No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
63 City Road , Chester, CH1 3AF
*Have a drink on us** with selected BB rates. Enjoy a free drink per person per night until end August 2014. Book our Special Offer room types. SEE EXCLUSIONS BELOW.

Just 100 metres from Chester Rail Station, the Westminster has free Wi-Fi and a contemporary bar and restaurant. A grand, wooden staircase and a stained glass window are features of the Best Western.
Local and regional dishes and a full English breakfast are served in the Best Western Westminster Hotel's air-conditioned bar and restaurant which features a bold and modern decor.
All rooms have a traditional colour scheme and feature dark wood furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer are provided in each room.
The historic Grosvenor Park and the River Dee are less than 700 metres from the Westminster Hotel. Chester city centre is less than 10 minutes’ walk away and canal-side pubs and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The M53 motorway is 5 minute’s drive away.
Car parking is available at our Sister Hotel The Queen, £10.00 per night Mon-Thurs and £15.00 per night Fri-Sun. Ample on road parking and low cost pay and display right next door (free 6pm-9am).

Picture of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 223 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for a couple of nights in chester
Wasn't sure of what the hotel would be like ..great and not so great reviews. Very pleased with everything ..service as we arrived which was earlier than booking in time was very helpful staff were quite happy to take our bag while we had a wonder, the same when we booked out ,quite happy to keep our bag until our train , giving us a full day with no bag. Room was fab (108) The lighting made us smile as looked as someone had tried swinging off it .. but the room as a whole was great even though a little warm..Breakfast was our dream absolutely fab..I wouldnt come to Chester again without booking into this hotel and would reccommend it to anyone wishing to visit Chester.. We found everything accessible from this hotel.. Had a great time.

Reviewed by
A Wilford

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended

Reviewed by
E James

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean with lots of character, Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Easy access to town and a very short distance from the train station made for an easy visit to Chester

Reviewed by
C Bracken

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
paul semple

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value

Reviewed by
a mills

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the Best Western I have stayed in.
Bathroom was somewhat dated with tiles missing, towels where also past their best.

Reviewed by
Anthony Hoban

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good

Reviewed by
s edwards

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean room perfect for us
Stayed here before and although this time out room was a bit smaller it was still nice & staff where excellent & the morning breakfast was really nice only downside I got a very cold cup of coffe but otherwise superb

Reviewed by
Gavin E

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor quality rooms
I do not usually leave comments and generally are a bit cautious of comments left by others. However we stayed in room 125, August 15/16 for 2 two nights. The room did not reflect the images presented on the Best Western web page. Our room was small and looked tired. The bath had a large crack which had been repaired with filler, doors had peeling veneer, wall coverings were scuffed and damaged, probably due to the size of the room. Overall the room was very tired and in need of full refurbishment as was most of the hotel!!
For the money in its current condition a room is probably worth no more than £50/night (RO).
I will not be using this hotel again!!

Reviewed by
David W

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night in Chester
The hotel building itself was stunning. The staff was friendly and accommodating. Good value for the price. The hotel needs some updating though. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. But the toilet was broken and the neon light in the bathroom was headache inducing. Also the heater was on in the summer, and we couldn't figure out how to shut it off. At 8 am construction directly outside our window started and was still going on when we checked out. Also we asked about breakfast when we checked in and were told it was 7 to 10am but we went down at 9:30 and it was over. So make sure you double check. I would recommend this place for over night but not an extensive stay. Overall lovely hotel for the price you pay.

Reviewed by
R Pennal

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next