No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
293-297 Edge Lane,Fairfield , Liverpool, L7 9LD
Set within landscaped gardens in quiet surroundings, Devonshire House Hotel is an elegant Georgian building with FREE Wi-Fi and FREE PARKING . Liverpool city centre and the M62 motorway are just over 1 mile away.

Each spacious en suite room at Devonshire House Hotel features Freeview TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. Some rooms have stunning views across the grounds.

The hotel’s Four Seasons restaurant serves a bistro menu along with a wide-ranging wine list. There is also a lounge bar and traditional pub for guests to enjoy drinks in relaxed surroundings.

Restaurant Open Mon- Saturday for Dinner 1800-2045 Closed Sundays

Liverpool Football Club and Everton Football Club are within 5 minutes Drive from The Devonshire House Hotel.

Lime Street Rail Station is less than a 7 minute drive away. The famous Albert Dock can be reached in 10 minutes by car, and there are a variety of restaurants along the waterfront.

When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies may apply.

Picture of The Devonshire House Hotel, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 222 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value, friendly, lovely garden
Feels like a little oasis near the centre of Liverpool, with its stunning garden surrounds. Clean, comfy bed, pleasant bar (pity it's always football on the telly though) and reasonable food. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Liverpool.

Reviewed by
Glenys H

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family friendly
Very hospitable and friendly staff - excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
C Trim

From Horley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spotlessly clean room, nice and warm (February with gales blowing outside) lots of hot water,comfortable bed, lovely friendly and efficient staff, made to feel really welcome and a third of what we usually pay in the city centre, which is only a £4 taxi ride away.Yes the hotel could do with a refit and the rooms are "tired" but hey if you want a base from which to explore Liverpool or a room for a night out, stay here and spend your saving on fun in the city, we did, just don't expect a five star room/hotel experience and you shouldn't be dissapointed!

Reviewed by
David W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute booking for son's hospital stay
Afternoon,
We chose the hotel as it was very convenient for the hospital and the rate was good. We needed to stay a further night and they managed to accommodate us and could also match the rate, which was great. Although, the hotel is a very tired looking, the room on the first night was warm and comfortable. The room on the second night was not as nice, having stains on the bathroom ceiling and mould in the shower cubicle. The bed also seemed to have a life of its own and moved even when just sitting on it. On the morning after our second night there was no hot water for a shower or wash. We needed to be back at the hospital for just after 9am, so had to leave before this matter was resolved. Not the best start to a long day. We are due to come back next week but feel disappointed with the standard of the second nights accommodation so will not be returning.

Reviewed by
T Chaplin

From Windermere, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel looked a bit less grand than in the photos but overall was okay. Overall the place is okay, the decor is probably the main issue but once you've got over that it is a pleasant place to stay.
There was some dirt on the valance when we arrived which was slightly off putting but when we mentioned this to the front desk they immediatley fixed the problem and other than that the room was clean and was regularly cleaned during our stay.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the breakfast there was very nice.

Reviewed by
kiel ormesher

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay but could do with a refurb
The hotel was once obviously a very nice building with some interesting history however now it is a little tired and lacking personality. The owner seems to have attempted to go down the corporate route in/around the 1980s and it doesnt seem to have been updated since. The combination of floral wallpaper with tartan carpets is interesting! The whole place is very clean and they have competent staff. However one point I would make is that although the staff were helpful when you spoke to them they were a little sour-faced and inapproachable at times. Service with a smile helps!
The restaurant offers a fairly basic menu which is fine for one or two nights but would prompt people to look further afield should they require a change/healthy option. There are no potato options - its either chips or go without - and the quality of the meal is not particularly high. However you do not pay over the odds for what you do get. Although there is family rooms available there was no obvious 'entertainment' suitable for children (although not being a parent I admit I didn't look into it) and there is a very small bar that I can imagine gets very full very quickly during busy periods, somewhat alienating residents who did not arrive early enough to nab a seat.
The bedroom was clean, tidy and fairly well equipped (although the tv/freeview box combi was a little antequated), as was the bathroom.
All in all it is a nice place with some lovely grounds however it could do with some money spending on it to bring it up to date and to celebrate its history.

Reviewed by
A Batchelor

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic Accomodation
A large hidden hotel providing basic accommodation and safe fee parking. Used by contractors and the like. Not a family or business hotel but fine for a one night stay over. My room was basic but clean. Old split pine furniture and an antique TV with a digital box 'sort of' resting on top featured in a pretty empty room. No shower but the bath filled with boiling water at an industrial pace. The central heating works very well. The dining room is dark with black stretchy nylon covers hiding a variety of different chairs. However the food was fine and plentiful. Staff are pleasant and helpful but there is no escaping a slightly YMCA feel to this hotel.

Reviewed by
K Blackham

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely efficient staff
great efficient staff, hotel needs updating as looking very tired.

Reviewed by
t white

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonshire
Room and surroundings were very nice, don't confuse the conference center with reception on arrival.

Reviewed by
P Gabriel

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonshire Stay
The Devonshire is a little bit farther out from the city centre than I had expected, but only costed between £4-£5.50 each time I got a taxi between the centre and the hotel.
While the room was value for money with the Late Rooms price, I would not have paid the RRP £90 for the standard double room that we had - to me that is not worth it.
The bed was on wheels, so every time you would sit on it, it moved and pushed against the wall, but it wasn't too much of an inconvenience. I was glad that the hotel provided towels despite it just being a standard room. There were also a couple of lounges throughout the hotel which were quiet and we would sit in whilst waiting for the taxis.
I didn't try the food in the restaurant, but the room looked nice. There are 2 vending machines in the lobby which are helpful.
The carpets and wallpaper of the lounges and the hallways were definitely a bit outdated (tartan carpets with floral wallpaper), but the room was calm with white walls and a navy carpet so it wasn't too distracting.

Reviewed by
Clare D

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 Next