No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Corner House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Taunton, TA1 4DQ
We call our bedrooms here at The Corner House budget boutique.
Not only are they tremendous value for money but we asked you what you wanted from a bedroom in the heart of this wonderful county town of Taunton; A good nights sleep, A comfortable bed, A decent modern bathroom, an excellent television system and security - that's what we offer!

All bedrooms are unique and they all have their own bathroom with free Caroline Henry toiletries. Other facilities include flat-screen TVs, stocked minibars, tea/coffee and free water and milk.

The Wine and Sausage Restaurant specialises in traditional British food and we also have a wine shop in the restaurant. All wines are handpicked from around the world and we can offer you tasting session to enjoy before your evening meal.
A room service option is also available within the hotel.

FREE Wifi is available throughout the hotel and FREE public parking is also available (no reservation needed).
Breakfast can be added at the booking stage to any room only rates for £10.00 per person.
Picture of The Corner House Hotel, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 149 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money. good position .
would go back here again.

Reviewed by
j egan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over all a great stay that was value for money. Staff were friendly but checking in and out was rather slow. Parking was difficult and we had to park in a space that could have caused damage to our car and blocked other guests in.

Reviewed by
J Foulger

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in Taunton
This was my first business trip to Taunton and the Corner House was a most excellent hotel in which to spend it. Good parking, clean and stylish hotel with a frankly unbelievable range of wines on sale in the bar (which sadly I didn't get to sample) as well as a couple of real ales on tap and more by the bottle. I didn't have dinner in the evening as their prices were a little out of my budget but the breakfast was excellent. The rooms, whilst small, were well equipped with free Wi-Fi which was suitable for my business use (I was able to use my sercure VPN connection which is not always the case). The only sour note was at check out when the guest in front was havinig difficulty paying her bill becuase of a fault with the card machine. Whilst it was not the staff's fault that the machine went wrong I feel certain that the problem could have been resolved quicker than it took and there was only one computer so guests could only check out one at a time. Add to this, the phone kept ringing and being answered by the staff who were trying to resolve the credit card problem. It was a frustrating experience that could have been dealt with better. Nevertheless I really enjoyed the experience overall. Should I have need to stay in Taunton again I will be checking for space at the Corner House first!

Reviewed by
Denis Golden

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent receptionist

Reviewed by
p french

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
Dinner and breakfast excellent and staff were friendly, very good value and would stay here again

Reviewed by
P HARRIS

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We found the hotel an ideal place for a short stay we had. good situation, parking, and great food in the restaurant. thanks

Reviewed by
Peter K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break
The bedroom was large and comfortable unfortunately we couldnt open the window to let in any air. The food and wine was excellent

Reviewed by
sandy l

From Lifton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good food.
Average room. Very expensive drinks in bar.
Good price for whole experience.

Reviewed by
Ian THOMAS

From West Wickham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Maybe my 10th visit.
I have stayed at the Corner house so many times I have lost count. I have stayed in the large, the standard and the compact rooms. Even in the compact room you will have all the facilities of the large room just on a smaller scale. The reason I keep going back ? I think the Corner house is a little different to many hotels I have stayed in, It has is own wine shop, a proper little bar serving good quality beers and wines at reasonable prices, I am also a fan of the informal Sausage & Wine restaurant ( or is it the Wine & Sausage?) again serving good quality food at reasonable prices and also serving some of the best cooked to order breakfasts. If you look hard enough you will always find a good deal on the room rate and the food. Anyway this is only my opinion, I am no expert, I just know I feel comfortable and happy in the Corner House and I am getting great value for money when I get the deals. Would I stay again, I have already booked!

Reviewed by
andrew e

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but noisy
Room nice however my room situated over fan system which vibrated the room all evening making impossible to sleep!

Reviewed by
M Sabz

From , England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next