Reviews - BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel Chester


63 City Road, Chester, CH1 3AF

Price From 137.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (146)

71% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Elizabeth Ann F

  • September 2015


Old hotel with some creaking floorboards.

Rooms a little dark but clean and always a full bathroom and tea making facilities. Proximity to train station superb, which is why I have used this hotel several times as needed to catch train to London Heathrow en route to NZ, so with heavy luggage it is ideal. Staff are always lovely and helpful. Great value for money.

  • C Hughes

  • September 2015

Good value for money.

Good night sleep over a nice place to stay

  • Suzanne J

  • July 2015

Excellent Service

We had excellent service as soon as we arrived.

The hotel knew we had already pre-paid in advance (one of my worries after two rather bad experience on other booking site- which is why I now stick to laterooms :-D !) and they were so friendly and professional. Our rooms were on the first floor, lift was in good working order. Our room was nice, the only thing my fiancé noted was the toilet flush wasn't easy to work and the noise (water pressure) with the hot tap but otherwise was perfect in terms of what we needed. Warm looking room, comfy bed and pillows :) Staff were very helpful in finding a place to park (best to opt for the station carpark and pay £6 a night rather than the sister hotel carpark which is £15 a night). Breakfast was all you could eat the next day, the staff were once again lovely. Makes a huge difference being greeted with a hello and a smile. Thank you - we loved our stay

  • k booth

  • July 2015

The rooms are big enough but being put down in the basement in rooms with bars on the windows with a brick wall and bins as a view was a health hazard.

If there was a fire in room and you could not get to door ( which was hard to open as no handle to pull ) you would be trapped. There was no remote for small TV and the plug sockets was loose and dangerous. Safe to say would not stay again.

  • Pauline A

  • July 2015

Very small room

Wash basin minute.

Dark room. TV made a buzzing noise. One of bins was broken.

  • t fenwick

  • June 2015

BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel Chester

The room served its purpose didn't expect anything fancy clean and tidy.

Just what i wanted.

  • A Tandy

  • June 2015

BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel Chester

The Hotel, despite it's frequently atrocious TripAdvisor reviews, was remarkably nice.

Clean, well staffed, light and bright, and although the decor was older, appeared to me, classy. The Reception staff were pleasant, friendly and well mannered. The lady who checked me in, was informative and non-pressurizing. Our room (No. 221) was on the 2nd floor - the lift was a life saver at 3am- and was clean and tidy, but basic and tiny. Kind of hard to function in. It did the job for 1 night, but would've been difficult to stay in had we have been staying for a longer amount of time. Although the level of noise didn't bother my boyfriend and I, it was high from inside the hotel, I think it may have been whoever was cleaning. There was little noise from the street which pleasantly surprised me. Overall, it was a pleasant experience and I would definitely stay again. We did not eat in the hotel so I can't comment on the food. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Leon Wolk

  • June 2015

Our Review

Quite well situated hotel with nearby parking at the pub next door which is free all night and chargeable during the day.

We booked room only so cannot comment on food. Room was clean but basic

  • Edward M

  • June 2015

Weekend in Chester

Having stayed in this hotel in the past, I thought I knew what I was getting, however, this didn't prepare me for the cupboard we were given as a room, I will say, the Sunday morning, we asked if we could be moved to a larger room, given a lot of guests had checked out, this was accomodated for us.

  • Chris B

  • May 2015

Not bad but not great

TV only had 5 or 6 working channels, one of the beds was collapsed underneath.

Great staff, just not the best rooms. Not bad.