Reviews - Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE


The Racecourse,New Crane Street, Chester, CH1 2LY

Price From 203.23 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (93)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • J Boardman

  • September 2015

Short break at holiday express inn chester race corse

Friendly staff, comfortable room, breakfast could be better.

Good location.

  • c gilman

  • September 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE

Enjoyable stay but unfortunately we were woken up 2 nights by noisy guests shouting and banging on doors.

  • Jacqueline W

  • September 2015

Convenient Location

We found the Holiday Inn to be in a very convenient location just outside the City walls at the Racecourse, easy to walk into town but equally easy to park.

  • Robert Symes

  • August 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE

Excellent value, ideal to explore Chester

  • Ruth B

  • August 2015

Overall a very pleasant stay

Very happy with the staff, room and location of the hotel.

Would have liked more choice on the cooked breakfast and they had run out of knives, but apart from that, very happy!. Thank you!!

  • Ronald P

  • August 2015

Very good value for money!

In my opinion this is not the type of hotel for more than a two night stay.

Whilst our room was very well laid out, it was small and not well sound-proofed, made worse by the adjoining door, presumably to covert the room into larger accommodation for families, as needed. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Overall, we thought our stay was very good value, particularly as there was the option of a cooked breakfast (limited choice) and car parking was free - a bonus on city breaks.

  • E Want

  • July 2015

Short stay with friends

The room was nice and good value for money.

However it was very warm in the hotel and the room. The noise from the road was very disturbing, especially when the window was open.

  • Jonathan P

  • July 2015


Perfect location and ideal parking spaces.

Rooms were very hot, no air conditioning system.

  • Laura F

  • July 2015

Not value for money!

Stayed here because it was keep and we were only staying in Chester for one night following a family event.

Check in was quick and easy and the receptionist was polite if a little OTT smiley/friendly. Got up to the room and it was a twin not a double like we wanted. Went down to reception and asked if there was any double rooms we could move to and got told no (even though we didn't see more than 15 people the whole time we were there so they weren't full). Went back to the room, the bathroom was dirty and the window was broken so it only opened about 1cm. The room also had a door joining onto the next room and we could literally here every word they were saying and every argument they had all night. Again asked to be moved due to noise, again was told that if "wasn't possible". No explanation or apology, just no. We hardly slept because of the noisy neighbours and the road noise if the window was open. But if the window was closed the room was far too hot. Worst nights sleep ever. Couldn't wait to leave. This breakfast the following morning was ok. The receptionist when we tried to check out just ignored us for ages, there was a queue forming behind us and she still ignored us for another 5 minutes. It's a cheap hotel so I wasn't expecting much but rude staff, dirty rooms and paper thin walls was not what I expected. I won't be staying here again.

  • D Murphy

  • June 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE

Recent stay.