Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Merseyside > Sefton > Southport Hotels > Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-9 Promenade , Southport, PR8 1RB

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments.
Southport offers both leisure and business visitors a superb town with excellent transport links, fine shopping and leisure activities and unbeatable golf courses in Southport for players of all abilities including Britain's 3 foremost Royal Golf Courses

A great choice of bedroom accommodation options available at our Southport hotel ensures we are able to meet almost any accommodation requirements and expectations. We offer the best Southport hotel choice of Classic and Promenade views, double and twin rooms. In addition we offer a choice of suites, Bridal suites and mini suites. Also a variety of family rooms with 2, 3 or even 4 extra beds often located in a separate room.
Also have rooms with outside patio's, some of which are special needs friendly

Spectacular views including the Kings Gardens, Beach and North West Coast, and Southport townscape.
Included in all rooms are a hospitality tray, trouser press, telephone, internet and multi channel TV facilities
Room service menu choice. Extras including, flowers, baskets of fruits, chocolates, champagne and others are also available when making your booking.

Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel is the premier venue for weddings in Southport with a choice of 11 function suites accommodating up to 300, and some enjoying outdoor patios for receptions and Al Fresco entertaining.

It is also renowned for conferences in Southport, the first class facilities and services are able to accommodate any conference from 2 - 250 delegates in Southport.
Picture of Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 166 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

break with mother
This is the second time that we have visited. It was for my mothers birthday. She really enjoyed it.

Reviewed by
suzanne a

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were really friendly and helpful, the Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade

Reviewed by
Leslie Wilson

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of accommodation ,food,and overall service..
The hotel ,service and food were fine.
We would have liked some form of entertainment in the evening,since at this time of the year the evenings become dark relatively early.
I like a good pint of bitter,but the only bitter available was Tetley's (No draft real ale)
We perceived that morale of the staff was not very high.
Overall however our stay was satisfactory.

Reviewed by
Barrie Whittaker

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We always enjoy our stay at teh Royal Clifton.
We have been to this hotel many times and always get a warm welcome, they even know which rooms we prefer now.

Reviewed by
Eileen Birch

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and helpful staff, hotel location to local facilities was just right an excellent experience

Reviewed by
G Millett

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs updating
the bedroom was dated although the bathroom had been renovated and was good. the twin beds were very uncomfortable, they were lumpy and we could feel the springs. we complained and toppers were put on the mattresses but we still didn't get a good nights sleep throughout our stay. the lounge sofas were dirty and needed cleaning as did the chairs which were very grubby. this hotel as seen better days and at £87 room only per night we were very disappointed. we will not be returning.

Reviewed by
j upton

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was far to small and located next to all the nightlife. Bed uncomfy and very little sleep

Reviewed by
C Own

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for short break
Very good position. Lovely sea view room. Clean, comfortable and spacious.
Parking not always available in hotel car park. Breakfast disappointing. Dining room very small, crowded and service lets the hotel down. Shortage of crockery, glasses and cutlery. I realise that the hotel was busy but disabled guests need time and patience.

Reviewed by
Beryl D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Clifton Southport
Staff very helpful and room more than adequate for our needs.
On the down side, didn't appreciate losing the public bar area in the evening to one of three weddings being hosted. Whole place felt overtaken. Also not enough staff on breakfast duty. Too busy to really look after their guests - perhaps that's why we had a sugar pot full of salt - only discovered once it was in the cup of coffee!!!

Reviewed by
Paul M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Room was large had a view of the rear carpark but that didn't bother us. Plenty of parking on the carpark at the front. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment about that. Not been to southport for a number of years but it was lovely and will be returning

Reviewed by
sharon w

From Dukinfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next