No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
293-297 Edge Lane,Fairfield , Liverpool, L7 9LD
Set within landscaped gardens in quiet surroundings, Devonshire House Hotel is an elegant Georgian building with FREE Wi-Fi and FREE PARKING . Liverpool city centre and the M62 motorway are just over 1 mile away.

Each spacious en suite room at Devonshire House Hotel features Freeview TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. Some rooms have stunning views across the grounds.

The hotel’s Four Seasons restaurant serves a bistro menu along with a wide-ranging wine list. There is also a lounge bar and traditional pub for guests to enjoy drinks in relaxed surroundings.

Restaurant Open Mon- Saturday for Dinner 1800-2045 Closed Sundays

Liverpool Football Club and Everton Football Club are within 5 minutes Drive from The Devonshire House Hotel.

Lime Street Rail Station is less than a 7 minute drive away. The famous Albert Dock can be reached in 10 minutes by car, and there are a variety of restaurants along the waterfront.

When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies may apply.

Picture of The Devonshire House Hotel, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 242 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely efficient staff
great efficient staff, hotel needs updating as looking very tired.

Reviewed by
t white

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonshire
Room and surroundings were very nice, don't confuse the conference center with reception on arrival.

Reviewed by
P Gabriel

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonshire Stay
The Devonshire is a little bit farther out from the city centre than I had expected, but only costed between £4-£5.50 each time I got a taxi between the centre and the hotel.
While the room was value for money with the Late Rooms price, I would not have paid the RRP £90 for the standard double room that we had - to me that is not worth it.
The bed was on wheels, so every time you would sit on it, it moved and pushed against the wall, but it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. I was glad that the hotel provided towels despite it just being a standard room. There were also a couple of lounges throughout the hotel which were quiet and we would sit in whilst waiting for the taxis.
I didn't try the food in the restaurant, but the room looked nice. There are 2 vending machines in the lobby which are helpful.
The carpets and wallpaper of the lounges and the hallways were definitely a bit outdated (tartan carpets with floral wallpaper), but the room was calm with white walls and a navy carpet so it wasn't too distracting.

Reviewed by
Clare D

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faded glory!
Hotel looks great from the outside but in desperate need of refurbishment including furnishings. Reception not very a very welcoming space - in fact hotel had the appearance of being closed when we arrived but a friendly receptionist appeared after pressing the buzzer although we were told food service would stop at 8.30pm (we arrived at 8.20pm people were coming in well after 9 and getting served! Beds comfortable except no bed heads so difficult to sit and read comfortably and bedside lamps would have provided a little ambience and disguised the slighly worn appearance of the room. Shower over bath - all needs updating but had nice towels!! Shower head had a mind of its own! Basic toiletries (but again - the room was cheap) and no hairdryer if you needed one. Room however, warm and clean and reasonable given we paid a flat rate of £50.00 (heavily discounted according to website but wouldn't have wanted to pay too much more considering!) for three people - room only for a Friday evening close to where we needed to be (Liverpool University) so cannot complain too much. Restaurant - don't expect bistro , it's everything with chips (e.g. scampi, burger, fish - only one vegetarian option but not to to be churlish, it did at least have an option). Bottle of house wine £14.50 and 'free' jug of tap water - no hard sell on bottled which was a nice touch. 'Cheap' food but nicely cooked. If looking for a romantic restaurant meal then probably will not suit long but after a long journey on a cold and pouring wet night we were glad of at least something to eat. Didn't have breakfast so cannot comment as preferred extra lie-in but could have for £6.00

Reviewed by
L Dennett

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
From the exterior the hotel looked excellent. Not happy with the customer service or the way we were greeted or checked out. The restaurant food was unsatisfactory and gave the impression of being cheap by the cutlery and napkins. No headboard on the bed and when asking for another pillow to literally bolster the three we had in our room, was told the hotel had ran out!!! Power socket loose in room, no loo brush. All basic stuff which can easily be remedied.

Reviewed by
D Franklin

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and stacks of parking
We have previously stayed in a B&B up the road and wasn't impressed but this was the location we were looking for as we were going to watch the Liverpool match
This B&B was cheaper and better
We would use again if we got the same offer when booking
The rooms are massive only neg is room very cold as window did not shut properly

Reviewed by
Hev W

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good nice staff .could park the car safe .

Reviewed by
J Buckley

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

your hotel was great staff were great we had a very good time staying there

Reviewed by
angela gimson

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fine, cheap hotel
Was a great price and good facilities. Have stayed at other budget hotels and got much less for our money. Room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was decent and generally everything went smoothly. Staff seemed a little miserable at times and directions to the room weren't great, but generally was very impressed with the hotel.

Reviewed by
D Thomas

From Newtown, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all ok
Room was very spacious and very simple, 1/2 hour walk from city center

Reviewed by
Michaela K

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next