No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Wigan

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan, WN6 0SR
The attractive Britannia Wigan hotel is lined with greenery around the entrance and is located just off Junction 27 of the M6, halfway between Liverpool and Manchester.

The impressive spacious lobby is a great meeting place with soft furnishings and comfortable chairs to relax.
All 124 en-suite bedrooms are all modern in style and include purpose built Family rooms. Facilities include TV, Trouser Press, WIFI, Bath/Shower, Natural Daylight and Tea & Coffee making facilities.

The Almonds Brassiere is the main restaurant serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner serving a wide range of dishes for all guests. Additionally, there is the lounge bar that serves drinks and snacks during the day.

There is a fully equipped Leisure Club that has an impressive pool, £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.

The 15 Conference/Function rooms are ideal for both Business and Leisure guests and can accommodate up to 300 people combined with the first class facilities this is a perfect choice! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Wigan, Wigan at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 83 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel ever do not stay here
Found this hotel and I was in a hurry to find something so I didn't look at the reviews before I booked, which was a mistake! When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted with a dilapidated building that was falling apart. I was given a room and when I got to this room I was greeted with the absolute stench of cigarette smoke so I quickly made my way back to reception to complain. The front desk merely shrugged this complaint off as if it was a regular occurrence for them. I was given a second room and when I entered this room the beds weren't made properly which implies the bedding wasn't changed. I returned to the desk for a final time and got a refund. Never stay here!!!!

Reviewed by
K Reid

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular
I stay at this hotel quite often. Have to say this was the worst time I had been there.
The bed was rock solid. I tried to watch the World Cup final on a TV that was well past it's sell by date
Tried to have a bath and yes there was a warning sign up saying danger hot water but my days it didn't say danger this water will reaching boiling point.
I like this hotel it's value for money on my previous stays it's been ok but when the cleaning people are literally walking into your room at 10am the. Waiting outside for you to leave it gets a bit worrying. So unfortunately I won't be staying again.

Reviewed by
Mark E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty run down, rooms ready for refurb, TV did not work window could not be closed and even chef advised eating somewhere else !

Reviewed by
Keith D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unsatisfactory
Customer service was ok, staff in breakfast room was friendly and polite as was the receptionist but the bar staff could be doing with some training in customer service.
Cleanliness was a joke. Pets are welcome but I wouldn't recomend it. There was so much dust and hair under the bed our dogs nose was choked, disgusting. As was the other rooms bathroom, laden with long black hair.
The quality of the room was not to acceptible standard. In one bathroom the shower dipped all day and night. The towels provided were stained. Both toilets were cracked and should not be in use.
The value for money would be fine if the cleaning was to better standard.
The food was acceptible but not appealing. Breakfast runs to 10 am, we arrived at 9 and the food appeared to be stale and stodgy.
Its not family friendly as theres no entertainment. A pool table or some sort of amusement room would be appreciated.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Budget price = budget standard
Hotel is hilariously bad but you get what you pay for.
The plus side is that the staff seem to realise this and are more than welcoming - we asked to swap rooms, so we did

Reviewed by
Huw J

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its a bit tired but cheap and cheerful.
Like most Britannia hotels this one has seen better days and could do with a re-furb but when they are letting the rooms out cheap what can you expect. It was pretty clean and the staff where very nice and helpful so good value for money.

Reviewed by
m pink

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best budget hotel i've ever stayed in
Very good value for money,clean,great matreses,good tv reception, large car park, plenty of facilities and very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Ionut M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

None
None

Reviewed by
Daniel G

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dirty!
Outside was covered in cigarette ends, bin overflowing. Reception looked aged. Threadbare carpets on stairs, in the room the paintwork patchy and grubby looking, screw holes, bathroom grubby, carpet grubby. Dusty chairs, faint smell of cigarette smoke. Bedding was clean though. Couldn't shut window as catch broken so had to listen to the kitchen extractor fans and smell the grease. Very disappointing especially as supposed to be luxury room! Wish I had paid the extra £20 to stay the 2 nights at the premier Inn across the road!

Reviewed by
Sarah W

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel was easy to find just off the motorway, I found the staff very helpful and pleasant, the room was nice and clean, bedding and beds very clean. the food was fine, for value for money on the night, it was good, and at that price when I have to go up north again, I will have no problem staying at the Brittania Wigan

Reviewed by
B Hayton

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next