You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Britannia Wigan

3

Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan, WN6 0SR

Price From 75.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (43)

30% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Suzanne H

  • June 2016

Hotel service

Satisfactory

  • Sabina A

  • June 2016

Britannia Wigan

I never leave a review but this was the worst experience I have had.

what a waste of money for a shabby room. this room wasn't ready for us when we arrived. The night staff did not know how to use the system to check us in and ended up giving me a room key without checking me in, which meant that I couldn't add late check out in the morning without asking several times. Also housekeeping had no idea we was staying in that room. the room bins were full of rubbish and food. The cups were used and had coffee from god knows when. all in all this is the worst experience and a waste of money for my weekend away.

  • M Aspey

  • May 2016

Sad

Not a great hotel, clean but very tired, nets & curtains hanging down, very sad washed out & old pictures on the wall, won't be staying there again however, the hotel staff were brilliant and very professional.

  • S Thomson

  • May 2016

Britannia Wigan

room extremely tired.

Needs some tlc. Did the job for me however as i was only stopping over for a few hours sleep

  • J Holland

  • January 2016

In need of a facelift

There are many areas of the hotel that need a bit of TLC - a bit of tidying and modernisation would really help to smarten the place up.

That said, it was tidy and I had no problems at all.

  • T Carter

  • December 2015

general comments

WC cracked, toilet seat broken, tiles cracked.

Bedroom light could not be switched off from the bed. Ceiling in bathroom and bedroom cracked. Walls have many rawlplugs' sticking out. Badly needing money spent on it. Pillows and bedding poor quality and the mattress was very firm

Restaurant closed at night, breakfast buffet ok, coffee awful. Half the hotel given over to asylum seekers which was all that was talked about by locals.

  • G Hilton

  • November 2015

Poor Service

I had a reservation at your hotel in Wigan, weekend past.

I was shocked at the service me and my family received. Once I checked into my hotel room I found urine still in the toilet which hadn't been flushed from a previous guest. There were only 1 towel and 1 hand towel for three people. The following day we arrived for breakfast at 09:50 to find everything was packed up, on all your hotel information leaflets it says breakfast finishes at 10:00. When I approached your receptionist I was told that breakfast finished at 09:45 which stated on the board. The board in which this message was posted was written on the board for coach party's, not all guests. This should be clearly printed on all room information leaflets and not the coach information board. My fiancée had an accident on the bedding the night before, we made the bed down and put the clean my room sign on our door at 10:45 that morning.

We left the hotel at 11:00 to go to a family birthday and arrived at 2300 to find our room had not been cleaned and our bed left exactly as we left it that morning. The cleaner had come into our room, dropped a towel on our bed, took the sign off our door and left.

To make our stay even worse our heating was off and our window was open, I called reception to be told the heating was off until the morning, we waited half an hour for our beds to be made and mobile heaters to be left in our room, so we didn't get to sleep until after midnight. My partner is disabled and couldn't lay on the bed and Our little girl who is 8 years old was freezing because of having no heating.

I find this service to be disgraceful. I have stayed in many hotels due to my job and this has to be the worse of them all. If I pay £151 for two nights I expect my room to be warm all the time as its winter and was -3 outside. I expect my room to be serviced as per hotel policy and I expect breakfast timings to be as stated.

  • Allan S

  • November 2015

Asylum seekers retreat

Hotel very tatty and tired bar closed at 1 am although signage stated open till 3 am for residents.

  • jo Littleover

  • September 2015

Shocking cleanliness

I reluctantly accepted the third room I was offered.

The first was dirty - when I sat down to work at the workstation/dressing table I could feel and see the dust sitting on the counter. The second had the same problem but the bed also looked like some one had been laying on it before I got there, the duvet didn't even reach the edge of the bed!. The third was a "suite" - I genuinely stood there contemplating my options but knowing how difficult it was to get a hotel room (Liverpool and Manchester were both playing at home!) I settled for this room. It was a little better on first glance although had to use detol wipes before using the surfaces. When I settled into the evening I discovered the television on the wall didn't work and so there was a tiny one there as a replacement. There was dust and cobwebs in every corner of the floor and ceiling - there was "stuff" stored under the bed and when I eventually went to bed the mattress felt like it was over 20 years old with springs and lumps etc.

  • Geoff Cave

  • September 2015

Overall Value For Money & My Views!!..

I requested a room that I could smoke in which was provided satisfactory, being a rare in this day of age and in my case very welcome.

However I have to ask ??., where was the Ash Tray being that not one was provided in my room. The Hotel in Standish was a little shabby and dated, while the staff did reflect this in their attitude towards the user (ie: me). I stayed for two nights while visiting my daughter in hospital, on a positive note I did sleep very well in the comfortable bed provided. Finally the hot and cold taps in the bathroom appear to have been in situ since the 1960's., being well past their sell by dates and extremely difficult to switch off (in terms of stopping the flow of water??. Not a problem I would have thought for an in house/ outside plumber??.