Reviews - Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE


The Racecourse,New Crane Street, Chester, CH1 2LY

Price From 177.73 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (80)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Joanna M

  • August 2014

Chester stay

  • A Peters

  • August 2014

Great value when races are over.

Holiday Inn Express at Chester racecourse is a great, central location for visiting Chester.

It is often fully booked or relatively expensive for an Express but is superb value if you can catch an offer at a quiet time. The rooms are spacious and well designed. The breakfast area has been refurbished since our last visit and offers a good range of freshly prepared and frequently replenished choices.

  • J Platt

  • August 2014

Overnight Stay

This is the second time we have stayed here and it is convenient for the town centre without being in the middle of all the bars and comes with free parking.

Breakfast served from 6.30 until 10.30 at weekend which is ideal, although the food was basic and not very hot. The staff are very friendly and helpful

  • C B

  • August 2014

Helpful staff

On arrival we realised our room faced the road and railway and that there was a lot of traffic noise, my hubbie went to ask if there was a room facing the back we could move to.

He was told there wasn't but that we could prob move next day for our 2nd night. In the morning the reception desk was very busy so we decided not to bother and went out for the day. On return we found the staff had moved us to a room facing the racecourse and had even moved all our luggage etc. the reception staff were so helpfull and happy smiley people, lovely. Thank you

  • P Yates

  • June 2014

Rude staff

When I was checking out, the staff (boy & girl) were very rude I realise they were busy but totally got I blanked by boy the when I asked if I owed any money towards my bill.

He left me standing there for a while then he rolled his eyes then just said to another customer "yes" and left me standing there like a lemon. Not a nice feeling. Just before that a resident said to the girl can I check out although she was dealing with another customer she said abruptly "see him" nodding towards her colleague.

The maid knocked at 9:00am and then shortly after her boss knocked on the door saying to my girlfriend we had to be out for 10am. My girlfriend said @ we weren't aware of this" and the maids boss said "we left a note on your bed" we were not aware of this but we were ushered out anyway.

Although we had a great day at the races the hotel staff really spoilt our trip.

  • Linda H

  • June 2014

I mentioned when I was booking that it was our anniversary, and when we arrived there was a complimentary bottle of wine in the room which I thought was a lovely touch.

  • michael w

  • June 2014


Good value for money

  • J Shilliam

  • June 2014

Chester Racecourse

  • l mcmanus

  • May 2014


We use holiday inn chester racecourse everytime due to location just 5 mins from town centre customer service is spot on buffet breakfast is always hot and fresh with plenty of choice cereals yoghurts danish pastrys .

Rooms are very clean the hotel was full when we last went but noise was minimal we will be staying here again chester is beautiful

  • Joanne W

  • May 2014

Helpful and pleasant staff.

Clean room with extra bedding and towels. Good choice for breakfast. Will stay there again