No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE RACECOURSE,NEW CRANE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2LY
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds. Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre , putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Wake up to our complimentary breakfast with Hot Offering of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as well as selected pastries, cereals, toast, yogurts and fresh fruit. Enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas. The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park , and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms . Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre .

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse , making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside . Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions . You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 138 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Racing Certainty
Couldn't have booked better accommodation. Good view of the racecourse only it wasn't a race day! Great to have parking on site. Loved the buffet breakfast.
Slight niggle - the road outside very busy so it was noisy in the night. Possible triple glazing may solve this.

Reviewed by
Michael Nutter

From Nelson, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location and overall value money
Would definatly recommend this hotel in fact we have already spread the word and our friends and family are going to try it out soon we will be back without any doubt, thankyou to all at holiday inn genuinely.

Reviewed by
Robbie S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
This hotel is situated only 5 minutes walk from town centre so is very convenient. We found the staff very helpful and polite. We had double rooms for single occupancy which were good value. Only breakfast served which is a help-yourself buffet menu but more than adequate. Very happy to recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Claire L

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not worth the money
The rooms and hall ways where shabby and run down with ill fitting doors and wood work chipped, we had to fix the curtains in the room. The breakfast the following morning was not very nice either and the staffs uniform was dirty.

Reviewed by
b dernley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked the room as I was running the chester marathon the next day, had a great nights sleep, comfy bed, exactly what I needed before 26.2 miles. Staff where friendly and pleasant, would defiantly stay again

ManagementResponse

Dear A Smith, Thank you for your comments regarding your experience with us. We are happy to see that you found our staff service commendable. Our goal is to make your stay the best it can be and it looks like we accomplished our goal. We hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Zelyn IHGCare

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Wallasey, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Quality of hotel superb and breakfast was fantastic value, great location. Wifi under repair during our stay was the only minor issue.

Reviewed by
Norman M

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The usual
Ok, so I am a Gold Card Holder with Holiday Inn Express, so I know what to expect. Chester was really no different to all the other HIE's I've stayed in over the years. If you are not a regular, you will find a reasonably sized room with a decent bathroom. The beer will be overpriced. It will be hot and dry, you will dehydrate during the night. I went through a litre of water in the night. The breakfast is a contenental buffet with some sausage and scrambled egg thrown in. Its functional. In fact the whole place is functional. Though this one has a decent view of Chester Racecourse.

ManagementResponse

Dear K Fairless, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
K Fairless

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and facilities for a low cost hotel
We thought this hotel was really good value & well positioned. Only 2 minutes walk to the city walls and a free car park. A basic, but free breakfast is included and there was plenty to set you up for the day.
The rooms were reasonably comfortable. The first night we had a room with an interconnecting door which we found too noisy and I asked to move rooms the next morning which the reception staff readily agreed to. We didn't need to stay in to move our things as the hotel staff did that for us. They also arranged for us to have a new mattress as the one on our first bed was terrible. So, although we had a few things to complain about, the fact that they were dealt with so well meant that we were still very happy with our stay and would still recommend the hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Graham T

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accomodation but breakfast was a bit of a let down .
breakfast was a bit of a let down on the hot food Side .Scrambled Egg ,beans, Sausage.
Foer a nice hotel thought they could have done better .

Reviewed by
P Rae

From Biggar, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
We stayed in Chester H.I,E, reception staff very pleasent and polite, courtesy beverages on the house was a nice touch, with just 6 min walk to city centre, free on site parking, deffo a winner with us.

Reviewed by
Tracey T

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next