No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Corner House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Taunton, TA1 4DQ
We call our bedrooms here at The Corner House budget boutique.
Not only are they tremendous value for money but we asked you what you wanted from a bedroom in the heart of this wonderful county town of Taunton; A good nights sleep, A comfortable bed, A decent modern bathroom, an excellent television system and security - that's what we offer!

All bedrooms are unique and they all have their own bathroom with free Caroline Henry toiletries. Other facilities include flat-screen TVs, stocked minibars, tea/coffee and free water and milk.

The Wine and Sausage Restaurant specialises in traditional British food and we also have a wine shop in the restaurant. All wines are handpicked from around the world and we can offer you tasting session to enjoy before your evening meal.
A room service option is also available within the hotel.

FREE Wifi is available throughout the hotel and FREE public parking is also available (no reservation needed).
Breakfast can be added at the booking stage to any room only rates for £10.00 per person.
Picture of The Corner House Hotel, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Attic Room
I was put in room 5 that is on the second floor of the hotel, and is accessed via a rather steep set of stairs. The room itself is very nice as it has two velux window that allow a great deal of light and good ventilation to the room, the downside of this is that often the smell of smokers and the noise of them talking drifts up from outside the reception doors. The other issue that I had on this occassion is that there was no milk or water in the room, however this was dealt with as soon as i raised it

Reviewed by
Andy G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good but not great
Overall this hotel was clean and comfortable, it suited our needs as it was centrally located and the breakfast was excellent, as were the staff that served it. However I think with a bit more research I could have found a similar hotel cheaper

Reviewed by
r barker

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean but very small, there was music blaring out till 12 am and we were not far from being above it so couldn't get to sleep until it had been turned off, we had somewhere to be early in the morning so wasn't very happy with this, if we would have known we wouldn't have stopped there. Definitely don't think it was worth £70 it needs updating.

Reviewed by
Jenny N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay at a bargain price

Reviewed by
David M

From Kirkcaldy, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quite simply the worst hotel experience we have ever had
Our stay coincided with a large wedding party, our room was directly above the disco which was so loud we could not hear the tv. When the disco finished the guests kept us awake until 4 am by running around the corridors & banging doors. The restaurant was understaffed leading to a 40 minute delay in being served & 20 minutes between courses. My wifes meal had been kept under lights for so long it was rendered inedible, we sent it back to the kitchen & received no apology or acceptable explanation regarding the meal, other dinner guests upon seeing the main course laughed & said "we hope you're not hungry". We tried to raise a complaint, along with other guests but the manager was not available either in the evening or the following morning. When we asked for a discount due to the poor service we were told that would not be possible.
We feel both hotels & late rooms should always make it known to customers if there are any noisy functions on before any bookings are taken, or is it they just don't care?

Reviewed by
i carling

From Kidwelly, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some constructive criticism...
We had a very pleasant welcome by the staff, the lobby was lovely and luxurious and were shown to our room; which wasn't dirty, but felt a little musty which made it feel less clean if that makes sense... If the sheets had smelt freshly laundered and been softer it would've been better.
When we arrived in the room the carpet and sheets felt slightly damp, and we found out why when I used the shower and the bathroom ventilator didn't have much effect. All the windows steamed up, and the ceiling was dripping with condensation. (Couldn't open the bathroom window as it opened straight onto the car park and easy to see in!)
The bed side lights did not work, and all the other lights in the room (ceiling, mirror, dressing table) were on together - no option of just switching the smaller cosy lights on, it was all or nothing!
Luckily we were only staying for one night, and so weren't too bothered, but I wouldn't call the room pleasant to stay in. (We stayed in room 48? at the back of the building with its own door going out to the car park)
The chilled water in the fridge was an excellent idea, and the staff were all very nice. It was just the quality of the room that let us down.

Reviewed by
P Snowball

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel for the price
Was a nice room, booked a compact but seemed much bigger than compact (was concerned after looking at previous reviews about ompac size) so not sure if we were put in standard. Nice touches such as milk, small fridge, hot choc, large towels etc. a few things to mention but nothing that would put me off going agin. Called for room service and was told would be ok, they called back 5 mins to say kitchen was closed. Receptionist was apologetic, is no big deal, if I was that hungry I could have gone for a walk. Also breakfast service was slow, the waiter seemed to disappear for ages at a time, but again pleasant and we weren't in a rush. Overall nice hotel and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Naomi B

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Compact room but adequate, breakfast choice second to none well presented good quality food, can strongly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Tam Wilson

From Castle Douglas, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This room was advertised as a £50 saving, I would of been extremely disappointed if I had paid the full amount. My wife and I where allocated room 14 which turned out to be above some kind of unit that sounded like a helicopter was landing during the night. On mentioning it to reception on departure I was advised if I booked again to stress I didn't want room 14. Not what I call good customer service and certainly wouldn't recommend or stay again.

Reviewed by
P Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late arrival
Arrived after nine and went straight to bed so cant comment on evening meal or bar but neither were busy on a Thursday! Room was ok small but ok think it was above delivery bay as from very early morning there was a lot of crashing and banging below. Breakfast was ok although staff never informed me cereals and fruit etc were in another room, no refill offered on the coffee and never got the toast i ordered.

Reviewed by
G Webster

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next