The Racquet Club

3

Hargreaves Building 5 Chapel Street, Liverpool, L3 9AG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (10)

40% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • l bradley

  • December 2014

so disappointing

For the money it cost the room was not up to standard at all.

I had heard such lovely things about this hotel and was really looking forward to my stay.

The radiators were broke, they had put a blow heater in the room, so obviously knew they werent working. but it wasnt enough I was freezing trying to get ready for my night out.

Also there was no mirror in the bedroom therefore i struggled to use my straightners as the mirror was in the bathroom where there are obviously no plug sockets.

i will not be staying here again and I have told people exactly what this hotel does NOT have to offer.

  • j barrett

  • September 2014

Awful bedroom which was a real shock after reading some reviews about bespoke, individually themed rooms etc.

Overall the room was tiny, cramped, dirty, damaged blinds and paintworks, dark and depressing. Certainly overpriced for the quality of the room.

An excellent waitress in restaurant and our evening meal was good.

  • Alex H

  • September 2014

Dated!

Clearly once a really nice place to stay the hotel is now dated and needs investment.

The mattress in particular was old saggy uncomfortable and ready for retirement.

  • Stephen Linstead

  • August 2014

Great character and warmth

Lovely quirky old gentleman's squash club with a very good restaurant.

After stumbling upon the place and enjoying an excellent lunch, we discovered they had 8 rooms and I booked for two nights. The rooms are furnished with traditional, indeed antique furniture (mine had a leather inlaid desk and marble topped beside cabinets). Luxurious comfortable bed, tight in the heart of the city, only a couple of hundred metres from the Princess Dock, yet quiet and tranquil. Very helpful and friendly staff. A real find. Great gym, and even a waxing salon in the basement. Only downside - the wife signal difn't reach the top floor - it csn't be too hard or too costly to fix that surely. With that in place, it would have been perfect. Loved it.

  • Jonathan Duckett

  • July 2014

Weekend away in Liverpool

The hotel was very well positioned and was in close proximity to the town centre and docks, where you will find most of Liverpool's tourist attractions.

The hotel reception staff were very helpful and welcoming and my girlfriend and I felt very comfortable on our stay at the Racquet Club hotel. The only gripe I have was that I thought the breakfast was overpriced at £12 for a full English. I feel that is quite deer for a cooked breakfast but I can't complain too much because it was very enjoyable.

We will go back to Liverpool and we would be more than happy to stay at the Racquet club again, as it is a very good hotel.

  • W Hutton

  • January 2014

The Racquet Club

Nice, clean accommodation for a break right in the heart of the city of Liverpool.

  • Val T

  • December 2013

racquet club one night stay

Hotel very close to river; staff welcoming; room too hot and shower could have done with a steam clean but otherwise the accommodation was clean and comfortable.

There was a wedding taking place in the evening on the floor below us but we weren't disturbed by music in our room. Breakfast was relaxed.

  • Steve W

  • October 2013

Could have been really good, but left with vague disappointment.....

We'd not 'stayed over' in Liverpool before, and tried to pick somewhere that looked a bit different, a bit more 'one-off'', a bit more characterful.

The Raquet Club seemed to tick most of the boxes...... Firstly, the lady on reception was excellent. Lovely and friendly, and efficient, and tried her very best to have our room ready early as we'd arrived a couple of hours ahead of schedule. Thanks for doing that, we really appreciated it. It's easy to see what they are trying to do here, by being more 'individual' than the surrounding chains. The building itself is looks the part, and the first impressions in the reception area with the impressive period staircase certainly whetted our appetite for the place. However.... there still has to be the element of quality there. There were just a few too many little 'niggles' for us to really enjoy our stay unfortunately. We fancied a drink in the hotel bar/ lounge as it looked quite nice on the pictures on the website only to be told that both the downstairs and upstairs were unavailable due to private functions So, there was nowhere in the hotel for us to relax apart from the room. Ok then, we'll just have to get over that..... Next, we tried to book a table for dinner in the 'Award-winning' Ziba restaurant (which again looked very nice on the website) only to be told that the restaurant doesn't open on a Saturday. Well, that's not what the Hotel website says. We were looking forward to eating there, but I suppose we maybe should have tried to book ahead but didn't think we would have to, especially as we would have wanted to eat quite early. (Still, I suppose it saved us the thick end of another £100.)

The room - Characterful 'shabby chic'-ish is fine. No problem with that, it works for us. The 'threadbare curtain' look is not such a good one however. And sort the TV out!. How hard can it be to, at the very least, get a decent digital aerial. Comfy bed though. Impressive bathroom, spacious, well fitted and better than the room itself to be honest. Went out in the town in the evening and on returning there was a note stuck on the door with a mobile number to call for access. We usually don't bother taking our phones out, so it's a good job I had taken mine by chance or we might still be standing there now. It might be a good idea to remind people on the way out to check that they have a mobile with them. Unusual. (Hint - take some earplugs. The church bells started at about 8.45 on the sunday morning which is not so clever if you've had a late night (as we had). We do realise this is nothing to do with the hotel though of course, and anywhere in that area would be the same!!).

I've just read the above back, and we sound like a right couple of whingers. Well we're not, honest. We really wanted to like this place because it's a great location. As we'll be coming back to Liverpool a few times in the next few months, it would have been really nice to have thought 'this is the place for us' for every time we return. The staff were lovely, but there's something 'not quite right'. Which is a shame. I've ticked that we wouldn't stay again, which sounds a bit mean. To re-iterate, we really, really wanted to really, really like it here!. But we honestly felt that we weren't given enough reason not to try the myriad of other hotels in the area in the future. Sorry. Sort yourselves out a bit, and we'd probably reconsider. It wouldn't take that much really.

  • A WORRALL

  • September 2013

attention to detail

The channels on the TV weren't all available....no ITV1 to watch the champions league game on terrestrial ; if you advertise TV in room I think the very least to expect is that the TV has the minimum number of basic channels in operation .

Although I complained at reception, they were very slow to offer any kind of solution, by which time I was missing too much of the game and lost all confidence that I would get to see it at all (so had to go to pub).

The bath was great but the shower over it was rubbish. I had a great bath but would have preferred a great shower and saved some water to boot.

  • adrian spence

  • August 2013

Dust dust and more dust

Filthy headboard covered in months of dead skin.

Dust on pictures, stains on curtains, view was a flat roof with little day light. tv Remote control filthy!!. Door handle in bathroom falling off. TV remote batteries dead. Note stuck on front door stating ring this number if returning after 11pm!. If someone had removed this note we would not have got back in. Spent a small fortune on parking and then had to get up at 8am to put another ticket on my dash or I would have had to fork out for a parking fine. This hotel must be avoided. These are mine and my wife's thoughts on this terrible place to stay.