Reviews - The Devonshire House Hotel


293-297 Edge Lane,Fairfield, Liverpool, L7 9LD

Price From 94.01 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (118)

59% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • s riley

  • November 2014

pleasant stay

the entrance to the hotel was not very well sign posted as we drove past it then went to the wrong biulding.

once we got the right entrance we had a very pleasant over night stay, staff were very pleasant and helpful, room was clean and adequate, breakfast was fine with plenty choice. although the hotel could do with a refurbishment we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Erika L

  • October 2014

The hotel wasn't as shown in the photos.

There were no head boards to the beds just black marks on the wall from previous guests heads. The decor was tatty and dated. The pillow was thin and hard. It was not possible to walk to the city centre from this hotel.

  • craig harrison

  • October 2014

very nice hotel very friendly and helpful staff

we booked this hotel for my 40th Birthday for the weekend a group of friends i had my doubts to start with cos it was about a 40 minute walk from the City centre but didn't prove to be a problem as cabs where easily accessable and cheap nice spacious rooms very clean quiet to in nice quiet location would recommend to others

  • IAN M

  • October 2014

Pay a little bit extra and get a lot more.

Our room was very shabby, with stains on the walls and ceiling and the Windows had been screwed almost shut.

We didn't realise till later why the room had an overpowering smell of air freshener. It was because the beds stank of tobacco smoke. Fortunately we'd only booked the one night because it was close to the University for the Open Day. Only wish I'd paid the extra money for somewhere clean and not so in need of an update, one star at best.

  • P Smith

  • October 2014

Needs a update

  • Peter B

  • September 2014

Hotel Review

Although I requested a room in a quiet location the room allocated faced the road so traffic noise could be heard so moved to a room at the back which was quieter.

As expected older properties such as this need constant tlc which seemed lacking. damp patches on ceiling tiles and windows that did not close properly. The worst thing was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. Next time Premier Inn for the extra few pounds will be my choice.

  • Barry P

  • September 2014

Value for money!

The Devonshire is truly value for money.

So close to the city centre, so close to the motorway and a nice location. The Hotel is old but it is charming and excellent for a short stay. I have no complaints whatsoever. I have stayed in this location seven times over the past number of years. Excellent value for money. It is ideal for my short trips.

  • D Ashton

  • August 2014

Basic accommodation ,friendly and obliging staff,short taxi ride to Pierhead £5.90.

  • kevin d

  • August 2014

a night away

Arrived at the hotel which originally we thought it was the first dilapidated building on the way in didn't feel the hotel was very well signposted once we left the main road.

At the reception we signed in and were asked for payment then and then, on the corridor to our room strong smell of smoking/cigarettes. Room clean and we went to the lounge bar for drink where the accounts manager was drinking and during a conversation with a fellow lady from the hotel continued with lots of swearing throughout his chat. almost every other word began with a f!!. Breakfast was lovely and good choice.

  • S Hance

  • August 2014

Dated and Noisy

Don't get me wrong, for the money paid the room was clean and comfortable with a good shower.

The hotel does attract some of Liverpool's anti social clientele. This maybe something to do with a function room /nightclub next door. I was awoken a 1.30am on a Thursday morning to the sounds of drunken shouting, banging so the wall wobbled and the moving of beds and furniture as though the room was being trashed. This went on for a long two hours till I finally got to sleep about 3.45am. This is not good when you need to set off to work at 7am. Everytime one of these low-lifes went through the room door or corridor door, the bang of the door and the vibration of the wall was intolerable. On checking in and out, the female receptionist had the demeanour that she had been sucking lemons for the last hour and couldn't raise a smile. No "everything alright with your stay", No " had a good night sleep", No "welcome, have you stayed here before". Take the money and your room is that way.

The all hotel is dated and certainly would benefit from new carpets and sprucing up. Positives - Breakfast staff pleasant, food nice, nice clean towels and free car-park and wifi. I'll not be staying here again. Pay extra and go to another hotel.