingston , Jamaica
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next