No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE RACECOURSE,NEW CRANE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2LY
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds. Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre , putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Wake up to our complimentary breakfast with Hot Offering of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as well as selected pastries, cereals, toast, yogurts and fresh fruit. Enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas. The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park , and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms . Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre .

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse , making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside . Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions . You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 147 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place to stay finished off good few days
After travelling from aberystwyth for a graduation day the holiday inn was a perfect finish to that break, staff were very friendly and helpful hotel was very good value and comfortable for the 4 of us and CChester was brilliant

Reviewed by
Colin Kingstone

From eastleigh, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Due to the heat in the room (no air con) we had to
Have the window open. As the room was located
On the roadside of the hotel, the noise from the
Road and from guests sitting on the terrace was
Really loud. Did suffer from lack of sleep. I would
stay here again but would insist on a room racecourse side.

ManagementResponse

Dear A Hobson, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the air conditioning issue you experienced. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. Sincerely, Ferdinand, IHG Care

Reviewed by
A Hobson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convent hotel clean and tidy staff friendly and helpful thank you

Reviewed by
Z Williams

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location location location
Perfect location for 5 min walk into chester, room spotless, everything you wanted, only down side was breakfast, bit chaotic, long queues for food and kept waiting while they re filled as they constantly ran out.

Reviewed by
Allyson C

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great nights stay
Lovely welcome at reception from the Duty Manager (lovely lady, didn't get her name but said she was 6 months pregnant), a real asset to the organisation. Let us check in early which was really helpful. Room was small but spotlessly clean. Great towels & plenty of hot water. Fab breakfast, self service with good selection of hot and cold. Excellent location for Chester - 5 minutes walk. Free parking. Had great curry from Step into India in Chester centre. Highly recommend hotel, especially for £49 for two including breakfast.

Reviewed by
Bev R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

too hot to sleep
Nice clean room but needed air conditioning too hot for a good night's sleep I'm glad I only stayed one night as other guests said it was hotter on previous other nights

Reviewed by
Dominic F

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value for money
ideal position for exploring Chester on foot and easy to find by road as racecourse is well signposted.Staff anxcious to help and very friendly. adequate breakfast with reasonable choice. Our journey only required one night stay but would be quite happy to stay for a longer period.

Reviewed by
roy lount

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Racecourse relaxation
Comfortable surroundings and helpful staff made for a very relaxing break.

Reviewed by
Jeffrey Jones

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice city break hotel
Stayed for 1 night to celebrate my birthday ,free parking and a low price room so didnt have high expectations but was wrong,
friendly staff, comfortable room,only a few minutes walk from city center and a bar that was open until 02:00am what more do you need ,would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
R Lamb

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I've stayed in better for half the price
I was disappointed with the quality of service. The receptionist was quite surly in attitude. On speaking to others in the party I discovered that I was paying more than them. It stated that there would be a FULL English breakfast available but all there was on the cooked breakfast was sausage, something that was supposed to resemble scrambled egg and beans but no bacon or mushrooms. The fruit juice was water with a little orange juice(which was changed) . There was cereal and fruit and other continental breakfast items.
I have stayed in far better for the money and I will not be staying at this hotel again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Jayne R, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay with us. I apologize for the services that you have received which is not up to your par. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about breakfast has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. Sincerely, Janice, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Jayne R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.