Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > North England > North West England > Merseyside > Sefton > Southport Hotels > Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
1-9 Promenade , Southport, PR8 1RB

Simply The Guest Awards Winner

Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel & Spa in Southport is noted for its exceptional range of facilities and excellent standards of service. Over recent years it has been thoughtfully refurbished to offer you the comfort you expect in the best location for a hotel in Southport. We have a choice of bedrooms including spacious family rooms and suites. Also the hotel boasts superb health club & spa facilities in Southport and a wide range of beauty and health treatments.
Southport offers both leisure and business visitors a superb town with excellent transport links, fine shopping and leisure activities and unbeatable golf courses in Southport for players of all abilities including Britain's 3 foremost Royal Golf Courses

A great choice of bedroom accommodation options available at our Southport hotel ensures we are able to meet almost any accommodation requirements and expectations. We offer the best Southport hotel choice of Classic and Promenade views, double and twin rooms. In addition we offer a choice of suites, Bridal suites and mini suites. Also a variety of family rooms with 2, 3 or even 4 extra beds often located in a separate room.
Also have rooms with outside patio's, some of which are special needs friendly

Spectacular views including the Kings Gardens, Beach and North West Coast, and Southport townscape.
Included in all rooms are a hospitality tray, trouser press, telephone, internet and multi channel TV facilities
Room service menu choice. Extras including, flowers, baskets of fruits, chocolates, champagne and others are also available when making your booking.

Best Western Royal Clifton Hotel is the premier venue for weddings in Southport with a choice of 11 function suites accommodating up to 300, and some enjoying outdoor patios for receptions and Al Fresco entertaining.

It is also renowned for conferences in Southport, the first class facilities and services are able to accommodate any conference from 2 - 250 delegates in Southport.
Picture of Royal Clifton Hotel - A Best Western Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 167 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
from start to finish so enjoyable .lovely seaview room friendly staff enjoyable meals .good value . will definately be coming again

Reviewed by
J Lott

From Nelson, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything about our stay was good .The only thing we could fault was the length of time you stood in the lift waiting for it to set off {thought it was broke first time ] lol

Reviewed by
paul d

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outside Noise Running Water
Hardly slept all night sound of running water outside. Constant all night.

Reviewed by
G Morris

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very accommodating and polite. Very helpful too. My son who is nearly four and requires special needs. The hotel provided for his needs. The cleanliness was of a high standard. Convenient and accessible to shops and the sea front.

Reviewed by
Amanda M

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Totally Relaxing Stay
Took the opportunity to revisit Southport when we came across the deal on Late Rooms. From the moment we entered the building we fell in love with the character of the hotel and the warmth of the welcome at Reception added to the experience. We were given all the relevant information in a friendly and efficient manner, and made our way to the room. Our room was on the third floor, which meant we had great sea views. The room was classed as 'superior' and indeed we found it spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and had the benefit of a skylight window to enjoy natural light. As we enjoyed long lie ins, the housekeeping staff left us a plentiful supply of clean towels, toiletries, and tea and coffee outside our door when they could not access room. My only slight negative would be for a decent hairdryer in the bedroom as opposed to the 'fixed' type in the bathroom. Staff in the dining room and conservatory bar were friendly and efficient. The food was of excellent quality, and indeed value for money. All in all, a simply relaxing and comfortable stay in a hotel that is well placed for town and sea front walks.

Reviewed by
Glenda T

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Stay that Surpassed our expectations
A very welcoming and comfortable hotel with every modern convenience for a memorable two day stay. This hotel is a great base to the explore the wider area.

Reviewed by
Ivan S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

break with mother
This is the second time that we have visited. It was for my mothers birthday. She really enjoyed it.

Reviewed by
suzanne a

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel review
On arrival I wasn't very impressed the loudness of the music we could hear from the car park ,what I am most annoyed about is the fact that when we booked our room they knew that they had two weddings on that weekend ,and the music didn't stop until one fourty five in the morning ,if we had been told then we wouldn't have booked the room in the first place,considering that it cost £133.00 and we didn't have a enjoyable evening at all because of it,and would never stay at the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline Clarke

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting and with character
We were fortunate to book this busy hotel for a Friday as there were 2 planned wedding events over the weekend and the air show. Our room was of a good standard albeit a climb to the 3rd floor with views of the back car park. It is in a convenient location for the promenade and beach although the sea is miles away! We heard a disco until 2.00am in the morning which may or not be at the hotel on a Friday night. It is close to the town centre for restuarants although their own menu looked good, we ate out.

Reviewed by
J W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were really friendly and helpful, the Hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade

Reviewed by
Leslie Wilson

From Mexborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next