Reviews - The Devonshire House Hotel


293-297 Edge Lane,Fairfield, Liverpool, L7 9LD

Price From 81.82 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (131)

62% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • P Smith

  • October 2014

Needs a update

  • Peter B

  • September 2014

Hotel Review

Although I requested a room in a quiet location the room allocated faced the road so traffic noise could be heard so moved to a room at the back which was quieter.

As expected older properties such as this need constant tlc which seemed lacking. damp patches on ceiling tiles and windows that did not close properly. The worst thing was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Next time Premier Inn for the extra few pounds will be my choice.

  • Barry P

  • September 2014

Value for money!

The Devonshire is truly value for money.

So close to the city centre, so close to the motorway and a nice location. The Hotel is old but it is charming and excellent for a short stay. I have no complaints whatsoever. I have stayed in this location seven times over the past number of years. Excellent value for money. It is ideal for my short trips.

  • D Ashton

  • August 2014

Basic accommodation ,friendly and obliging staff,short taxi ride to Pierhead £5.90.

  • kevin d

  • August 2014

a night away

Arrived at the hotel which originally we thought it was the first dilapidated building on the way in didn't feel the hotel was very well signposted once we left the main road.

At the reception we signed in and were asked for payment then and then, on the corridor to our room strong smell of smoking/cigarettes. Room clean and we went to the lounge bar for drink where the accounts manager was drinking and during a conversation with a fellow lady from the hotel continued with lots of swearing throughout his chat. almost every other word began with a f!!. Breakfast was lovely and good choice.

  • S Hance

  • August 2014

Dated and Noisy

Don't get me wrong, for the money paid the room was clean and comfortable with a good shower.

The hotel does attract some of Liverpool's anti social clientele. This maybe something to do with a function room /nightclub next door. I was awoken a 1.30am on a Thursday morning to the sounds of drunken shouting, banging so the wall wobbled and the moving of beds and furniture as though the room was being trashed. This went on for a long two hours till I finally got to sleep about 3.45am. This is not good when you need to set off to work at 7am. Everytime one of these low-lifes went through the room door or corridor door, the bang of the door and the vibration of the wall was intolerable. On checking in and out, the female receptionist had the demeanour that she had been sucking lemons for the last hour and couldn't raise a smile. No "everything alright with your stay", No " had a good night sleep", No "welcome, have you stayed here before". Take the money and your room is that way.

The all hotel is dated and certainly would benefit from new carpets and sprucing up. Positives - Breakfast staff pleasant, food nice, nice clean towels and free car-park and wifi. I'll not be staying here again. Pay extra and go to another hotel.

  • G Smith

  • August 2014

My Thoughts

This hotel provided a value for money accommodation if you are looking for a reasonably inexpensive weekend away.

The room beds and bathroom were all clean, however the walls of the rooms and corridors would benefit from a lick of paint, Breakfast was of good quality and sufficient to set you up for the day. The restaurant staff were very friendly and took time to speak to you.

  • Michael A

  • August 2014

Dont Go on Sunday

Lovely hotel and friendly staff.

The accommodation was fine, BUT, we arrived only to find out they don't have a restaurant on Sundays and the bar is not open until 1700. We had travelled from Scotland and had to get a taxi into Liverpool to have a meal and drink. This information should have been given on booking. Would I stay again, only during the week, that answers the first question.

  • Nora Taylor

  • July 2014


  • S Thomas

  • July 2014

The first room I was given was noisy, smelled of stale smoke and the shower didn't work, they were obviously used to complaints and did very promptly and politely change my room.

The second room was a bit better, but very drab, bad mattress, wardrobe old and shabby and didn't shut. Breakfast was £6 and inedibly poor. I was charged £4.50 for 'continental' which consisted of a bowl of cereal, and a cup of tea. The bar smells of dirty old carpet and stale beer. I won't stay here again. The staff were however very polite, helpful and nice.