You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

3

89 Yarmouth Road, Norwich, NR7 0HH

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (28)

50% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • K Ward

  • August 2016

Best Western Plus Oaklands Hotel

We were allocated room no 34, I appreciate that this room was a budget room but it was awful so hot but unfortunately as we were above the kitchen we couldn't open the windows for the smell of food which in a room you are trying to get ready in and sleep in is awful.

The hotel was very busy with s wedding etc so not many staff on hand at reception as we encountered when we had trouble parking. The apparent manager had to text or call someone to see if a cone could be removed. On this experience we wouldn't recommend this hotel.

  • Gary Collings

  • May 2016

The Oaklands Hotel

This was my first stay at Oaklands upon my arrival I noticed wedding guests, dressed in shorts and looking out of place but as I was in Norfolk I was greeted with a warm welcome mixing with guests in the bar.

My room was more than I had hoped for the price. The staff were very friendly, attentive and the along with the owner made my stay very enjoyable.I visit Norfolk about every 6 weeks to see family and although Oaklands was further away I would certainly recommend it to other people looking to stay in the area, i know i certainly will.

  • s drewe

  • May 2016

Read the small print

Should have read the disclaimer saying it would be noisy.

this was an understatement. Could have got it £35 cheaper had I booked elsewhere. lesson learnt.

  • S Collins

  • May 2016

Single Room Oaklands Hotel

Was very happy with my single room, mine actually had a 3/4 size bed, very comfortable.

Nice bathroom with a shower and a bath. The room had a closet with plenty of hanging space and a small safe. I was hoping for a DVD player but perhaps they were not provided in all rooms. I really enjoyed my two night stay.

  • Nicky S

  • May 2016

The Oaklands Hotel

Staff friendly and helpful but noisy room next to stairs and door to corridor was woken at 5.30 by the noise.

  • Wendy M

  • April 2016

Good for a 1 night stay

Although we were only there for one night, it was very convenient as we were at a wedding there.

I would not choose to stay any longer unfortunately we were right above the reception and all I heard was people coming and going. Although not the hotel,s fault . It was inconsiderate people returning from a night out, and was still awake at 4.15AM due to loud guests. Also maybe the hotel should consider cleaning window frames, as I don't think they have been cleaned for months.

  • Tim K

  • April 2016

Avoid staying at this hotel, though the food isn't bad.

Not a good experience, aside from OK food and enthusiastic if inexperienced waiting staff.

When I arrived to check-in yesterday evening, the girl behind the desk ignored me, studiously, for a full minute as she filled in some forms - a simple "Hello, won't keep you a minute" would have been a more pleasant welcome. I wanted to get an early night, but over and above the shouting and laughing of guests between 11pm and 11.30pm as the bar shut (is it not possible to ask bar guests to respect residents as they leave), there was loud banging from downstairs until well after midnight - it sounded as though large items of furniture were being thrown from one room to another, which made it impossible to sleep. At just before 6am this morning, the clock radio alarm next to my bed went off - very loudly. Surely this should be turned off as a default. Immediately following this, a steady flow of delivery lorries arrived, with men shouting and slamming doors right underneath my window - so it was impossible to get back to sleep. (Moreover, and because of the noise, I had had to keep the windows shut all night, which made the room uncomfortably hot.)

So I got up to have a shower - which was just above cold, no matter how long I ran the water, so instead I ran a bath - and when I sat down, noticed a long curly hair on the tile next to my head - I've got a photo of it if you want to see it yourselves. So I promptly left without bothering with the included breakfast, pretty disgusted - and very tired.

  • Philip Jones

  • April 2016

Oaklands hotel Norwich

A very nice hotel, very friendly staff, and for me most important, a good bus service.

  • nigel m

  • March 2016

Stayed in the 'Lodges'

Arrived and the room heated by underfloor heating was 26deg.

There was no aircon to cool it down and noisy with windows open. Anyone with underfloor heating will know there is no quick cooling and this somewhat spoit our stay. Couple this with the fact that some genius had put a massive floodlight outside the bedroom window and the curtains were as thin as paper and that didnt help either. Not worth upgrading. No fridge in room. No tv in bedroom. Food and staff were great as usual and bar area has been nicely refurbished.

  • S Wilson

  • February 2016

Lovely hotel

My wife and had a rare child free night away in Norwich.

She searched and researched a good deal for us which was The Oaklands Hotel. We had a fantastic time. The staff were delightful, food was excellent and room was like a show home. Given the opportunity, we would stay here again, at the drop of a hat.