No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mill House Hotel

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Basingstoke Road, swallowfield, Reading, RG7 1PY
A fine Georgian independently run hotel dating back to 1823. Situated in the beautiful Berkshire countryside with spectacular gardens overlooking the River Loddon. Individually designed en-suite accommodation. Free WIFI in public areas and bedrooms. 5 miles from Reading City centre, 40 minutes from London Heathrow Airport. Friendly and attentive service in a relaxed atmoshere. Ample free car parking. Dogs allowed with prior arrangement.
Picture of Mill House Hotel, Reading at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Visited this hotel for 1 night while on business. My room was simple, clean and comfortable, breakfast was delicious and the garden looked lovely. Would certainly return when in the area in future

Reviewed by
David M

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

£89 for a single bed on a monday night without breakfast is pushing it
overpriced, and no attempt to find alternative or offer some gesture. room is also right next to kitchen fan ducts. Thus noisy with window open. no aircon.... £89?

Reviewed by
J Lihou

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning little find!
The hotel is very good, but all I want to talk about is the food!
It was incredible, fine dining - I don't have a cultured pallet but I was blown away. it was like something out of masterchef.
Highly recommended
Hats off to the chef!

Reviewed by
A Giles

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
This hotel brings the comfort of a home from home with great food and service as a bonus.

Reviewed by
Sarah Ryan

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely independent accommodation
Fabulously Restored building
Good services
Friendly staff
My bathroom was small but had a spa bath with coloured lights - very relaxing
Dinner was perfectly acceptable and breakfast smelt good but I didn't have time to partake
Only negative - plumbing noisy ... overall fab

Reviewed by
Beege B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful find
A very late booking. In fact just hours before and what a lovely find. It exceeded all expectations and was a very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
s rossitter

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely gem of a hotel
This is a lovely, cosy and friendly hotel, offering a really personal service. Lovely rooms, great bar and dining room, excellent food. Some people might find the number of stairs and steps between the levels a problem, but thats an old building for you, and theres not much they can do about that. There is a beautiful garden as well at the back.
Service was superb, and when I asked advice about parking in Reading, I not only got sound and very helpful advice, but they looked up all the information I might need on the internet, and printed it out for me.
They do a lot of weddings, and have a marquee at the bottom of the garden for this. Having said this, they had one the day we were there, and it made no difference to the quality of our stay.
This definitely a place to go back to next time we need to stay near Reading.

Reviewed by
Tom C

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, easy to find, hotel set in lovely grounds with plenty of parking & tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. Staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
Gillian Long

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable accommodation and excellent food, although the restaurant and bar meals aren't cheap
A last-minute choice because the local Premier Inns (usual company-preferred hotel) were full. The room price was reasonable for the single room I had but eating there on a budget is not easy. Great restaurant for going out with a partner for a special meal, but on a budget of £20, you can't do it justice. The bar menu is a little cheaper and the food is still very good, but only had a selection of main meals.

Reviewed by
R Goodchild

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My review
My stay was pleasant, but the music in the restaurant on the first evening was intrusive and spoilt my meal. The waitress kindly turned it off, but the manager turned it back on again.

Reviewed by
Dave U

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next