Reviews - The Devonshire House Hotel


293-297 Edge Lane,Fairfield, Liverpool, L7 9LD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (118)

59% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • A Daley

  • April 2014

Poor value for money in a "tired" room

We asked for a twin bed room and were given a family room with a double-bed and a single (no head-board)The bathroom had a disabled toilet and wash-basin at knee-level so very difficult to shave.

The general condition of the bathroom was poor (broken wash-basin surround,poor & ripped shower curtain,loose toilet roll-no holder,in need of good decoration & maintenance)Excellent view of shabby garages out of the window

However it was quiet so sleeping was OK but not worth £92 for a double room with breakfast

  • Caroline D

  • April 2014

"Quiet and relaxed surroundings" they claim.

I don't think so. Our stay was completely spoiled by the noise coming from the event on site - loud music went on until after 1.00 am, after which the noise spilled out into the car park, and into the hotel. Banging doors, heavy footfall, and loud voices continued until after 3.00 am.

  • Mike F

  • March 2014

The hotel was friendly and well situated.

The decor was a little tired however and the room was rather too light at night as there were no curtains - just a blind, that let in light from a street lamp outside. The windows were also single glazed and let in some noise from outside. Nevertheless, I still enjoyed the experience overall and felt it was reasonable value.

  • Andrew H

  • March 2014

For the price you can't complain

Even though the decor is a bit dated it was clean and the grounds are lovely.

Just needs a little attention on the finishing touches. Hot tap handle was very stiff, only two pillows on a double bed and wifi didn't work in room.

  • Andy G

  • March 2014

The Devonshire House Hotel

Bed and sheeting clean although carpet has seen better days.

The shower was really powerful. Decor fine if a little dated. Bar peasant and prices very reasonable. Breakfast good value for money. Staff very friendly. Location excellent for city centre

  • J Clements

  • March 2014

Lovely hotel

Very nice hotel.

Good value for money. Well worth it. Picturesque area and very convenient for Liverpool.

  • Susan A

  • March 2014

Business trip

A bit disappointed with the room - it was very basic - no headboard and the bed would move every time I turned over!!.

bathroom nice and clean but furniture was a bit old. Dinner a bit disappointing fish over cooked and waitress a bit confused

Breakfast much better lady was very helpful and polite with excellent service. Generally disapointing

  • C Thorpe

  • March 2014


Good price, but hotel was tired.

Friendly staff and good breakfast, with lots of car parking close to city centre, but the photos look better than the reality.

  • paula batten

  • February 2014

Beatles tour.

We had a great time at the Devonshire house hotel and would recomend it to everyone visiting Liverpool


  • February 2014

A Very good value for money

When I booked the hotel, I was not sure how good the place would be.

I am glad I booked it. The rooms were clean and quite spacious, if not luxurious. However, for the price we paid, it was a fantastic return. We were passing through Liverpool. So I cannot comment on its closeness to attractions. The only downside was that we reached on a Sunday evening and the restaurants within the hotel were closed. There was no food available. The closest place outside of the hotel was a McDonald 's a mile away unless we we could drive into the city centre. If we visit Liverpool again, we will definitely stay at this hotel( with some take away food if it is a Sunday evening)