No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
293-297 Edge Lane,Fairfield , Liverpool, L7 9LD
Set within landscaped gardens in quiet surroundings, Devonshire House Hotel is an elegant Georgian building with FREE Wi-Fi and FREE PARKING . Liverpool city centre and the M62 motorway are just over 1 mile away.

Each spacious en suite room at Devonshire House Hotel features Freeview TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. Some rooms have stunning views across the grounds.

The hotel’s Four Seasons restaurant serves a bistro menu along with a wide-ranging wine list. There is also a lounge bar and traditional pub for guests to enjoy drinks in relaxed surroundings.

Restaurant Open Mon- Saturday for Dinner 1800-2045 Closed Sundays

Liverpool Football Club and Everton Football Club are within 5 minutes Drive from The Devonshire House Hotel.

Lime Street Rail Station is less than a 7 minute drive away. The famous Albert Dock can be reached in 10 minutes by car, and there are a variety of restaurants along the waterfront.

When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies may apply.

Picture of The Devonshire House Hotel, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 235 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pay a little bit extra and get a lot more.
Our room was very shabby, with stains on the walls and ceiling and the Windows had been screwed almost shut. We didn't realise till later why the room had an overpowering smell of air freshener. It was because the beds stank of tobacco smoke. Fortunately we'd only booked the one night because it was close to the University for the Open Day. Only wish I'd paid the extra money for somewhere clean and not so in need of an update, one star at best.

Reviewed by
IAN M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a update

Reviewed by
P Smith

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Review
Although I requested a room in a quiet location the room allocated faced the road so traffic noise could be heard so moved to a room at the back which was quieter. As expected older properties such as this need constant tlc which seemed lacking. damp patches on ceiling tiles and windows that did not close properly. The worst thing was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in.
Next time Premier Inn for the extra few pounds will be my choice.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic accommodation ,friendly and obliging staff,short taxi ride to Pierhead £5.90.

Reviewed by
D Ashton

From Brighouse, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a night away
Arrived at the hotel which originally we thought it was the first dilapidated building on the way in didn't feel the hotel was very well signposted once we left the main road.
At the reception we signed in and were asked for payment then and then, on the corridor to our room strong smell of smoking/cigarettes.
Room clean and we went to the lounge bar for drink where the accounts manager was drinking and during a conversation with a fellow lady from the hotel continued with lots of swearing throughout his chat! almost every other word began with a f!!!
Breakfast was lovely and good choice.

Reviewed by
kevin d

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Thoughts
This hotel provided a value for money accommodation if you are looking for a reasonably inexpensive weekend away. The room beds and bathroom were all clean, however the walls of the rooms and corridors would benefit from a lick of paint, Breakfast was of good quality and sufficient to set you up for the day. The restaurant staff were very friendly and took time to speak to you.

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and Noisy
Don't get me wrong, for the money paid the room was clean and comfortable with a good shower. The hotel does attract some of Liverpool's anti social clientele. This maybe something to do with a function room /nightclub next door. I was awoken a 1.30am on a Thursday morning to the sounds of drunken shouting, banging so the wall wobbled and the moving of beds and furniture as though the room was being trashed. This went on for a long two hours till I finally got to sleep about 3.45am. This is not good when you need to set off to work at 7am. Everytime one of these low-lifes went through the room door or corridor door, the bang of the door and the vibration of the wall was intolerable.
On checking in and out, the female receptionist had the demeanour that she had been sucking lemons for the last hour and couldn't raise a smile. No "everything alright with your stay", No " had a good night sleep", No "welcome, have you stayed here before". Take the money and your room is that way.
The all hotel is dated and certainly would benefit from new carpets and sprucing up.
Positives - Breakfast staff pleasant, food nice, nice clean towels and free car-park and wifi.
I'll not be staying here again. Pay extra and go to another hotel.

Reviewed by
S Hance

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonshire
Nice hotel and setting room quite tire, uncomfortable bed. Would book a book a travelodge if staying in Liverpool again. The hotel is a good setting for weddings and the staff were extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Watching Liverpool Giants
Upon arrival we were impressed by the gardens and parking availability. A very friendly front desk who got our room quickly. 45 minutes walk from the city center may be too far for some but bus and taxi service are good. If the Giants walk is repeated could not be better for access to the park where they overnight. Service and choice in the restaurant was good

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The first room I was given was noisy, smelled of stale smoke and the shower didn't work, they were obviously used to complaints and did very promptly and politely change my room. The second room was a bit better, but very drab, bad mattress, wardrobe old and shabby and didn't shut. Breakfast was £6 and inedibly poor. I was charged £4.50 for 'continental' which consisted of a bowl of cereal, and a cup of tea. The bar smells of dirty old carpet and stale beer. I won't stay here again. The staff were however very polite, helpful and nice.

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next