Reviews - Mercure London Kensington


1a Lexham Gardens, Kensington, LONDON, W8 5JJ

Price From 205.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (59)

64% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • S Levoir

  • August 2014

Scam and surely not legal

The hotel charged an extra £42 upon arrival for incidentals which was unrefundable.

The room booked was on a floor where the lift somehow doesn't stop and my mother is disabled. The hotel had no sympathy for her simply said they would help her up the stairs. A receptionist offered to instal the hotel wifi on her phone and chose a chargeable option without giving her the option to say no. I doubt much of this is legal. Considering my mother was visiting me after I had had emergency surgery, she simply didn't have the energy to stand up to this horror.

  • Peter S

  • August 2014

One night standard room

Room very small and lift slow.

Noise all night, but ear plugs provided. Staff helpful.

  • J Evans

  • July 2014

Good location, comfortable bed

Bus stop right outside, tube 5 min walk.

Great bed, but tiny bathroom...especially for a superior room.

  • Colin D

  • July 2014

Tiny and airless

Smallest room I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.

No opening windows. Air conditioning sole purpose to keep me awake at night. No draught beer, food served in small bar area. Only saving grace was the staff ( except Barman) all helpful courteous and knowledgeable. I was here one night......never again!

  • Amina B

  • July 2014

Very disappointed

We were expecting a 4 star hotel we ended getting something that looks more like a bed and breakfast.

We had difficulty falling asleep due to the matresses on the beds which were really painful to lay on. We woke up in the morning with a back ache. I do not recommend

  • Stephen W

  • July 2014


The hotel was very clean and the reception staff were all very friendly and helpful.

It was only a short stay so my opinion is based on the limited time we were there.

The hotel was located within walking distance of Kensington Park, Natural History museum and a few very nice restaurants. The hotel was quite expensive for what it was, but that's London prices unfortunately

Would recommend

  • N Kumalo

  • June 2014

Good hotel, great location!

I enjoyed the attentive hotel staff, professional, friendly & very helpful.

Great value for money given the location. I will go back again when next in London

  • Sarah W

  • June 2014

For for purpose

Needed a simple hotel with good tube access for a last minute stay in London.

Comfortable bed and quiet room. Suited our needs perfectly for one night. Everything clean and reasonably priced.

  • Joy N

  • June 2014

friendly, helpful staff

reception staff were friendly & welcoming, very helpful about leaving our luggage before we checked in.

We were lucky & were offered a room upgrade so it was the nicest room we've ever had in London. Only downside - the duvet was very thick & heavy & we were there on very hot nights. Please have summer duvets available!

  • Neil G

  • June 2014

The room was the size of a shoebox.

The air con did not do anything other than make a noise and the lift was out of order.