No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hinton Firs Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
9 Manor Road , Bournemouth, BH1 3ET
We would like to offer you a warm welcome to Hinton Firs Hotel, set in tranquil gardens on Bournemouth's prestigious East Cliff, just a few minutes' walk from the sea.

Our hotel is family owned which means that we create an ideal atmosphere to ensure that your stay is a real home from home. We take pride in offering a truly personal service, and firmly believe that our hospitality is unrivalled.

With beautiful beaches a stone's throw away, a theatre on the doorstep, as well as excellent shopping and many leisure activities, Hinton Firs Hotel is the perfect place to explore, be entertained or just unwind. Of course we can't control the weather, but we can ensure that you will want to return to our unique and special hotel time and again.

Picture of Hinton Firs Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was a nice break away as a family

Reviewed by
Rebecca S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad for the money but could do with attention to decor
The outside pool was green And discussing not useable,inside Pool area was dirty, not a great experience!!!

Reviewed by
Rob S

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
First impressions where poor. The first thing you see out the front of the hotel was the outdoor pool which looked more like a duck pond. Reception staff where friendly and helpful. Hotel was dated, room was ok with comfortable beds, bedding could have been cleaner had stains on. Bathroom needed up dating badly, shower curtain falling off, fittings which where broke. Was ok for the price we paid, wouldn't have paid more. Meals where far to expensive.

Reviewed by
j guest

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth money but should not be a 3 star rating.
Not bad for short stay, and for prices. Ground floor furnished good and looks much better then upstairs.

Reviewed by
bogdan c

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable value
Reasonable value hotel with rooms that are clean and tidy if a litte worn.

Reviewed by
A Sharp

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the best
Very strange experience. It is the first time I have ever stayed in a hotel and been asked to pay before we checked in and before even having seen the room! When we got to the room there were no towels and no remote control for the TV. No one was available behind the bar (even after ringing the service bell several times) and we had to keep going to reception to ask for somebody to come and serve us.
The less said about the outdoor swimming pool the better - we are virtually in Summer but it certainly wasn't fit for human use.
Overall very disappointing as this hotel has the potential to be so much better.

Reviewed by
P West

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location, friendly staff
A friendly welcome by staff who were happy to help. The hotel was good, in need of modernisation and refurbishment but we cannot complain, it was was clean, the beds were comfy and provided all the facilities we needed. The pool was small (and deep, 3ft-4.8ft) but the children enjoyed it. The outdoor pool needs a good clean - looks like it hasn't been used in a while. It seems as if a slow programme of refurbishment is being undertaken, the communal areas are welcoming and reasonably modern whilst the bedrooms are dated. We stayed in the cottage, an annex to the main hotel. We did have a few light bulbs not working, we mentioned it to reception but nothing was fixed whilst we were there. For what we paid we cannot grumble but if we had paid full price we would!

Reviewed by
S Priest

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation over all was very poor.

Reviewed by
B Tobias

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i would just like to say the room was damp old and needed updateing it was clean but thats about all i ask for them to put the heating on but it was on a timer that was at 2000hrs at night which did not come on so i rang again and they put it on for 2 hours then turned it of no other time did they put the heating on and it was very cold and damp in the room will not stay there again.

Reviewed by
M Deacon

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 star hotel
The location is perfect ( 5 min walk from the beach), the room itself not too bad but the hotel as a whole is extremely run down, the staff not too friendly.. no remote control for the telly, asked for a table tennis ball without sellotape and darts but the staff member couldn't locate these??? Requested the sauna to be switched on and after waiting for 20 min I gave up..
But the worst was the shower, the water was hot for 2 min then cold, very temperamental and the water flow was next to none. We definitely expected more.

Reviewed by
Claudio D

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next