No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Corner House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Taunton, TA1 4DQ
We call our bedrooms here at The Corner House budget boutique.
Not only are they tremendous value for money but we asked you what you wanted from a bedroom in the heart of this wonderful county town of Taunton; A good nights sleep, A comfortable bed, A decent modern bathroom, an excellent television system and security - that's what we offer!

All bedrooms are unique and they all have their own bathroom with free Caroline Henry toiletries. Other facilities include flat-screen TVs, stocked minibars, tea/coffee and free water and milk.

The Wine and Sausage Restaurant specialises in traditional British food and we also have a wine shop in the restaurant. All wines are handpicked from around the world and we can offer you tasting session to enjoy before your evening meal.
A room service option is also available within the hotel.

FREE Wifi is available throughout the hotel and FREE public parking is also available (no reservation needed).
Breakfast can be added at the booking stage to any room only rates for £10.00 per person.
Picture of The Corner House Hotel, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was warm, very comfortable. The staff very accommodating. Breakfast was good with a variety of choice on the menu. The room itself was clean, tidy and comfortable. The hotel was close to town with adequate parking at rear.

Reviewed by
christopher N

From christchurch, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Good stay - good value for money

Reviewed by
H MITCHELL

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel good but restaurant service bad
I have stayed at this hotel a few times in the last few months with colleagues of mine, it has been very good previously but the last visit we decided to eat in the restaurant. Unfortunately we waited an hour and still no food served (starters included (bread basket)), we then left and went somewhere in the vicinity to eat . The hotel staff apologised the next day when we stated the poor service but the restaurant staff did not apologise once with the delay.

Reviewed by
James C

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very good 3 star hotel offering a 4 star service in the areas that really matter.
In this day and age when we look for real value for our money, in Taunton, I do not believe you will find better. The building has its own charm; when it comes to driving into the hotel parking lot do not be put off - your vehicle will get through what looks like too narrow a gap!
The staff are all extremely polite and friendly. The rooms are fairly basic however the beds are comfortable and with complementary fresh milk and water provided in the fridge, a good supply of tea and coffee etc., a modern flat screen television to keep up with the news, ……..what else do you need?
I would also like to take this opportunity to bring to your attention the quality of the meals at the Corner House, they are outstanding! The Chef and catering team have absolutely got it right!!
All in All, I would thoroughly recommend that you consider this hotel.

Reviewed by
Christina D

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

kept waiting 15 min when booking in ,and a late night disco under our rooms till 00;15
nice hotel staff very poor could have been warned that a very noisey disco would be right under our room.

Reviewed by
ian f

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't be tempted to book a compact double room. They are not suitable for other than single occupancy

Reviewed by
Eric H

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good but a bit of a queue on booking out of hotel

Reviewed by
C Hallett

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced 3 star hotel
Sadly this hotel initially shows promise and whilst the room I stayed in was quite spacious, being at the front of the building and having very poor double glazing meant it was noisy and upon my arrival I found the front window section to be open, when I went to close it I realised that it was open to allow smokers to have cigarette out the window (this was evident by the 20-30 cigarette buts on the small balcony) in a non smoking room??
There was no pressure in the shower and it barely got warm enough to shower in and in the morning there was obviously so little water pressure that the hand basin had no cold water at all.
The restaurant had a charm about it and the evening meal was actually quite pleasant, however you could not really enjoy the bar area as there are only 2 stools and 2 chairs and whilst there is an annex area of the bar it is set out with tables and chairs and is isolated to from the other areas and if you wanted to sit in a room on your own you have already paid for a room!!
The breakfast service was very slow and whilst they were offering cooked to order breakfast if you are going to do that it should not take 30mins to arrive and when it does the scrambled egg should not be dry and look like it has sat for 30 mins.
Finally when checking out it might be an idea for the receptionist to actually enquire as to your stay rather than just handing you a bill without looking up, for a 3 star hotel that is more expensive than all the 4 star hotel chains I had used over the previous week?

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great but shame about the mattress
The hotel was lovely, the food was great and had a nice atmosphere! The only problem was the mattress was so lumpy! Really poor quality, springs digging in every time you moved a real shame!

Reviewed by
Holly S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money. good position .
would go back here again.

Reviewed by
j egan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next