You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel


89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich, NR7 0HH

Price From 86.76 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (30)

53% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • neil l

  • September 2016

Two night stay

You know you are in for trouble, when while checking in you over hear the receptionist joking about the lack of sleep guests will have over the weekend due to the weddings taking place.

How right she was!!!. Apart from the noise and the Wifi having issues for the second week running, the stay was fine and good value for money. My only wish is that somebody could have pre-warned me about the weddings and I could have made my own choice about staying during such a busy period.


  • September 2016

Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel


We had to do a late booking but were very pleased to find we had booked a suite. It was very nice to unwind after a very busy day. It was very clean and attractive.The only problem we encountered was on the Saturday night they had a wedding party in the hotel and the small car park was overflowing.

  • neil l

  • August 2016

Stay on 26th August

The staff was very friendly and welcoming and the room was fine for the price I paid.

The two let downs were the Wifi which had very poor reception and breakfast which had been standing to long in the warming trays. This was more than likely caused by the lack of people when I came down for breakfast around 7.45. Next time use your eyes and only put out minimal amounts of food until breakfast picks up.

  • K Ward

  • August 2016

Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

We were allocated room no 34, I appreciate that this room was a budget room but it was awful so hot but unfortunately as we were above the kitchen we couldn't open the windows for the smell of food which in a room you are trying to get ready in and sleep in is awful.

The hotel was very busy with s wedding etc so not many staff on hand at reception as we encountered when we had trouble parking. The apparent manager had to text or call someone to see if a cone could be removed. On this experience we wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Gary Collings

  • May 2016

The Oaklands Hotel

This was my first stay at Oaklands upon my arrival I noticed wedding guests, dressed in shorts and looking out of place but as I was in Norfolk I was greeted with a warm welcome mixing with guests in the bar.

My room was more than I had hoped for the price. The staff were very friendly, attentive and the along with the owner made my stay very enjoyable.I visit Norfolk about every 6 weeks to see family and although Oaklands was further away I would certainly recommend it to other people looking to stay in the area, i know i certainly will.

  • s drewe

  • May 2016

Read the small print

Should have read the disclaimer saying it would be noisy.

this was an understatement. Could have got it £35 cheaper had I booked elsewhere. lesson learnt.

  • S Collins

  • May 2016

Single Room Oaklands Hotel

Was very happy with my single room, mine actually had a 3/4 size bed, very comfortable.

Nice bathroom with a shower and a bath. The room had a closet with plenty of hanging space and a small safe. I was hoping for a DVD player but perhaps they were not provided in all rooms. I really enjoyed my two night stay.

  • Nicky S

  • May 2016

The Oaklands Hotel

Staff friendly and helpful but noisy room next to stairs and door to corridor was woken at 5.30 by the noise.

  • Wendy M

  • April 2016

Good for a 1 night stay

Although we were only there for one night, it was very convenient as we were at a wedding there.

I would not choose to stay any longer unfortunately we were right above the reception and all I heard was people coming and going. Although not the hotel,s fault . It was inconsiderate people returning from a night out, and was still awake at 4.15AM due to loud guests. Also maybe the hotel should consider cleaning window frames, as I don't think they have been cleaned for months.

  • Tim K

  • April 2016

Avoid staying at this hotel, though the food isn't bad.

Not a good experience, aside from OK food and enthusiastic if inexperienced waiting staff.

When I arrived to check-in yesterday evening, the girl behind the desk ignored me, studiously, for a full minute as she filled in some forms - a simple "Hello, won't keep you a minute" would have been a more pleasant welcome. I wanted to get an early night, but over and above the shouting and laughing of guests between 11pm and 11.30pm as the bar shut (is it not possible to ask bar guests to respect residents as they leave), there was loud banging from downstairs until well after midnight - it sounded as though large items of furniture were being thrown from one room to another, which made it impossible to sleep. At just before 6am this morning, the clock radio alarm next to my bed went off - very loudly. Surely this should be turned off as a default. Immediately following this, a steady flow of delivery lorries arrived, with men shouting and slamming doors right underneath my window - so it was impossible to get back to sleep. (Moreover, and because of the noise, I had had to keep the windows shut all night, which made the room uncomfortably hot.)

So I got up to have a shower - which was just above cold, no matter how long I ran the water, so instead I ran a bath - and when I sat down, noticed a long curly hair on the tile next to my head - I've got a photo of it if you want to see it yourselves. So I promptly left without bothering with the included breakfast, pretty disgusted - and very tired.