No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE RACECOURSE,NEW CRANE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2LY
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds. Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre , putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Wake up to our complimentary breakfast with Hot Offering of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as well as selected pastries, cereals, toast, yogurts and fresh fruit. Enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas. The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park , and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms . Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre .

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse , making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside . Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions . You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 140 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Quality of hotel superb and breakfast was fantastic value, great location. Wifi under repair during our stay was the only minor issue.

Reviewed by
Norman M

From Bangor, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The usual
Ok, so I am a Gold Card Holder with Holiday Inn Express, so I know what to expect. Chester was really no different to all the other HIE's I've stayed in over the years. If you are not a regular, you will find a reasonably sized room with a decent bathroom. The beer will be overpriced. It will be hot and dry, you will dehydrate during the night. I went through a litre of water in the night. The breakfast is a contenental buffet with some sausage and scrambled egg thrown in. Its functional. In fact the whole place is functional. Though this one has a decent view of Chester Racecourse.

ManagementResponse

Dear K Fairless, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit. Sincerely, Anthony, IHG Care

Reviewed by
K Fairless

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and facilities for a low cost hotel
We thought this hotel was really good value & well positioned. Only 2 minutes walk to the city walls and a free car park. A basic, but free breakfast is included and there was plenty to set you up for the day.
The rooms were reasonably comfortable. The first night we had a room with an interconnecting door which we found too noisy and I asked to move rooms the next morning which the reception staff readily agreed to. We didn't need to stay in to move our things as the hotel staff did that for us. They also arranged for us to have a new mattress as the one on our first bed was terrible. So, although we had a few things to complain about, the fact that they were dealt with so well meant that we were still very happy with our stay and would still recommend the hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Graham T

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accomodation but breakfast was a bit of a let down .
breakfast was a bit of a let down on the hot food Side .Scrambled Egg ,beans, Sausage.
Foer a nice hotel thought they could have done better .

Reviewed by
P Rae

From Biggar, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
We stayed in Chester H.I,E, reception staff very pleasent and polite, courtesy beverages on the house was a nice touch, with just 6 min walk to city centre, free on site parking, deffo a winner with us.

Reviewed by
Tracey T

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location reception staff very good and helpful

Reviewed by
Jennifer M

From Atherstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Road noise.
The only issue was the traffic noise, we questioned wether the windows were closed. However the room was fine, the breakfast excellent and we would certainly use this hotel again.

ManagementResponse

Dear G Roberts, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed the breakfast. Please accept our apologies for the challenges you experienced regarding the road noise. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Connie, IHG Care

Reviewed by
G Roberts

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

mid-week one night stay
Good hotel very close to centre of Chester (3 mins walk), clean and friendly service. Lift appeared slow, but was only on 3rd floor, so stairs not too bad.
Top marks to reception staff who allowed me to check in before the due time of 2pm, to accommodate my other engagements in Chester. There was rumoured to be free car parking for 600 cars at the side of the racecourse, but it was virtually full, and wasn't even a race day!

Reviewed by
James M

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester visit
I found the downstairs room a little noisy due to the busy road. The room next door was occupied by racegoers who were very noisy, I was on buisiness and found it difficult to sleep with the noise.

Reviewed by
Kathryn W

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location
Third time we have been to Chester but the best with this lovely hotel in a great location .5 minute walk from the centre , just far enough away from the bars and restaurants and for the ladies the shops . Excellant friendly service by all the staff .We cant wait to come again. Hopefully we will come on a race day and try and get a package deal at the hotel

Reviewed by
paul d

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next