You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE

3

The Racecourse,New Crane Street, Chester, CH1 2LY

Price From 127.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (53)

91% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jacqueline W

  • September 2015

Convenient Location

We found the Holiday Inn to be in a very convenient location just outside the City walls at the Racecourse, easy to walk into town but equally easy to park.

Response from hotel

Dear Jacqueline W,

Thank you for posting a review from your recent stay with us. It is nice to see that you were able to appreciate the convenience of our location. We always strive to provide a great experience to all of our guests so if you have any other comments or suggestions, feel free to let us know.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I hope that you would stay with us again in the future.

Regards,

Mike,

IHG Care

  • Robert Symes

  • August 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE

Excellent value, ideal to explore Chester

  • Ruth B

  • August 2015

Overall a very pleasant stay

Very happy with the staff, room and location of the hotel.

Would have liked more choice on the cooked breakfast and they had run out of knives, but apart from that, very happy!. Thank you!!

  • Ronald P

  • August 2015

Very good value for money!

In my opinion this is not the type of hotel for more than a two night stay.

Whilst our room was very well laid out, it was small and not well sound-proofed, made worse by the adjoining door, presumably to covert the room into larger accommodation for families, as needed. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. Overall, we thought our stay was very good value, particularly as there was the option of a cooked breakfast (limited choice) and car parking was free - a bonus on city breaks.

  • E Want

  • July 2015

Short stay with friends

The room was nice and good value for money.

However it was very warm in the hotel and the room. The noise from the road was very disturbing, especially when the window was open.

  • Jonathan P

  • July 2015

Chester

Perfect location and ideal parking spaces.

Rooms were very hot, no air conditioning system.

Response from hotel

Dear Jonathan P,

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to write your review.

We appreciate your positive remarks about our location and parking.

However, we apologize if your experience was not as pleasant as you would have liked it to be due to the unusual temperature of the room. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Christian,

IHG Care

  • Laura F

  • July 2015

Not value for money!

Stayed here because it was keep and we were only staying in Chester for one night following a family event.

Check in was quick and easy and the receptionist was polite if a little OTT smiley/friendly. Got up to the room and it was a twin not a double like we wanted. Went down to reception and asked if there was any double rooms we could move to and got told no (even though we didn't see more than 15 people the whole time we were there so they weren't full). Went back to the room, the bathroom was dirty and the window was broken so it only opened about 1cm. The room also had a door joining onto the next room and we could literally here every word they were saying and every argument they had all night. Again asked to be moved due to noise, again was told that if "wasn't possible". No explanation or apology, just no. We hardly slept because of the noisy neighbours and the road noise if the window was open. But if the window was closed the room was far too hot. Worst nights sleep ever. Couldn't wait to leave. This breakfast the following morning was ok. The receptionist when we tried to check out just ignored us for ages, there was a queue forming behind us and she still ignored us for another 5 minutes. It's a cheap hotel so I wasn't expecting much but rude staff, dirty rooms and paper thin walls was not what I expected. I won't be staying here again.

Response from hotel

Dear Laura F,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We do strive for customer service improvement in everything we do and all of the issues you described obviously do not meet our expectations let alone yours. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced at check in, with our air conditioning system, and with the noise levels. Please be assured that your comments are fowarded to the right people and we are confident that actions will be taken accordingly to make your future stays more desirable.

Sincerely,

Faith,

IHG Care

  • D Murphy

  • June 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE

Recent stay.

Response from hotel

Dear D Murphy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your high score in cleanliness and service.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding cleanliness and value. We will look into these concerns. I assure you that the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando,

IHG Care

  • janet griffiths

  • June 2015

Value for money

An excellent deal At £50 for two with breakfast on a Sunday night.

It is within five minutes walking distance of the city walls and the shops are just beyond. We used the hotel as as top en route to the Peak district,it is right next to the racecourse, parking is free, which is a big bonus with hotel chains. Breakfast is included, good choice of cereal, yogurts, fruit, juice, coffe tea etc, Danish pastries, toast and sausages and scrambled eggs...not warm enough, but really a minor gripe at the price.

  • Diana E

  • April 2015

Excellent value stay

First time in a Holiday Inn Express.

I stayed in a recently refurbished room overlooking the racecourse. Excellent value as it included parking for 24 hours. Minutes from the city centre. Quiet. Would definitely stay there again.