No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Lion Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
21 High Street,Upton-Upon-Severn , Upton-upon-Severn, WR8 0HJ

Recommended by Condé Nast Johansens

Our inspector loved "Jon and Richard’s excellent food and the great traditional hospitality."

The philosophy at The White Lion is simple... We offer old fashioned hospitality with attentive service, good food, comfortable room and value for money. A traditional, family run, hotel with the emphasis on offering the best in hotel services.Our 13 rooms are individually decorated with two of them, The Rose Room and The Wild Goose Room mentioned in Henry Fieldings famous book entitled The History Of Tom Jones, were he mentioned the hotel as the fairest inn on the street and a house of excedingly good repute, both standards we ahear to today. We have won numerous awards for our food and service from the AA, RAC, English Tourist Board, Johansens and the local council to name but a few so come on and discover our riverside town and Upton's little secret for yourself. We have a clinetel that is both business and lesiure orentated so there is no reason not to give us a call.
Picture of The White Lion Hotel, Upton-upon-Severn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value and with character
Friendly, knowledgeable staff. This country hotel is proud of its past and present and offers good value in accommodation. Not palatial, but comfortable and adequate. No cutting corners in the kitchen either. Hope to visit again!

Reviewed by
Graham H

From Letterkenny, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Room was nice. We knew it would be a little compact. Room and all areas very clean. Some fittings and fixtures a little dated. One bed side light wasn't working but was fixed. Staff very helpful - a little stretched at times as they were covering the dining room and reception. Very good value for money.
Breakfast was superb - very generous portions. Ate in the dining room both nights. First night vegetables were over cooked but overall the meal was very good and very generous in portions. Second night meal was superb - couldn't be faulted in any way. Definitely recommended as the place to eat in the town
Only criticism was the room overlooked the high street and was noisy. There are a group of skateboarders who loiter right outside the hotel and the click clack of the skateboards was distracting - the hotel needs to have them moved on as they are a nuisance.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey Nicholson

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Food
I was a little surprised by the rooms - I expected more, altho it was adequite. Bathroom was very nice tho'. The saving grace was the restaurant - really good food & a reasonable wine list

Reviewed by
Karen O

From Bishop's Stortford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Trip
Nice location, lovely helpful staff, good food. A couple of areas could do with a bit of tlc,
seating in bar, nothing major. But has not stopped me going back for next business
meeting in a couple of weeks.

Reviewed by
S MILES

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family run hotel. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Dealt well with special dietary needs and understood need to avoid cross contamination. Room small but adequate larger rooms are available but we booked late. Pretty village with individual shops.

Reviewed by
A Ashby

From Hay wards Heath , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Traditional Tavern with excellent food and friendly staff.
This is a charming hotel with a 500 year history as a tavern. The hospitality is excellent and the staff charming. The quality of the food as earned regular AA Rosette awards and justifiably so from my experience. My dinner was beautifully presented and delicious.
My room was very clean and comfortable with an immaculately clean en suite with a nice electric shower. The room was a little small compared to what you can get in bigger chain hotels but then you don't get the atmosphere of being in such a lovely old building. The room was furnished with what looked like furniture from local antique markets. It was nice although a little tired can could have done with a polish. The bed was very comfortable however and there was a good size, wall mounted, flat screen TV with plenty of channels to choose from. There was free WI-FI but it was a bit intermittent. I managed to get my work emails done and then it was impossible to reconnect later. The hotel also seemed to be a bit of a mobile phone signal black hole so phoning home to speak to family was out.
Overall a nice place to stay however with a warm welcome.

Reviewed by
Paul Dickinson

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for the price
Bed was very comfortable, some of the decor could do with updating. Hotel for the price was great and gentleman on reception was excellent.

Reviewed by
Nicola C

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Experience
This hotel is excellent food out of this world the owner and staff are so helpful cannot say how wonderful our stay was, will be visiting again lovely relaxing experience.

Reviewed by
Frazer Baxter

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room review
Comfortable room at back of hotel.Plenty of space and generally in very good condition.Beds comfortable.The only gripe relates to the shower area where quite a lot of mould had developed on the surface of the sealant around the shower base.Otherwise everything fine.

Reviewed by
Robert E

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You couldn't get much better
Our 4 night stay was just delightful. We, there were 6 of us in 4 rooms, were treated like family by the staff. Chris and Jon couldn't do enough for us - from posting mail to picking up laundry. The rooms were petite, but everything you needed was there for you. We had 2 lovely dinners and at the last one we were presented with a bottle of champagne in celebration of our 30th overseas bell ringing tour. That was the first time we were treated so royally. We do not hesitate to recommend the While Lion

Reviewed by
B Butler

From Philadelphia, USA
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next