Reviews - Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE


The Racecourse,New Crane Street, Chester, CH1 2LY

Price From 139.95 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (94)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • janet griffiths

  • June 2015

Value for money

An excellent deal At £50 for two with breakfast on a Sunday night.

It is within five minutes walking distance of the city walls and the shops are just beyond. We used the hotel as as top en route to the Peak district,it is right next to the racecourse, parking is free, which is a big bonus with hotel chains. Breakfast is included, good choice of cereal, yogurts, fruit, juice, coffe tea etc, Danish pastries, toast and sausages and scrambled eggs...not warm enough, but really a minor gripe at the price.

  • Diana E

  • April 2015

Excellent value stay

First time in a Holiday Inn Express.

I stayed in a recently refurbished room overlooking the racecourse. Excellent value as it included parking for 24 hours. Minutes from the city centre. Quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

  • J James

  • April 2015

Will go again

Myself and my daughter recently stayed and will definitely be going again.

Great value for money as it includes breakfast and you also get parking, which can be expensive elsewhere. Just a short walk into town and you also get local restaurant discount via the hotel. We ate at The White Horse Restaurant which is in Chester Race Course and the food was lovely and reasonable priced but you also get the 10% off from the hotel.

My only gripe is the pillows we uncomfy but that's just because I'm fussy about my pillows.

  • M Davies

  • April 2015

Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

The only downside was the door through to the room next to us, it let so much noise through from next door you could practically hear what everyone was saying.

Being woke up at 6am by them talking felt like they were in the room.

  • thomas f

  • April 2015

Noisy adjoining room

We were put in room 304 which unfortunately for us had an adjoining door to room 302.On the first night we had a couple having a domestic of which we could hear every word.

On the second we had a party in the next door room and although they were not excessively noisy the raised voices and laughter did disturb us somewhat. I think this was due to the fact that the noise travels through the doors easier than walls. Mentioned this as we left but staff member merely shrugged. Food at breakfast could have been warmer and more varied (Sausage beans and scrambled eggs)

  • christopher b

  • March 2015

short break

Very nice hotel would stay again.

clean tidy. nice staff. great location. close to town. great place to stay.

  • sandra a

  • March 2015

good comfortable stay

Comfortable clean have stayed before will stay again

  • S Brown

  • March 2015

Great location

This was a perfect short break hotel.

The room we stayed in had recently been completely refurbished and overlooked the racecourse. It was literally 5 minutes walk into the heart of Chester. The added bonus was the ability to park.

  • Martin J

  • March 2015

Great Location - Super location

Really enjoyed the stay no frills but a good place to stay at a reasonable price if visiting Chester and all its attractions.

Close enough to walk to shops and visitor attractions.

  • christine t

  • February 2015

Great location

Great location, added bonus of having somewhere to park and leave it there for the next day.