No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Corner House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Taunton, TA1 4DQ
We call our bedrooms here at The Corner House budget boutique.
Not only are they tremendous value for money but we asked you what you wanted from a bedroom in the heart of this wonderful county town of Taunton; A good nights sleep, A comfortable bed, A decent modern bathroom, an excellent television system and security - that's what we offer!

All bedrooms are unique and they all have their own bathroom with free Caroline Henry toiletries. Other facilities include flat-screen TVs, stocked minibars, tea/coffee and free water and milk.

The Wine and Sausage Restaurant specialises in traditional British food and we also have a wine shop in the restaurant. All wines are handpicked from around the world and we can offer you tasting session to enjoy before your evening meal.
A room service option is also available within the hotel.

FREE Wifi is available throughout the hotel and FREE public parking is also available (no reservation needed).
Breakfast can be added at the booking stage to any room only rates for £10.00 per person.
Picture of The Corner House Hotel, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 162 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent waiter, he should train reception
Waiter, dinner, food very good.
The room felt like a cupboard.
No mattress protector and a stained mattress.
Receptionist on departure had little English and less manners.

Reviewed by
Carol B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overbooked
Shortely before travelling I received a call saying that the Corner House had overbooked, and they offered an 'upgrade' at another local hotel. This worked well, and the we were very comfortable.

Reviewed by
pamela skinner

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall our stay was fantastic, all the staff where really friendly, the breakfast was lovely with a huge choice of food. The only downside was that it could do with a lick of paint throughout and the room we stayed in had preciously had a leak through the ceiling which needed repairing, but nothing serious. I would definitely return to this hotel again

Reviewed by
K Barry

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional value at the discount price we paid for an overnight stay.
The meals were excellent with a wide choice of food available for breakfast. There was also a good early bird offer for evening meals (between 6 and 7 pm) but we over charged for this when we got the bill.
Our room was pleasant but in need of redecoation.

Reviewed by
Pamela B

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cornerhouse revisited
the hotel was good for its location to taunton town centre.
the room was adequate , but there was constant noise from the
boiler.
the decor needs upgrading.

Reviewed by
eric naidoo

From Northampton, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient location
Close to town centre, comfortable surroundings.

Reviewed by
Kim J

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent break
After a few hiccups concerning my reservation , we were very well received . The room was beautiful and the hotel perfectly situated for a wonderful stay in Taunton. Excellent breakfast and welcoming staff. Thank you

Reviewed by
A Ala

From Royston, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Looks Great but has Problems
The Corner House looks beautiful and has some lovely features, but does have some problems. Firstly, some of the rooms are in the annexe and not the main building. The annexe's decor is dated and a little run down; also all of the doors slam, so when people come in late they wake everyone up. The rooms are small and have really noisy drains, so that when ever you run water there is a terrible grinding sound. When I mentioned this on checking out they said that this was perfectly normal.

Reviewed by
M Knowles

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business stay
When i checked in, i thought the comment of the guy who checked me in was not required as he referred to the rate i paid and felt i should have paid more.
The room was small, and mattress was in nee if changing as yiu could feel springs when moving. Also the noise from the room above from creaking floorboards kept me awake.
The fan in bathroom went on for ages too.
The food was good and service good

Reviewed by
A Lloyd

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
The accomodation was comfortable and good value, but we noticed a strong musty smell, possibly from the toilet.

Reviewed by
pamela skinner

From Leighton Buzzard, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next