Reviews - Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE


The Racecourse,New Crane Street, Chester, CH1 2LY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (81)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • K Dulson

  • December 2014

Good but expensive

The hotel was clean and nice, the customer service fine but the price seemed so very high for accommodation that was 'fine'.

No complaints at all and if the price had been £50 cheaper no doubt I would be singing its praises. So yes I would recommend the Holiday Inn to others - I would just tell them to make sure they book early and get a good deal!

  • David Wright

  • December 2014

Chester experience

Excellent service and accommodation.

Staff were very helpful. The Hotel is in a prime location, only a ten minute walk from the city centre. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Lewis L

  • December 2014


Extremely clean room, I was there for 2 nights, they changes my bed and made it again, extremely friendly staff and go above and beyond to ensure the stay is comfortable.

  • J Molloy

  • November 2014

Ideal for Chester shopping and leisure

Could not ask for more for the price

  • J Lewis

  • November 2014

Fantastic View

Booked at the Holiday Inn as we were going to a ball at the racecourse.

Check in was very efficient and the staff member on the desk was very helpful. We were in a newly refurbished room so all the fittings were of a high standard with well designed cupboards and facilities. The room overlooked the racecourse with an excellent view of the Christmas fair. Breakfast on Sunday morning was very busy and we struggled to find somewhere to sit. There is a recommendation to avoid taking breakfast at the peak times between 9 and 10am and this would be good advice to take. Breakfast was plentiful and decent quality. A very convenient and pleasant stay.

  • P Keegan

  • November 2014

Excellent stay every time x

  • Jessica F

  • October 2014

Great location, clean rooms, fab free parking, would defo stay again

  • Kevin P

  • October 2014

wonderful stay

We had a lovely stay here.

The room was very comfortable with a realy nice ensuite shower room. We overlooked the racecourse so it was quiet. All the staff including managers, cleaners, kitchen staff were so friendly. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and had a relaxed feel. It is only a five to ten minute walk I to the centre of Chester depending on pace and we liked the fact that we could park at the hotel. We would have no hesitation about staying there again and in fact plan to do so in a month or so. If you want a hotel with whistles and bells and a price to match, perhaps this isnt the place for you, but if you want a nice relaxing comfortable informal and friendly place to stay with a competative price, then this is the one.

  • paul wright

  • September 2014

Aniversary break

This hotel as ideal for our needs five mins from town lovely and clean

Breakfast though not full English was plentifull with coffee on tap all day

We will be returning for the races next year as the hotel is on the race course

Grounds I must not forget the great friendly staff give it a try it won't disappoint

  • p smith

  • September 2014

p Smith

Was very nice hotel very good next to race course