No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure London Kensington

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1A Lexham Gardens Kensington, London, W8 5JJ
This stylish, recently refurbished hotel is only a 5 minute walk from Earls Court Underground Station, next to Earls Court and Olympia exhibition centres.

Mercure London Kensington is your city base where you can relax, unwind and refresh. Enjoy snacks and Starbucks coffee throughout the day in the stylish cafe-bar with outside seating; experience the sumptuous guest rooms with luxurious bedding and amenities and wake-up to a delicious breakfast served in the restaurant filled with natural daylight.

Situated in the centre of the Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea, exclusive shops and restaurants surround the property. The Natural History, Science and V&A Museums as well as the beautiful Hyde Park are only a short walk away.

All the hotels facilities are state of the art with FREE Wi-Fi in all areas, air-conditioning throughout and interactive flat-screen TVs in all rooms. Limited parking is available onsite.
Picture of Mercure London Kensington , London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 86 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
65% recommended this accommodation to a friend 65% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful from start to finish
Firstly informed that we were at a different hotel, only to be told that we are on the other side of London. Informed we had complimentary parking, we parked in front of the hotel and received two fines from traffic wardens. Then informed that we had a double bed, when in fact was two singles pushed together.
All together wouldn't book again, staff were average and overall I would never ever book with either late rooms or Mercure again.

Reviewed by
Christopher F

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

squeeze in
I was travelling for business so not looking for pampering but the room was tiny- I had to turn sideways to get round the bed- no joke. I nearly broke a tooth on the room service calimari and the veg pasta main was diced peppers mixed with tinned tomatoes and pesto dropped on a bowl of spag- hardly a treat. Coffee the next morning looked like gravy. This is central London and pricey. The staff were pleasant enough but I wouldn't go back. Compared to the luxurious Mercure in Sheffield (where I have also stayed) this was disappointing.

Reviewed by
Lyn L

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely staff, but very poor wifi signal and aircon
really lovely staff, but your Wi-Fi is really bad I was in room 310 ,,, i always need to work from the www, but it was a on and off access from that room, however very clean, tidy and exceptional customer service

Reviewed by
samantha lindsey- cooke

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure Kensington
Average hotel; at £155 for Saturday evening and no food included, very expensive.
20 min walk to Albert Hall. Will try another hotel next time walked past so many on the Cromwell Road.

Reviewed by
Brian H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

London weekend trip
Easy to find. Good hotel . Appreciated the triple glazing - no traffic noise. Excellent breakfast . Still pricey . Would come more often if price were less - but that's London

Reviewed by
Kate H

From Louth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

this is a really good hotel that lives up to all four start only down fall is that there is no were for you to park, knowing that you pay a decent amount to stay in the hotel then still have to pay £25 to park at another hotel was not acceptable

Reviewed by
L Salmon

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the second time we have stayed here & we would stay again. The location was great-just a short walk away from the tube station, and the room was very comfy.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maintanence needs attention
Bath taps extremely stiff. Could not turn them on, neither could porter who came to check out issue. Reception staff allocated another room. Here the taps easy to turn on but whole hot and cold tap fitting was loose from the bath! Paintwork along skirting board was flaking off and one of ceiling tiles was hanging down.

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A piece of bliss
We recently booked a room at short notice , got an excellent rate for the room. Directions online we are clear and straightforward. Staff on reception were welcoming and friendly. The reception area and lobby were bright airy and comfortable. Our room was lovely, bed was comfortable nicely heated. Very clean. Room service was lovely with prompt delivery and priced appropriately. Really enjoyed our stay would recommend it highly.

Reviewed by
D M Brady

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Apparently this room usually retails for over £300 - what a joke. It was like staying in a cell - you had to turn sideways to navigate yourself around the bed. I won't be staying here or any other Mercure hotel again based on this experience

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was disappointed to read your concerns and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Our rooms vary in size from small doubles to king executive. The small doubles are compact indeed, however our guests prefer them as they are value for money. For future stays my personal recommendation would be to book one of our executive rooms as they are very spacious and accommodate a king size bed. Please do not allow this experience to influence your choice of hotels in the future. Please email me directly prior to your next stay with us at so I can ensure you experience a more enjoyable stay. I hope you will not judge solely on this experience and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions. Kindest regards, Georgiana Pusnava, Hotel Manager

Reviewed by
S Turner

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next