No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Oaklands Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
89 Yarmouth Road , Norwich, NR7 0HH
Situated on the outskirts of Norwich City Centre, the Oaklands Hotel provides a unique and relaxed atmosphere. Sophisticated interiors, a variety of bedrooms, great public spaces, beautiful grounds overlooking the Yare River Valley and ample free onsite parking all combine to offer the perfect backdrop for a relaxing leisure or business break.

The hotel also offers free Wi-Fi access throughout a Carvery Restaurant, Lounge and Bar and a new Menu available every evening, you will not need to go out once you have settled in however if you would like to visit our beautiful city there are buses running from the bottom of our drive with a 10-15 minute journey.

Quality accommodation at affordable prices!

Please note we operate a bar and event rooms playing music, we hope that this does not cause any disturbance and we always aim to have this turned off by midnight. Please note we do not have lift facilities in the hotel, all rooms are accessible via stairs onto the first & second floors, this excludes our ground floor luxury lodges.
Picture of The Oaklands Hotel, Norwich at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 66 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unfortunate
It was unfortunate I arrived the day before the new bar was opening a it was quite messy and the work went on till quite late. The room was very nice and comfortable, I did request a ground floor but as there were not any rooms on the ground floor I had to go to the first floor as there was no lift, this did cause me a little discomfort it would have been nice to be asked if someone could carry my bag up but not too important. Overall nice.

Reviewed by
Louise Singleton

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and value for money but they really need to get new cleaning team. It was looking very tired and it was clearly a long time since the place had been cleaned properly.

Reviewed by
W Jones

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great
The room was a single room and the size was fine and what was expected, however it was very dirty and needed painting and carpet thread bare. Sinks disgusting, shower dirty, toilet paper in the toilet and dirty cups. The other single room booked at the same time had poo as a present left in the toilet along with being dirty as well. We did complain and got new cups and the toilet cleaned and money off the stay. This is my 4th time staying here and other times have been good so was disappointed this time around especially as I had previously recommended it.

Reviewed by
e jackson

From Holt, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful final room
The original room we were given hadnt been cleaned. We then asked to change and we were given a tiny room. We then asked where is the room we paid for and we ended up in a 3rd room which was not acceptable as the 1st room was a much better room than the last 2!!! To top it off when we checked out we went to our car and found it had been keyed!!! Reception were very uncaring and didnt help at all

Reviewed by
adie brinded

From Attleborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly Surprised
Checked in early which was a bonus as I arrived an hour earlier than anticipated.
Comfortable single room, very quiet, slept like a log.
Excellent, tasty, buffet-style breakfast.
Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night
Room comfortable and clean. Bathroom tired and smelt as if people had been smoking in there, needed to be freshener up. Noisy heating system sounded like a ship.

Reviewed by
S Dawe

From Westbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean hotel at a very affordable rate

Reviewed by
penny p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shower was a bit grubby and so was the rug in the lounge, large suite with balcony. all round good value and would return

Reviewed by
j daniels

From Holt, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wedding
We arrived 15 minutes before our booking in time and were greeted in a friendly and efficient manor. The room was very comfortable with regards to a beautiful 4 poster bed and jaccuzi bath. Very clean too. Sadly the room was extremely hot with no air conditioning or availability of a fan and therefore we had a very uncomfortable night trying to sleep. However, we attended our friends wedding at the hotel which was beautifully catered for. The service was second to none and we all had a fantastic time. We were very impressed with all aspects of the booking from late rooms to staying at the Oakland's Hotel.

Reviewed by
B Davies

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay for a wedding
Efficient check in, room on second floor, had fan which was a bonus , as it was really hot ! Very clean, great shower, most importantly the bed was very comfortable !!! Staff very polite and accommodating, can't fault our stay there.

Reviewed by
sherree dixon-wood

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next