Britannia Wigan

3

Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan, WN6 0SR

Price From 74.63 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

All reviews (81)

41% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Hugh M

  • April 2015

Staff very friendly, room a bit tired re decor, breakfast sparse probably due to bus party before us

This is not a complaint, just observations

  • David B

  • April 2015

Britannia Wigan

Fantastic value, large hotel without the indifference of the large chains.

Real ale quiz pub 400yds.

  • E Latimer

  • April 2015

An overnight stay

The receptionist was very friendly.

The whole place needs an urgent update and deep clean. Our room was just about clean, the bed was very comfortable, we had a problem turning off the shower tap. We were the only ones in the dining room for breakfast and they turned the lights over the food off before we left. All in all not what we had expected.

  • S Douglas

  • March 2015

Britannia Wigan

Short staffed in the morning.

Breakfast items, cups, etc had run out and no sign of staff. I had to search for someone to come and help. I then found a manageress who sorted a refund and got things sorted out.

  • A Mackenzie

  • March 2015

Hotel

We only stayed one night with 2 dogs on a trip from Scotland to the south coast.

Was disappointed by the lack of complimentary toiletries as we had forgotten a face cloth and these are usually supplied in other hotels we have stayed in. Otherwise a very nice comfortable stay.

  • Chris D

  • March 2015

Fine

Outside lets this place down but went you get inside it a new world

  • L Pask

  • February 2015

Disgusted of a hotel

This hotel got from bad to worse.

The first room had a massive stain on carpet and the mattress had springs proding out bed and other problems, so asked to change room and that was a little better and then we ordered 2 sandwiches and it took over 35 mins to arrive and they looked so not eatable and the bar area where you can sit all chairs looked scruffy and ripped and also all the corridors flooring creeking when people walked past and that kept us awake most night. Went for breakfast aNd had to keep waiting for food as there were hardly nothing there and when we did the food looked half cooked and tasted non cooked so we had to leave half it and just wanted to leave as felt so disgusted n was ill. This made our stay feel so uncomfortable but the receptionist was lovely and the leisure facilities was ok apart from being charged.

  • B Fraser

  • January 2015

Really good hotel and customer

  • CATHERINE S

  • December 2014

Britannia Wigan

The hotel was filthy, although the beds were clean.

Graffiti on the walls and furniture. Carpets in reception and corridors were disgusting. Had a drink in the bar and was served with a drink that had been poured earlier. Ashtray outside the reception are was overflowing. This was what greeted us. The car park was full of litter. Very run down. Won't ever stay there again.

  • M Young

  • December 2014

Receptionists

The receptionist on duty on the evening of 11.12.14 when we arrived was extremely helpful, efficient and friendly, scoring top marks in my opinion.

However, the receptionist on duty on the morning of Saturday 13th was not so efficient. I had gone out of the hotel into the car park and nearly slipped on the extensive areas of ice, so I went back in to see the receptionist to recommend that she get someone to spread some salt or grit very quickly, because you had a party of elderly Scottish guests about to leave the hotel. I was told that there was no salt and that it was still on order. I suggest that this was entirely the wrong, if truthful, response and that some effort should have been made immediately to mitigate the possible accident(s) that could have befallen your elderly guests. Clearly your duty manager and senior general manager need to review their mandatory health and safety obligations and give better training and support to their staff.