The Corner House Hotel

3

Park Street, Taunton, TA1 4DQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (153)

75% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Susan R

  • September 2014

Fantastic value would stay again

I holiday in North Devon every year and break up the journey by stopping overnight on the Friday.

The lowest rate I could find for the usual road side 'inns' was mid £60s so searched LateRooms for a better deal and found The Corner House, ideally situated, with a deal of a compact double room including breakfast for £45!. Fantastic value, friendly, clean and the food stunning. The room is compact as in the description but has everything you would need for an overnight stay. I will definitely stay next year.

  • Sarah C

  • September 2014

Central location, friendly staff, room adequate, noisy location

We chose this hotel as convenient for visiting a relative in hospital.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant (separate business) was excellent. The room itself was a little tired and not the cleanest (not filthy, but bits of debris on the carpet in places etc). The weather was very warm and the only opening windows in our ground floor room were French windows which left the room completely insecure, but luckily a large floor standing fan was available. Be aware the hotel is on a busy road, but with the windows closed and fan on all night the traffic noise was less than the fan. Great central location, very pleasant staff but could do with a little TLC in the rooms.

  • james e

  • September 2014

Great little place for budget traveller

no complaints, good room, ok place

  • Ann H

  • September 2014

Very pleasant

Very pleasant stay.

Our room was at the back and was quiet, the road at the front was quite busy

  • P Hancock

  • August 2014

On arrival our reception could have been better.

The receptionist came to the desk - but not to talk to us, but to continue a telephone call, another colleague came and continued the call in front of us. We drifted away and waited, so as not to intrude privacy. There was an apology, but not a good first impression.

Our room was a ' compact room', it was on the small side and up at the top of the hotel. We had to get our bags up winding stairs, no lift. The key system was not working properly so we held a card and had to show this to the reception so that they could open our door with a master card. A little inconvenient, but a good keep fit exercise for the reception staff to run up and down each time. Everything in the room was OK but the mattress was well used, very springy and it dipped in the middle, so not a completely restful night for me.

The food was good at the hotel, we enjoyed the 'sausage and wine' which the hotel specialises in. The breakfast was good too. A character hotel, originally Victorian/Edwardian I would imagine, lots of old features retained.

  • Angelina K

  • August 2014

Ok for to crash for a night

Terribly dirty.

Even towels are dirty. Don't have proper keys for the room so you have to actually get receptionist to let you into your room every time you leave. There was couple who moved out of there just because of how dirty it was. Needs some refurbishment for sure - they say they going to start some next winter

  • Frank F

  • August 2014

Really enjoyed the break

Staff are very good here especially Andy the Deputy Manager and Mary behind the bar.

The Key card entry system was down and all the staff where up and down the stairs opening the guest doors all with a smile all day long. The rooms are quality and beds are comfy. Breakfast you have a big choice and they happily change your order if there is a certain way like something. Can't wait to go back next year

  • M Ward

  • August 2014

Key card machine wasn't working. They said that it could not be repaired for a week.

The room was dangerous as far as I was concerened.

Step into bathroom very small but couldn't be seen, expecially at dusk. Room badly designed. Bed right against window wall. This meant you had to scabble across bed to get to one side of it. Not good at 66 years of age, even though I am reasonable fit. Several flight of stairs to get to room. If the Ironing board and iron were removed. Wardrobe could have been put on that wall with dressing table/tea making facilities and the bed could then be moved along making access better. Our room was very noisy, it was over what appeared to be the kitchen area and an alley where clients/staff (not sure which) would go for a "fag" and of course much laughter and noise occurred. Not a problem but when you have just driven 700 miles up France and across from the Tunnel, not good for very very tired people. We were attending my sister funeral and needed to be in Taunton to take my brother to same and return to Taunton afterwards. I could have done without having to find a member of staff everytime I needed to access my room, however, the staff were very good. Polite even under stress. Breakfast wasn't earlier enough for us as we needed to be away from the hotel at 7 on both days and Breakfast didn't start until 6.30 and the hot breakfast not until 7 which was too late. I am sure that for business guests it would be more convient to have breakfast commencing at 6am with cooked commencing no later than 6.30. I would not stay at this hotel again

  • Dominic J

  • August 2014

Would stay again

A quirky but decent hotel, even having its own wine shop.

The staff were great, although when we stayed the door cards weren't working and so we needed to be shown to our room each time. Not their fault, just a computer glitch. The room was clean and comfortable but surprisingly small. I imagine some are normal size. We can't comment on the food as it was room-only. I would certainly consider staying again.

  • Dermott S

  • August 2014

Noisy, wifi kept crashing.

Would not stay again.