Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Merseyside > Sefton > Southport Hotels > Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-9 Promenade , Southport, PR8 1RB

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments.
Southport offers both leisure and business visitors a superb town with excellent transport links, fine shopping and leisure activities and unbeatable golf courses in Southport for players of all abilities including Britain's 3 foremost Royal Golf Courses

A great choice of bedroom accommodation options available at our Southport hotel ensures we are able to meet almost any accommodation requirements and expectations. We offer the best Southport hotel choice of Classic and Promenade views, double and twin rooms. In addition we offer a choice of suites, Bridal suites and mini suites. Also a variety of family rooms with 2, 3 or even 4 extra beds often located in a separate room.
Also have rooms with outside patio's, some of which are special needs friendly

Spectacular views including the Kings Gardens, Beach and North West Coast, and Southport townscape.
Included in all rooms are a hospitality tray, trouser press, telephone, internet and multi channel TV facilities
Room service menu choice. Extras including, flowers, baskets of fruits, chocolates, champagne and others are also available when making your booking.

Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel is the premier venue for weddings in Southport with a choice of 11 function suites accommodating up to 300, and some enjoying outdoor patios for receptions and Al Fresco entertaining.

It is also renowned for conferences in Southport, the first class facilities and services are able to accommodate any conference from 2 - 250 delegates in Southport.
Picture of Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 161 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well looked after
My wife and I were well looked after, at a time when the hotel was fully booked and very busy.
We booked at short notice without reading previous reviews, which is unusual. We are frequent travellers and do not normally comment. We do so only in fairness to the hotel and to strike a balance against some reviews which appear to us to be unduly critical. It is old, admittedly well worn but no less charming for that. Enjoyable? Yes. Return? Yes. Recommend? Yes. Value? Fair enough. Food?
Breakfast excellent. Dinner overly complex; traditional English fayre would suffice and match the Clifton's unique heritage.

Reviewed by
Malcolm S

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice hotel
nice room. pleasant staff, although some could have been a little bit more professional. Restaurant nice, but was disappointed with the choice on the menu.

Reviewed by
Margaret W

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
This is a great hotel always ask for a sea view and get one also this hotel is great for shopping and pubs the staff are lovely and friendly great place to stay going again soon

Reviewed by
j Kinsella

From Rhyl, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff and Room Rating
The majority of staff were very nice, the exception being the manageress of the Conservatory Bar. We arrived in the bar at either 8pm or at the latest 8.01 pm and asked if they still serving bar snacks. She told us in quite an obnoxious way that since it was after 8pm the only option was two courses in the bar or to go into the restaurant, where we could have one course. We decided to go out as we didn't want a big meal. My main issue was her attitude, especially as we had come from my mother's funeral that day.
Bedroom was a big front bedroom but very dated with a grotty pink bathroom suite. It was, however, clean and the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
m beardsmore

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money. well I thought so anyway.

Reviewed by
M Moore

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable stay
we stayed in one of the superior rooms.it was very pleasant and comfortable. Only negatives were that although when booking, I had requested extra pillows due to being heavily pregnant they were not supplied, the bed sheets were not fully tucked in and were sliding off the corners of the mattress and there was a hair belonging to neither of us on the bed.
Free parking was great and the hotel is in good location, breakfast nice enough but very busy and tables close together!
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
stephanie e

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay.
A nice hotel in a great position. Paid a bit extra for a view which was great but limited by the small seagull splattered window. Clean and bright room and pleasantly quiet considering the size of the hotel and what was going on.

Reviewed by
Michael Pickering

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location at the Clifton in Southport
Upon arrival we were able to park outside the hotel. At the reception we entered our car registration and parking was free. Reception provided our room key and a form giving meal times, booked our newspaper for the following morning, all very efficient. We had a room with a sea view and very nice it is too . Bathroom needed updating , but not really a problem . Easy access to the main shopping street and directly onto the sea front . We enjoyed our stay and were impressed with Southport and will return hopefully for a longer stay next time.

Reviewed by
P Andrews

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break Away
The accommodation was very good although we were up on the 3rd floor trying to avoid hitting our heads on the ceiling. The food was also very good but the catering staff/waiters need some training. Having said this, we enjoyed our stay - a lovely break for a 2nd time.

Reviewed by
THOMAS H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded charm........Just.
There will be better places.

Reviewed by
Ian D

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next