No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Britannia Wigan

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Almond Brook Road, Standish, Wigan, WN6 0SR
The attractive Britannia Wigan hotel is lined with greenery around the entrance and is located just off Junction 27 of the M6, halfway between Liverpool and Manchester.

The impressive spacious lobby is a great meeting place with soft furnishings and comfortable chairs to relax.
All 124 en-suite bedrooms are all modern in style and include purpose built Family rooms. Facilities include TV, Trouser Press, WIFI, Bath/Shower, Natural Daylight and Tea & Coffee making facilities.

The Almonds Brassiere is the main restaurant serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner serving a wide range of dishes for all guests. Additionally, there is the lounge bar that serves drinks and snacks during the day.

There is a fully equipped Leisure Club that has an impressive pool, £4.00 for an adult and £2.00 for a child.

The 15 Conference/Function rooms are ideal for both Business and Leisure guests and can accommodate up to 300 people combined with the first class facilities this is a perfect choice! WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Britannia Wigan, Wigan at LateRooms
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
46% recommended this accommodation to a friend 51% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good price and comfortable room
Very nice hotel with comfortable room, but the breakfast was more greasy spoon than hotel. We ate fairly late and it was really untidy when we got in there with no table properly set. If I stayed again I'd stay room only.

Reviewed by
Andrew G

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

you get what you pay for
I would rate his hotel no more than 3* the room could do with brightening up the decorating needs to be fresher. The cutting in is poor.Bathroom was OK towels were small need to have bath towels. Looked like they had old towels need some new ones.Bed was comfortable but sheets were never changed during my stay.As I stated you get what you pay for I only needed somewhere to sleep during my working week.

Reviewed by
Keith Allen

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The worst menu I have seen in a hotel, had to order out due to no selection at all, fish and chips for almost £8.00? Bed sheets had long hair all over it, bathroom had mould around the bath trim and skirting was filthy in all rooms. Beds were uncomfortable however did manage to sleep on them. I understand you get what you pay for and for a one nights stay and after 7 hours of driving it was bearable, however that said, a base line standard for cleanliness is expected and someone really needs to look at the menu. A positive for this hotel was the ease of parking and the receptionist were actually very efficient and polite.

Reviewed by
D Smith

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired but priced accordingly
Tired hotel, held together with some great staff but in need of some time and investment to put matters where they should be. Dining room needed more than just a deep clean, windows were dirty, walls had food debris on them and wall paper was ripped, carpets throughout hotel were worn and shabby. With the backing of a hotel group such as this, this property should not be like this. Recommended only for a stopover but no more. £10 breakfast? Overpriced at the special offer of £5.50. Chef was helpful but clearly struggling with working guidelines from lack of senior management support. Shame.

Reviewed by
Stephen Rowe

From Teignmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rule Brittania?
room was basic but you get what you pay for.
The bad bit was the bathroom, it had damp on the ceiling and was very "tired"
When using the shower and the shower curtain correctly I still ended up with a huge puddle of water on the floor, meaning that every trip to the toilet afterwards left me with wet feet.

Reviewed by
Steffen P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was ok. Hotel in general was ok. The breakfast was discusting, there was no staff around, the food was vile with a very very basic selection. There was a fly in the orange juice, it was just over all very poor.. especially for the price!

Reviewed by
Vicky A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic and tired
This was an overnight stop on our way North.
The room was tired, faded pictures, stained carpet and a few dead flies on the ceiling. Plaster around the window was cracked and the frame itself was dirty. The sheets and bed were clean though. In the bathroom the sealant around the bath and quite a bit of the grouting was black with mould and it generally felt old tired and unloved.
If you only require a bed then it is adequate, I can't say anything more really.

Reviewed by
S Evans

From Chudleigh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated, dusty, tragic food! Please do not book
I have honestly never left a bad review before about anything or anywhere. But thought I should warn people about how bad this hotel was! I booked this as a bit of a romantic night away for me and my partner as it was nearby and the pics looked like it was a nice hotel with leisure facilities (what a joke). When we arrived on a Sunday we checked in and had an hour in the room before going for a swim only to find that the facilities closed at 3pm!!!!! Such a disappointment! We then changed and went to the bar, football was on sky tv was on what liked like a 200 year old TV on the wall but froze every 5 seconds ( that's no exaggeration). No wonder there was nobody in it!. We went for tea I. The Fayre and square across the road which was lovely. Bedtime and me and my partner was sneezing all night because of the dust in the bedroom that stunk of stale old things. The breakfast was disgusting, the milk was literally 'off' and after having a bite of the Luke warm sausage I had to spit it out before I vomited. So we decided to have a swim and a spa ( seen as though this was my main reason for booking) only to be told we had to pay to use it!!! Anyway we did and the facilities were small, dangerous and very very very dated. I wish I would of stayed at home and cooked a nice meal, so angry and disappointed!

Reviewed by
Louise M

From Heywood, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel ever do not stay here
Found this hotel and I was in a hurry to find something so I didn't look at the reviews before I booked, which was a mistake! When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted with a dilapidated building that was falling apart. I was given a room and when I got to this room I was greeted with the absolute stench of cigarette smoke so I quickly made my way back to reception to complain. The front desk merely shrugged this complaint off as if it was a regular occurrence for them. I was given a second room and when I entered this room the beds weren't made properly which implies the bedding wasn't changed. I returned to the desk for a final time and got a refund. Never stay here!!!!

Reviewed by
K Reid

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular
I stay at this hotel quite often. Have to say this was the worst time I had been there.
The bed was rock solid. I tried to watch the World Cup final on a TV that was well past it's sell by date
Tried to have a bath and yes there was a warning sign up saying danger hot water but my days it didn't say danger this water will reaching boiling point.
I like this hotel it's value for money on my previous stays it's been ok but when the cleaning people are literally walking into your room at 10am the. Waiting outside for you to leave it gets a bit worrying. So unfortunately I won't be staying again.

Reviewed by
Mark E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next