No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE RACECOURSE,NEW CRANE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2LY
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds. Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre , putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Wake up to our complimentary breakfast with Hot Offering of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as well as selected pastries, cereals, toast, yogurts and fresh fruit. Enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas. The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park , and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms . Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre .

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse , making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside . Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions . You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 138 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stag Do
Excellent hotel, within the grounds of the chester racecourse, accessible for the centre of Chester for a brilliant night out with the lads, the complimentary breakfast was spot on in the morning

Reviewed by
E Martindale

From Stoke on Trent, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap and cheerful
Hotel is fine for a budget hotel. Plenty of parking and wifi etc. Be warned that the hotel is built on a main road and is incredibly noisy at night with traffic passing, especially if the bedroom window is open.

ManagementResponse

Dear Michael Prince, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are happy you like our internet and parking service. We are sincerely sorry that your guest experience was less than satisfactory due to the level of noise experienced. We have shared your comments with our managers so that we can improve our handling of this type of situation in the future. Once again, we apologize for your stay and we hope that you will give us another try on your next trip to the area. Sincerely, Zelyn, IHG Care

Reviewed by
michael prince

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
No bacon provided for breakfast. Not a major problem but unusual.

Reviewed by
B Carey

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good

Reviewed by
S Fraser

From Larbert, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor breakfast and noisy neighbours
Disturbed at 4-5am by hotel guests on our floor, no bacon at breakfast and no one checked that we were hotel residents at breakfast.

ManagementResponse

Dear Lee W, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are deeply sorry for the experience you had with the noise. We understand the discomfort this has caused you. We also apologize you were not well satisfied with our breakfast selections. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely,Anthony IHGCare

Reviewed by
Lee W

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a great location very central

ManagementResponse

Dear James F, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon. Sincerely, Janice, IHG Care

Reviewed by
James F

From Malvern, England
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good city break hotel

ManagementResponse

Dear Dianne W, We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. Sincerely, Orlando IHGCare

Reviewed by
Dianne W

From Thirsk, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service
Very helpful staff

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Corwen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth the money
I am on a wheat free diet and it would be useful for the food to be labelled as gluten or wheatfree or not.

ManagementResponse

Dear S Akker, Thank you for staying with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We sincerely apologize for the problems you encountered with the food that was served. We will review for possible modifications so to better accommodate our guest in the future. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future. Sincerely, Zelyn IHGCare

Reviewed by
S Akker

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location
Perfect location for visiting Chester

Reviewed by
M Littler

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.