Reviews - Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE


The Racecourse,New Crane Street, Chester, CH1 2LY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (81)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Jonathan P

  • July 2015


Perfect location and ideal parking spaces.

Rooms were very hot, no air conditioning system.

  • Laura F

  • July 2015

Not value for money!

Stayed here because it was keep and we were only staying in Chester for one night following a family event.

Check in was quick and easy and the receptionist was polite if a little OTT smiley/friendly. Got up to the room and it was a twin not a double like we wanted. Went down to reception and asked if there was any double rooms we could move to and got told no (even though we didn't see more than 15 people the whole time we were there so they weren't full). Went back to the room, the bathroom was dirty and the window was broken so it only opened about 1cm. The room also had a door joining onto the next room and we could literally here every word they were saying and every argument they had all night. Again asked to be moved due to noise, again was told that if "wasn't possible". No explanation or apology, just no. We hardly slept because of the noisy neighbours and the road noise if the window was open. But if the window was closed the room was far too hot. Worst nights sleep ever. Couldn't wait to leave. This breakfast the following morning was ok. The receptionist when we tried to check out just ignored us for ages, there was a queue forming behind us and she still ignored us for another 5 minutes. It's a cheap hotel so I wasn't expecting much but rude staff, dirty rooms and paper thin walls was not what I expected. I won't be staying here again.

  • D Murphy

  • June 2015

Holiday Inn Express CHESTER - RACECOURSE

Recent stay.

  • janet griffiths

  • June 2015

Value for money

An excellent deal At £50 for two with breakfast on a Sunday night.

It is within five minutes walking distance of the city walls and the shops are just beyond. We used the hotel as as top en route to the Peak district,it is right next to the racecourse, parking is free, which is a big bonus with hotel chains. Breakfast is included, good choice of cereal, yogurts, fruit, juice, coffe tea etc, Danish pastries, toast and sausages and scrambled eggs...not warm enough, but really a minor gripe at the price.

  • Diana E

  • April 2015

Excellent value stay

First time in a Holiday Inn Express.

I stayed in a recently refurbished room overlooking the racecourse. Excellent value as it included parking for 24 hours. Minutes from the city centre. Quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

  • J James

  • April 2015

Will go again

Myself and my daughter recently stayed and will definitely be going again.

Great value for money as it includes breakfast and you also get parking, which can be expensive elsewhere. Just a short walk into town and you also get local restaurant discount via the hotel. We ate at The White Horse Restaurant which is in Chester Race Course and the food was lovely and reasonable priced but you also get the 10% off from the hotel.

My only gripe is the pillows we uncomfy but that's just because I'm fussy about my pillows.

  • M Davies

  • April 2015

Holiday Inn Express Chester - Racecourse

The only downside was the door through to the room next to us, it let so much noise through from next door you could practically hear what everyone was saying.

Being woke up at 6am by them talking felt like they were in the room.

  • thomas f

  • April 2015

Noisy adjoining room

We were put in room 304 which unfortunately for us had an adjoining door to room 302.On the first night we had a couple having a domestic of which we could hear every word.

On the second we had a party in the next door room and although they were not excessively noisy the raised voices and laughter did disturb us somewhat. I think this was due to the fact that the noise travels through the doors easier than walls. Mentioned this as we left but staff member merely shrugged. Food at breakfast could have been warmer and more varied (Sausage beans and scrambled eggs)

  • christopher b

  • March 2015

short break

Very nice hotel would stay again.

clean tidy. nice staff. great location. close to town. great place to stay.

  • sandra a

  • March 2015

good comfortable stay

Comfortable clean have stayed before will stay again