No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE RACECOURSE,NEW CRANE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2LY
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds. Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre , putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Wake up to our complimentary breakfast with Hot Offering of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as well as selected pastries, cereals, toast, yogurts and fresh fruit. Enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas. The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park , and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms . Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre .

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse , making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside . Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions . You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 146 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rude staff
When I was checking out, the staff (boy & girl) were very rude I realise they were busy but totally got I blanked by boy the when I asked if I owed any money towards my bill. He left me standing there for a while then he rolled his eyes then just said to another customer "yes" and left me standing there like a lemon.
Not a nice feeling.
Just before that a resident said to the girl can I check out although she was dealing with another customer she said abruptly "see him" nodding towards her colleague.
The maid knocked at 9:00am and then shortly after her boss knocked on the door saying to my girlfriend we had to be out for 10am. My girlfriend said @ we weren't aware of this" and the maids boss said "we left a note on your bed" we were not aware of this but we were ushered out anyway.
Although we had a great day at the races the hotel staff really spoilt our trip.

Reviewed by
P Yates

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I mentioned when I was booking that it was our anniversary, and when we arrived there was a complimentary bottle of wine in the room which I thought was a lovely touch.

Reviewed by
Linda H

From Prestatyn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

happy
Good value for money

ManagementResponse

Dear Michael W. Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. It's great to hear your positive feedback about your stay with us. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Lera, IHG Care

Reviewed by
michael w

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester Racecourse

Reviewed by
J Shilliam

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect
We use holiday inn chester racecourse everytime due to location just 5 mins from town centre customer service is spot on buffet breakfast is always hot and fresh with plenty of choice cereals yoghurts danish pastrys . Rooms are very clean the hotel was full when we last went but noise was minimal we will be staying here again chester is beautiful

Reviewed by
l mcmanus

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful and pleasant staff. Clean room with extra bedding and towels. Good choice for breakfast. Will stay there again

Reviewed by
Joanne W

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
Asked for quiet and was told on arrival that a quiet room was being prepared, room 228 had adjoining door to next room and sound proofing was zero !!! We could hear all that was said by three seperate occupants of the room next to us, so quiet it was not, very doisapointed with accomodation, hotel very good location.

ManagementResponse

Dear John R, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that our location was suitable for your needs and apologize for the inconvenience the noise issues you have encountered may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Krysllin, IHG Care

Reviewed by
john r

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel close to centre

Reviewed by
b ward

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday break
Excellent position for Chester centre. Just a short walk away.
Room clean and comfortable.Plus parking. so no messing about.
My only crittisism is breakfast could be better.
How ever I would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Reviewed by
Anthony G

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city hotel!
I wanted a hotel close to the city for a staff night out. This was perfect. The reception staff were all pleasent, free wifi, bar open until 2am. If you're going to the races this is the only hotel you need to loo at

Reviewed by
M Wheat

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next