No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Corner House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Park Street , Taunton, TA1 4DQ
We call our bedrooms here at The Corner House budget boutique.
Not only are they tremendous value for money but we asked you what you wanted from a bedroom in the heart of this wonderful county town of Taunton; A good nights sleep, A comfortable bed, A decent modern bathroom, an excellent television system and security - that's what we offer!

All bedrooms are unique and they all have their own bathroom with free Caroline Henry toiletries. Other facilities include flat-screen TVs, stocked minibars, tea/coffee and free water and milk.

The Wine and Sausage Restaurant specialises in traditional British food and we also have a wine shop in the restaurant. All wines are handpicked from around the world and we can offer you tasting session to enjoy before your evening meal.
A room service option is also available within the hotel.

FREE Wifi is available throughout the hotel and FREE public parking is also available (no reservation needed).
Breakfast can be added at the booking stage to any room only rates for £10.00 per person.
Picture of The Corner House Hotel, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 150 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't be tempted to book a compact double room. They are not suitable for other than single occupancy

Reviewed by
Eric H

From Bridgend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good but a bit of a queue on booking out of hotel

Reviewed by
C Hallett

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced 3 star hotel
Sadly this hotel initially shows promise and whilst the room I stayed in was quite spacious, being at the front of the building and having very poor double glazing meant it was noisy and upon my arrival I found the front window section to be open, when I went to close it I realised that it was open to allow smokers to have cigarette out the window (this was evident by the 20-30 cigarette buts on the small balcony) in a non smoking room??
There was no pressure in the shower and it barely got warm enough to shower in and in the morning there was obviously so little water pressure that the hand basin had no cold water at all.
The restaurant had a charm about it and the evening meal was actually quite pleasant, however you could not really enjoy the bar area as there are only 2 stools and 2 chairs and whilst there is an annex area of the bar it is set out with tables and chairs and is isolated to from the other areas and if you wanted to sit in a room on your own you have already paid for a room!!
The breakfast service was very slow and whilst they were offering cooked to order breakfast if you are going to do that it should not take 30mins to arrive and when it does the scrambled egg should not be dry and look like it has sat for 30 mins.
Finally when checking out it might be an idea for the receptionist to actually enquire as to your stay rather than just handing you a bill without looking up, for a 3 star hotel that is more expensive than all the 4 star hotel chains I had used over the previous week?

Reviewed by
Mark C

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great but shame about the mattress
The hotel was lovely, the food was great and had a nice atmosphere! The only problem was the mattress was so lumpy! Really poor quality, springs digging in every time you moved a real shame!

Reviewed by
Holly S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money. good position .
would go back here again.

Reviewed by
j egan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over all a great stay that was value for money. Staff were friendly but checking in and out was rather slow. Parking was difficult and we had to park in a space that could have caused damage to our car and blocked other guests in.

Reviewed by
J Foulger

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in Taunton
This was my first business trip to Taunton and the Corner House was a most excellent hotel in which to spend it. Good parking, clean and stylish hotel with a frankly unbelievable range of wines on sale in the bar (which sadly I didn't get to sample) as well as a couple of real ales on tap and more by the bottle. I didn't have dinner in the evening as their prices were a little out of my budget but the breakfast was excellent. The rooms, whilst small, were well equipped with free Wi-Fi which was suitable for my business use (I was able to use my sercure VPN connection which is not always the case). The only sour note was at check out when the guest in front was havinig difficulty paying her bill becuase of a fault with the card machine. Whilst it was not the staff's fault that the machine went wrong I feel certain that the problem could have been resolved quicker than it took and there was only one computer so guests could only check out one at a time. Add to this, the phone kept ringing and being answered by the staff who were trying to resolve the credit card problem. It was a frustrating experience that could have been dealt with better. Nevertheless I really enjoyed the experience overall. Should I have need to stay in Taunton again I will be checking for space at the Corner House first!

Reviewed by
Denis Golden

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excelent receptionist

Reviewed by
p french

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good
Dinner and breakfast excellent and staff were friendly, very good value and would stay here again

Reviewed by
P HARRIS

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
We found the hotel an ideal place for a short stay we had. good situation, parking, and great food in the restaurant. thanks

Reviewed by
Peter K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next