No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Beamish , County Durham, DH9 0YB
Classic style and comfort is what guests at Beamish Hall Hotel have to look forward to. Many changes have been made in transforming this grand house into an elegant hotel, one of the priorities is to ensure its traditional and historical feel is maintained. Our bedrooms reflect the grandeur of the building with the emphasis on comfort and style.

This 17th Century listed Hall filled with bedrooms, conference centre, wedding location, birds of prey conservation centre & outdoor activity centre. Beamish Hall also offers the most exciting dining & drinking experience in the North East 'THE STABLES BAR, RESTAURANT & MICRO BREWERY'. With exposed stone walls, hayracks and traditional beamed ceilings. The old stable block has been sympathetically renovated to re-capture the traditional feel that the building deserves, with a few modern touches.

Located in 24 acres of parkland. Situated just off the A1(M), close to the Historical Cathedral City of Durham and the exciting City of Newcastle upon Tyne.
Next door to the leading tourist attraction, Beamish - The North of England Open Air Museum. Near to the Gateshead Metro Centre Shopping Centre and many more alternative attractions for you to visit

Picture of BEST WESTERN Beamish Hall Hotel , County Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Value for money in over 10 years of hotel stays
For the money I paid and the room I got a deluxe double. This is easily the best hotel I have stayed in worldwide for this value. I will recommend this to anyone in my circle and look forward to my next stay. Only moan is no signal for Orange mobile anywhere within 200 yards of the hotel.

Reviewed by
T KENDALL

From Rowley Regis, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice and relaxing place to stay in superb surroundings
rooms clean and warm ,hotel 17th century so rooms furnished to continue this theme. ie. old and wooden so everything creaks like the floor boards ,bed and wardrobe but not to much of a problem. Food -breakfast and dinner is superb .The hotel even as its own micro brewery ideal for real ale fans. Staff helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
David Bonser

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unacceptably small so called double bed.
Despite being impressed by the beautiful grounds and the general quality feel of the hotel, we were quite taken aback to find that our "double bed" in a de-luxe room at £100 a night was only four feet wide. I doubt if this fulfils the legal description of a double bed. The room itself and bathroom were very good but obviously we didn't sleep well. There was no other room we could be transferred to. When we repeated our complaint on checking out we were offered £50 off the bill which didn't compensate for lack of sleep. Don't accept room 251. If we stayed here again we would need to be sure we didn't get this room, which is the only one with such a small bed.

Reviewed by
Jean E

From Petworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had an enjoyable stay marred only by the heat in the rooms at night. Despite mentioning this to reception and being reassured that it would be remedied our second night was uncomfortably hot once again . We had need of an electric fan throughout the night . Otherwise the stay was very enjoyable

Reviewed by
John R

From York, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I use late rooms a lot, and have to say beamish hall has got to be the best hotel I have stayed in for setting and value for money, tottaly faultless

Reviewed by
Richard Bradley

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy bathroom experience.
A beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting. Perfectly pleasant and helpful staff. Lovely food. All well you would assume. Until 1.30 a.m. when having flushed the toilet it continued to flush, and flush and flush! Upon investigation it would appear that the cistern had been held together inside by bits of wire, which had failed and the noise was extremely loud!!! We were moved to an apartment at the top of the building (it is 2 a.m. by now) which although spacious was somewhat chilly and did not smell particularly pleasant. Not conducive to a good night's sleep. Only sketchy apologies offered.

Reviewed by
J Sim

From Jarrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not fault the place a super building and grounds, room a bit small wish we had up-graded. Food very good

Reviewed by
Dorothy B

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb hotel
This is what all hotels should be. We enjoyed our short stay very much and hope to return for a longer holiday soon. Everything was perfect, the staff were friendly and helpful, the bedrooms comfortable and the food excellent.

Reviewed by
K Brown

From Fochabers, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite expensive for what you get, we paid £121 for one night,breakfast not included,disappointed to be truthful

Reviewed by
Keith R

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40th anniversary celebration
we were staying at the hotel for the annual salsa ball it was also our ruby wedding anniversary.we were upgraded to a deluxe room from the standard that had been booked,which was much appreciated.The receptionist on arrival ,who admitted she hadnt worked there long, couldnt answer our questions,she said she would refer them to the reception manager but we never did get those questions answered.I think for the price we payed for the room and the fact it was a special anniversary a bottle of wine or breakfast included would have been nice? But we did have a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
a nixon

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next