No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
63 City Road , Chester, CH1 3AF
*Have a drink on us** with selected BB rates. Enjoy a free drink per person per night until end August 2014. Book our Special Offer room types. SEE EXCLUSIONS BELOW.

Just 100 metres from Chester Rail Station, the Westminster has free Wi-Fi and a contemporary bar and restaurant. A grand, wooden staircase and a stained glass window are features of the Best Western.
Local and regional dishes and a full English breakfast are served in the Best Western Westminster Hotel's air-conditioned bar and restaurant which features a bold and modern decor.
All rooms have a traditional colour scheme and feature dark wood furnishings. Tea and coffee making facilities and a hairdryer are provided in each room.
The historic Grosvenor Park and the River Dee are less than 700 metres from the Westminster Hotel. Chester city centre is less than 10 minutes’ walk away and canal-side pubs and restaurants are within a 5 minute walk of the hotel. The M53 motorway is 5 minute’s drive away.
Car parking is available at our Sister Hotel The Queen, £10.00 per night Mon-Thurs and £15.00 per night Fri-Sun. Ample on road parking and low cost pay and display right next door (free 6pm-9am).

Picture of BEST WESTERN Westminster Hotel, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 232 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 74% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my second time and it keeps getting better - cant fault this place

Reviewed by
julie p

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable
Typical Best Western hotel. Good value for money but very hot!

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated
Hotel could do with a refit. Interior is very dated and tired.
Felt more like an old peoples home than a hotel.
Staff were friendly and the food was good.

Reviewed by
stuart e

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely

Reviewed by
mary o

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, tiny room :)
Hotel in general - well-presented, bit past its best but still quite nice. Biscuits on the reception desk, which was a nice touch.
My room (#123) - I had to give the door a bit of a kick before it would open, then entered the tiniest room in the world. My single bed was immediately to the right of the door (i.e. behind it as I entered) and there was approx 1.5ft of floor space between the bed and the parallel wall, for access. All perfectly clean, which was nice. Bathroom had a great shower; however the toilet flush stuck and I had to go into the cistern and prod stuff at 4am, which wasn't ideal. I did tell the hotel of this fault as I left.
The window was open when I arrived, but I only know that because I got quite close to it (netting and heavy curtains obscuring view). Since I got back late and there was roof access to my room via the window, I was very glad I closed it as someone could easily have got in. Maybe not such a good idea to leave windows to easily-accessible rooms open before guests arrive.
Overall, a decent room for the price. Tiny though! I wouldn't have been happy to stay if I disliked small spaces..... I think the hotel needs to mention this in its advert. I suggest the following wording (feel free to adapt this): "This room is compact but does have everything you'll need for a great night's stay. If you feel that you might need more space, please let us know and we'll see if it's possible to upgrade you."
I'd probably stay again, to be fair.

Reviewed by
Hanna M

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for 1 night or 2 nights, however expect parking fee sting from hotel
The cost for the room is about right, considering location/building age and comfort, however breakfast is extra,too expensive for quality, we stopped in wether spoon pub (10 min walk) or supermarket on way out of town, the stinger that bugs me most though that was not advised well before booking was the parking fees, £15 a night to use the hotel parking is scandal, I expect this in London not Chester if I knew this before it would have effected my choice, parking should be free for residence, I only recommend if you arrive by train or coach but make cheaper arrangements for breakfast.

Reviewed by
Andy King

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit of a mix up with the room but staff couldn't of been any better about it. Ended up having one of the best hotel stays I've ever had and I wasn't even drinking or having one of those nights away (you all know the ones!)
See you next year!

Reviewed by
Simon N

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor city centre hotel
Very small room with very basic features located at the top of some stairs with only a small high level sky-light. It was located in a part of the hotel that looked like it was formerly staff live-in accommodation over a back-room stairwell. Decor and cleanliness passable, but rather tired. Sky-light had never been cleaned inside or out. Poor value for money and well below normal city centre large hotel group standards. We paid £89 for a double room without breakfast - the Premier Inn opposite charges less and offer a better standard of accommodation. I didn't feel ripped off, but I felt disappointed at the quality of the room allocated. The hotel was fully booked for the night (Pride event and Chester Marathon weekend) so there was no point requesting a room change. Had I been staying more than one night I would have probably found other accommodation elsewhere or asked to change rooms.

Reviewed by
A Fisher

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great nights sleep!!
me and my partner stayed there for a night out and found the gentleman on reception helpful and friendly and the room was lovely not massive but enough room for us both and very cosy breakfast buffet was well worth the money and the waiter/waitresses couldnt do enough

Reviewed by
victoria p

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
.

Reviewed by
Eivind N

From Stjørdal, Norway
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next