No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE RACECOURSE,NEW CRANE STREET , CHESTER, CH1 2LY
Combine good value with a great location at Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse, the only hotel within the racecourse's grounds. Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is just 5 minutes from Chester's historic city centre , putting quaint cobbled streets and an array of shops and restaurants within walking distance.

Wake up to our complimentary breakfast with Hot Offering of scrambled egg, sausage and baked beans, as well as selected pastries, cereals, toast, yogurts and fresh fruit. Enjoy discounts on dinner at the racecourse's smart Restaurant 1539. You'll also benefit from complimentary onsite parking and complimentary wireless Internet in the hotel's public areas. The Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse is a completely non smoking hotel.

We're a 5-minute drive from major companies in Chester Business Park , and 15 minutes from Deeside Industrial Park. You can hold training days for up to 25 people in Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's 2 meeting rooms . Feel free to plan your presentation in our 24-hour self-service Business Centre .

We're the closest hotel to Chester Racecourse , making us an ideal choice for your day at the races. Soak up Chester's rich history with a stroll down picturesque Watergate Street where grand Georgian buildings nestle alongside fine antique shops. Explore the city's Roman walls to enjoy views over the Cheshire countryside . Ask our friendly staff about Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse's packages for discounted entry to local attractions . You can meet and mingle with friends at our bar at the end of a day's sightseeing.
Picture of Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse, CHESTER at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 145 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As good as you expect from a HIE!
Yes, HIE are corporate hotels, but they're amongst the best. You always pretty much know what to expect...and Chester is no different.
The rooms are clean, well equipped with nice bathrooms. Everything was spotless.
I had a hiccup on the way to Chester ( I discovered my booking was for 4 weeks later! ) but a quick call to Laterooms , and Laterooms and the lovely Lisa at HIE-Chester sorted it for me over the phone in 2 minutes. BRILLIANT SERVICE, Thank You.
Checked in with minimum fuss, got a room on the top floor and quite area ( as I'd requested ).
I've never had a bad experience at HIE, but this particular venue went beyond the normal service levels to help me.
Thanks go to Laterooms- Mark ?... and HIE - Lisa. Good old fashioned customer service still exists!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the four star rating your have issued. Your kind comments will be passed on to the staff who I am sure will be thrilled. I will pass on your thanks to Lisa who I will make sure is rewarded for her excellent customer service skills. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Steven Scoullar Operations Manager Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse

Reviewed by
Michael C

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and Relaxation!
Unfortunately the room had adjoining doors to the next room which meant when they had visitors at 3:30am all the laughing and talking meant no sleep for us. The night porter was ineffective is silencing the noise which went on unto 4:30am.

Reviewed by
Ian W

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hi..over all a very nice place.. the bed was not too good as the matress was quite uncomfortable unfortunately.The door card didnt work most times but assistance was at hand. The Breakfast was lovely and the lady attending was very pleasant.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you experienced with your bed. We are aware that bed comfort is personal preference and some prefer a soft/ firm bed and we therefore offer extra padding to make the beds softer or a board to make the beds firmer. I would also like to confirm we have replaced a number of beds in the last couple of months and have more beds being delivered in the next couple of weeks. I am sure if you return you will notice the difference we have made. Kind Regards Steven Scoullar Operations Manager Holiday Inn Express Chester Racecourse

Reviewed by
Caron R

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was nice clean hotel.only thing they could do with having more hot choice for breakfast.there was only beans.scrambled eggs and sausage,which were cold.the staff were very helpful and friendly.

ManagementResponse

Dear Clare E, Thank you for your recent review. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for you kind comments regarding staff - I shall pass this on to our team who I'm sure will be thrilled. Unfortunately due to IHG brand standards as an Express chain hotel we are unable to serve more than 3 items of hot food but we do try our best to offer a wider variety of continental so guest have plenty to choose from. Please accept my sincere apologies for the breakfast being cold, I shall have a look in to this and have the problem rectified immediately. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Steven Scoullar, Operations Manager

Reviewed by
Clare E

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend Away
Very enjoyable stay

ManagementResponse

Dear M Sutton, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race Course. I am truly delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your overall score of 5 stars. We hope to see you return in the near future. Kind regards, Emma Rose, Senior Duty Manager

Reviewed by
m sutton

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location, easy parking, pleasant staff, comfortable room

ManagementResponse

Good afternoon Janet R, Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Express, Chester Race course. I'm delighted to see you enjoyed your time with us and I'm pleased to see you had a comfortable time with us. Thank you for your kind comment regarding staff, I shall pass this on to our team who I'm sure will be happy to see. Thank you for your overall score of 4 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Emma Rose, Senior Duty Manager

Reviewed by
Janet R

From Tadworth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay in chester
this is the second time I have stayed here, great position, just a couple of minute to the city centre
and good value nice friendly staff would recommend this hotel

ManagementResponse

Dear R Lamb, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course. I'm delighted to see that your return visit was just as enjoyable and that we did not disappoint you. Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff and the 6 star score - I shall pass this on to our team who I'm sure will be thrilled to see. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Emma Rose, Senior Duty Manager

Reviewed by
r lamb

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester Hotel
excellent location and room facilities were good. Breakfast was poor in terms of being cold and also not restocked frequently enough.

Reviewed by
S Liptrot

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
the room was spotless with nice towels and bed linen, although breakfast was basic, the value for money is superb with excellent location if you are looking for a 5 star hotel, then this isn't for you but expect to pay treble the price of this value for money central hotel.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mary H, Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your time with us and thank you for your kind comments regarding the room cleanliness. I shall pass this on to our housekeeping team who I'm sure will be delighted to see their hard work being noticed. Thank you for your overall score of 5 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Steven, Operations Manager

Reviewed by
mary h

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for a night in chester

ManagementResponse

Dear R Kempster, Thank you for your recent review. I'm truly delighted to see you had an amazing time with us here at the Holiday Inn Express, Chester race course and that we hit top score in all departments. Thank you for your overall score of 6 stars and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Emma Rose, Senior Duty Manager

Reviewed by
R Kempster

From Llangollen, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next