No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Rowton Lane,Rowton , Chester, CH3 6AD
Set in over eight acres of award winning private gardens and grounds - Rowton Hall Hotel is just 1 mile from Chester City Centre. The Hall, originally build in 1779, stands on Rowton Moor - the site of a major battle of the English Civil war between the Royalists and Parliamentarians. Established as a hotel in 1955, it still retains many of the features of the original Hall including extensive oak panelling, a self supporting hand carved staircase, an original Inglenook fireplace and an elegant Robert Adam fireplace. Rowton Hall is renowned fot its warm informal country house welcome. The hotel offer a number of extras including spa facilities and extras in the rooms. Please note some noise may be experienced when we have functions taking place. Unfortunately children under 6 are not permitted in our swimming pool.
Picture of Rowton Hall Hotel and Spa, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
Lovely hotel setting and would return.

Reviewed by
M Mistry

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary break
Me and my husband got married here two years ago and returned to celebrate our anniversary... from the moment we walked in we were so well looked after, the staff were wonderful, the hotel was immaculate and the surroundings beautiful. The food in the restaurant was exceptional and the room we stayed in was gorgeous. The staff couldn't do enough for us and made the stay very enjoyable. I would recommend Rowton to anyone.

Reviewed by
L JONES

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel set in a lovely area
Was really happy with our stay here, absolutely stunning hotel and we had a large room with lovely bathroom. 10 minute drive from the zoo and town centre it was ideal for us.

Reviewed by
Victoria S

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, great staff, great atmosphere
We stayed here for one night on 9th June 2014. Room was lovely! We were both extremely happy with everything. The swimming pool was very clean, and so were the other facilities we used. If we had to be picky, the only slight negative was that the hotel was very hot. Perhaps this is something a lot of people like, personally I prefer a cooler bedroom. There was a fan provided which was of some help but being on a timer, it would turn off after about an hour. All in all, we felt Rowton Hall was excellent and we will be returning

Reviewed by
Alan Jones

From Caersws, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional
I did not want to come home, we were only there for the night as we were attending a wedding at Peckfotan Castle. The room was beautiful and so clean I was over the moon when we walked in as I am quite a hard person to please lol. The staff were so friendly and made us feel exceptionally special like we were the only people staying there, nothing was to much for them. Really didn't want to come home.

Reviewed by
Joanne Faulkner

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
I would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff at Rowton Hall , they were extremely friendly and very welcoming. We arrived a couple of hours early but they were very accommodating by letting us have our room which was really nice and clean .Its ideally situated in a lovely rural location but only a couple of miles from Chester and having the park and ride around the corner is really good. We used The spa and pool which we enjoyed and this was also very clean . We had a bar evening meal which wasn't available on a Saturday night but when we asked about food they asked what we would like and before we knew it it was brought to us on the outside terrace ! now that's service .. We have stayed in numerous 4 / 5 star hotels in Chester however this is the one we will return to in the next couple of months . Thanks again Pat and Lisa

Reviewed by
P Brown

From Rugeley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic 1 day spa break so relaxing and being spoilt.
Rowton Hall was fantastic from start of break at reception, when we arrived early and was able to use spa facilities, to entering our rm which had been upgraded and was amazing very spacious very clean everything u needed, dinner in the evening was in with our stay, the waiters in the bar and also the restaurant were exceptional, we really was being spoilt, drinks being carried for us nothing was too much. breakfast was fantastic and plenty, spa was excellent loved steam rm and loungers at poolside, would definitely stay again if money allowed. Thankyou.

Reviewed by
teresa boyd

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel fantastic room.
staff very professional and polite

Reviewed by
a harris

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historic feel with modern quality
Very nice outlook with lovely grounds and very welcoming staff. Only 1 sitting for dinner which after a 7 hour drive left only 20 minutes for a quick shower for 7.30 dinner. Took 25 minutes to get taken to table from bar where I was waiting patiently and would have preferred to have had this time to wind down in room after dirve. Very attentive waitng staff and cuisine was very nice for the price which was very reasonable. Standard room was perfectly ample and cannot fault.
Would I stay here again - yes

Reviewed by
Scott J

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Good Hotel
We stayed one night on a DB&B package. The hotel was extremely well maintained and the food in the restaurant was excellent. We will definitely stay again and would thoroughly recommend the hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Penny S

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next