The Devonshire House Hotel

3

293-297 Edge Lane,Fairfield, Liverpool, L7 9LD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (190)

69% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • David W

  • February 2014

Spotlessly clean room, nice and warm (February with gales blowing outside) lots of hot water,comfortable bed, lovely friendly and efficient staff, made to feel really welcome and a third of what we usually pay in the city centre, which is only a £4 taxi ride away.Yes the hotel could do with a refit and the rooms are "tired" but hey if you want a base from which to explore Liverpool or a room for a night out, stay here and spend your saving on fun in the city, we did, just don't expect a five star room/hotel experience and you shouldn't be dissapointed!

  • T Chaplin

  • February 2014

Last minute booking for son's hospital stay

Afternoon, We chose the hotel as it was very convenient for the hospital and the rate was good.

We needed to stay a further night and they managed to accommodate us and could also match the rate, which was great. Although, the hotel is a very tired looking, the room on the first night was warm and comfortable. The room on the second night was not as nice, having stains on the bathroom ceiling and mould in the shower cubicle. The bed also seemed to have a life of its own and moved even when just sitting on it. On the morning after our second night there was no hot water for a shower or wash. We needed to be back at the hospital for just after 9am, so had to leave before this matter was resolved. Not the best start to a long day. We are due to come back next week but feel disappointed with the standard of the second nights accommodation so will not be returning.

  • kiel ormesher

  • February 2014

The hotel looked a bit less grand than in the photos but overall was okay.

Overall the place is okay, the decor is probably the main issue but once you've got over that it is a pleasant place to stay. There was some dirt on the valance when we arrived which was slightly off putting but when we mentioned this to the front desk they immediatley fixed the problem and other than that the room was clean and was regularly cleaned during our stay.

The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast there was very nice.

  • A Batchelor

  • February 2014

Pleasant stay but could do with a refurb

The hotel was once obviously a very nice building with some interesting history however now it is a little tired and lacking personality.

The owner seems to have attempted to go down the corporate route in/around the 1980s and it doesnt seem to have been updated since. The combination of floral wallpaper with tartan carpets is interesting. The whole place is very clean and they have competent staff. However one point I would make is that although the staff were helpful when you spoke to them they were a little sour-faced and inapproachable at times. Service with a smile helps. The restaurant offers a fairly basic menu which is fine for one or two nights but would prompt people to look further afield should they require a change/healthy option. There are no potato options - its either chips or go without - and the quality of the meal is not particularly high. However you do not pay over the odds for what you do get. Although there is family rooms available there was no obvious 'entertainment' suitable for children (although not being a parent I admit I didn't look into it) and there is a very small bar that I can imagine gets very full very quickly during busy periods, somewhat alienating residents who did not arrive early enough to nab a seat. The bedroom was clean, tidy and fairly well equipped (although the tv/freeview box combi was a little antequated), as was the bathroom. All in all it is a nice place with some lovely grounds however it could do with some money spending on it to bring it up to date and to celebrate its history.

  • K Blackham

  • February 2014

Basic Accomodation

A large hidden hotel providing basic accommodation and safe fee parking.

Used by contractors and the like. Not a family or business hotel but fine for a one night stay over. My room was basic but clean. Old split pine furniture and an antique TV with a digital box 'sort of' resting on top featured in a pretty empty room. No shower but the bath filled with boiling water at an industrial pace. The central heating works very well. The dining room is dark with black stretchy nylon covers hiding a variety of different chairs. However the food was fine and plentiful. Staff are pleasant and helpful but there is no escaping a slightly YMCA feel to this hotel.

  • t white

  • January 2014

lovely efficient staff

great efficient staff, hotel needs updating as looking very tired.

  • P Gabriel

  • January 2014

Devonshire

Room and surroundings were very nice, don't confuse the conference center with reception on arrival.

  • L Dennett

  • January 2014

Faded glory!

Hotel looks great from the outside but in desperate need of refurbishment including furnishings.

Reception not very a very welcoming space - in fact hotel had the appearance of being closed when we arrived but a friendly receptionist appeared after pressing the buzzer although we were told food service would stop at 8.30pm (we arrived at 8.20pm people were coming in well after 9 and getting served. Beds comfortable except no bed heads so difficult to sit and read comfortably and bedside lamps would have provided a little ambience and disguised the slighly worn appearance of the room. Shower over bath - all needs updating but had nice towels!. Shower head had a mind of its own. Basic toiletries (but again - the room was cheap) and no hairdryer if you needed one. Room however, warm and clean and reasonable given we paid a flat rate of £50.00 (heavily discounted according to website but wouldn't have wanted to pay too much more considering!) for three people - room only for a Friday evening close to where we needed to be (Liverpool University) so cannot complain too much. Restaurant - don't expect bistro , it's everything with chips (e.g. scampi, burger, fish - only one vegetarian option but not to to be churlish, it did at least have an option). Bottle of house wine £14.50 and 'free' jug of tap water - no hard sell on bottled which was a nice touch. 'Cheap' food but nicely cooked. If looking for a romantic restaurant meal then probably will not suit long but after a long journey on a cold and pouring wet night we were glad of at least something to eat. Didn't have breakfast so cannot comment as preferred extra lie-in but could have for £6.00

  • Clare D

  • January 2014

Devonshire Stay

The Devonshire is a little bit farther out from the city centre than I had expected, but only costed between £4-£5.50 each time I got a taxi between the centre and the hotel.

While the room was value for money with the Late Rooms price, I would not have paid the RRP £90 for the standard double room that we had - to me that is not worth it.

The bed was on wheels, so every time you would sit on it, it moved and pushed against the wall, but it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. I was glad that the hotel provided towels despite it just being a standard room. There were also a couple of lounges throughout the hotel which were quiet and we would sit in whilst waiting for the taxis.

I didn't try the food in the restaurant, but the room looked nice. There are 2 vending machines in the lobby which are helpful.

The carpets and wallpaper of the lounges and the hallways were definitely a bit outdated (tartan carpets with floral wallpaper), but the room was calm with white walls and a navy carpet so it wasn't too distracting.

  • Diana C

  • January 2014

Just ideal

Clean and tidy room is just perfect for a relaxing night, however the receptionist wasn't so kind when we arrived.

Maybe we expected kindness described in leaflet about people of Liverpool.