No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE RACECOURSE,NEW CRANE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2LY
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds. Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre , putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Wake up to our complimentary breakfast with Hot Offering of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as well as selected pastries, cereals, toast, yogurts and fresh fruit. Enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas. The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park , and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms . Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre .

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse , making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside . Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions . You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 138 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and inexpensive hotel with good customer service. Issues raised with staff at check-out prompted a promise of a better grade of room next time eg, broken kettle, wi-fi not working and extremely soft mattress on the bed.

ManagementResponse

Dear Catherine, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Racecourse. I'm pleased to read you had an enjoyable time with us. Please accept my apologies for the wifi being down, we have recently changed our suppliers which may of been the issue when you stayed - I can assure you all wifi is up and running now. Thank you for your overall score of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Steven, Operations Managers

Reviewed by
Catherine B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, spotless room, great location
Checkin smooth and efficient, polite and helpful staff. Room good, TV actually worked. Front of house at breakfast cheerfull and efficient. Nice scrambled eggs!

Reviewed by
Steve B

From Stoke on Trent, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Christmas stay
Compliments to all at this hotel for making our stay over Christmas a very good one, cannot find fault with any part of my stay there

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr Ward, Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Racecourse over the Christmas period. I'm delighted to read you had an enjoyable time with us and thank you for all your kind comments. It's always nice to read! Thank you for your over score of 5 stars and we hope to see you back again this Christmas time (I'm sure it will be here before we know it) or in the near future. Kind regards, Steven, Operations Manager

Reviewed by
Brian Ward

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The great over night stay
Value for money and a great breakfast to boot.

Reviewed by
M Scoles

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK for one night
We were just staying for one night and got the room at a reduced rate. It was ok for the price we paid but would have been disappointed if we'd paid full price. The room was small, but ok for 1 night. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast wasn't great, poor selection of hot food - only sausage, beans and scrambled eggs. Free parking was a bonus in Chester.

ManagementResponse

Dear Sian S, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you found our staff very friendly. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with your experience with your room accommodation and the breakfast. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon. Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
SIAN S

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great few days
We were celebrating friends birthday great hotel and close to everything .

Reviewed by
Linda O

From Church Stretton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly suited our needs
I booked a twin room for me and my daughter as we were up to see the Christmas Fair. It turned out to be a double room but the sofa bed was also made up so that was fine. The room wasn't huge but didn't need to be, the room and bathroom were warm, beds comfortable, shower easy to manipulate, bath towels big enough to go around me (and I'm big!) and the Freeview TV worked fine. We had a view over the racecourse and the parking was really convenient next to the hotel. Good place to stay for a couple of days.

ManagementResponse

Dear Glynys Honor, Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We are pleased to know we were able to meet your expectations during your stay. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
Glynys Honor

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GREAT LOCATION, GREAT PRICE & FREE PARKING
This hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk form the city centre and has the luxury of free car parking throughout your stay. The rooms are basic, but clean. The power shower was fab. Breakfast was good with a wide range of hot and cold food. Staff are firnedly and helpful, I think it would be hard to complain about this hotel when the price is so reasonable. Would stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
J WALSH

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday inn express!.. As basic as can be!
Room as basic as can be, breakfast poor however location great!..
It serves a purpose, would be fine for a couple of days business trip, any longer would be a drag!

ManagementResponse

Dear G Small, Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is great to hear you found out location great. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it is regrettable you were not fully satisfied with your room and the breakfast you had. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. We value your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon. Once again many thanks for your review and have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Karen, IHG Care

Reviewed by
g small

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap
My wife and I stayed here as we were attending a party at the race course. The check in process was ok, nothing special but wasn't a problem either. The room looked tired, cheaply decorated with a weird toilet shower arrangement. The room was cheap and not very pleasant. Won't we rushing back in a hurray

Reviewed by
Nick A

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next