No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Kensington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1A Lexham Gardens Kensington, London, W8 5JJ
This stylish, recently refurbished hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Earls Court Underground Station, next to Earls Court and Olympia exhibition centres.

Mercure London Kensington is your city base where you can relax, unwind and refresh. Enjoy snacks and Starbucks coffee throughout the day in the stylish cafe-bar with outside seating; experience the sumptuous guest rooms with luxurious bedding and amenities and wake-up to a delicious breakfast served in the restaurant filled with natural daylight.

Situated in the centre of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, exclusive shops and restaurants surround the property. The Natural History, Science and V&A Museums as well as the beautiful Hyde Park are only a short walk away.

All the hotels facilities are state of the art with FREE Wi-Fi in all areas, air-conditioning throughout and interactive flat-screen TVs in all rooms. Limited parking is available onsite.
Picture of Mercure London Kensington , London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure always have been good for me
I note a few comments about poor service and small rooms but i have to say that i have always found the Mercure to offer me a nice room and a friendly service - i say this as someone who arrived to check in at 3.10am and had to knock on the front door this time!
A room of decent size was ready and waiting for me - i must confess i had worreid that as the last guest in, i would get a tiny room, but this wasnt the case.
As far as rooms around the 90-99 pound mark go, this is a good choice for a Park lane event too - by way of comparison, the room was far more welcoming than Ibis, which was equivalently priced on the night i booked.
In fact the only thing i would say against it was that given i booked the room the same day - and thus they must have needed to shift it - Mercure could have thrown in breakfast as an extra enticement, rather than offering it for an extra tenner. I was for a moment tempted by the other hotels that included brekkie at that all-important £99 mark!

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't fault the stay.

Reviewed by
D Vincent

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good clean accommodation if overpriced

Reviewed by
m b

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at mecure
The room was clean and tidy but no where near enough coffee,tea, sugar etc. there were a few issues on arrival that staff eventually sorted but left me feeling rather uncomfortable especially the next morning when the same issues arose. There were no windows to open but view was great. Close to all local amenities. No information online as to what was needed from those staying and very uncomfortable conversation as it was a birthday treat booked by the family whom obviously wasn't there but 5 hours away. Far to much documentation asked for which was very irrelevant.

Reviewed by
E Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable, well positioned for museums
Simple, comfortable and well located for museums. The staff are excellent, very friendly, helpful and professional. Only downside is the marketing policy of standard room rate of £445 or thereabouts reduced to, in my case £95 giving the impression of a bargain, the hotel depending on demand is good value at 90-150 GBP but no more

Reviewed by
Allan W

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room, not far from tube station.

Reviewed by
t gelston

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay for access to National Olympia
The Accommodation and Staff was both friendly, inviting and warming (Something I don't tend to experience in London that often). For me, the Reception staff made checking in and out very easy and was very knowledgeable of the area (Including a member of staff working on their 2nd Day). However my colleague experienced a different experience of checking out as they wanted to charge her double for what she was quoted when she booked the hotel room (and had it in writing from the hotel directly.... Usual Hotel methods really).
The room was suitable and comfortable as any standard 4* rated hotel. The only downside for me was the very limited facilities on the Television (Channels wise) and the lack of ability to connect a DVD player / games consoles to the TV (I was down work on business for 3 days and didn't want to explore London on some nights. Yes I lead a sad life....) The facilities in the King Sized room which I stayed in was more than what I expected and my colleague had access to free soft drinks in the mini bar (sadly I didn't about this until the last day :( )
The Breakfast was amazing! Anything that anyone could want is on offer. Full English, continental, European delicacies, (Hams, Cheeses, unique pastries etc), you name it they do it. Probably one of the best UK Hotel experiences I've had in a while!
The Hotel is allocated about 1-2mins walk from Earls Court and about 10-15mins walk to the National Olympia.
For me, it's a highly recommended hotel for the area.

Reviewed by
James Hill

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good food, good service, nice clean double room, bit on the small side though but ok for just me!

Reviewed by
M Crampton

From Letchworth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

squeeze in
I was travelling for business so not looking for pampering but the room was tiny- I had to turn sideways to get round the bed- no joke. I nearly broke a tooth on the room service calimari and the veg pasta main was diced peppers mixed with tinned tomatoes and pesto dropped on a bowl of spag- hardly a treat. Coffee the next morning looked like gravy. This is central London and pricey. The staff were pleasant enough but I wouldn't go back. Compared to the luxurious Mercure in Sheffield (where I have also stayed) this was disappointing.

Reviewed by
Lyn L

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful from start to finish
Firstly informed that we were at a different hotel, only to be told that we are on the other side of London. Informed we had complimentary parking, we parked in front of the hotel and received two fines from traffic wardens. Then informed that we had a double bed, when in fact was two singles pushed together.
All together wouldn't book again, staff were average and overall I would never ever book with either late rooms or Mercure again.

Reviewed by
Christopher F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next