No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire House Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
293-297 Edge Lane,Fairfield , Liverpool, L7 9LD
Set within landscaped gardens in quiet surroundings, Devonshire House Hotel is an elegant Georgian building with FREE Wi-Fi and FREE PARKING . Liverpool city centre and the M62 motorway are just over 1 mile away.

Each spacious en suite room at Devonshire House Hotel features Freeview TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. Some rooms have stunning views across the grounds.

The hotel’s Four Seasons restaurant serves a bistro menu along with a wide-ranging wine list. There is also a lounge bar and traditional pub for guests to enjoy drinks in relaxed surroundings.

Restaurant Open Mon- Saturday for Dinner 1800-2045 Closed Sundays

Liverpool Football Club and Everton Football Club are within 5 minutes Drive from The Devonshire House Hotel.

Lime Street Rail Station is less than a 7 minute drive away. The famous Albert Dock can be reached in 10 minutes by car, and there are a variety of restaurants along the waterfront.

When booking more than 5 rooms, different policies may apply.

Picture of The Devonshire House Hotel, Liverpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 222 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and Noisy
Don't get me wrong, for the money paid the room was clean and comfortable with a good shower. The hotel does attract some of Liverpool's anti social clientele. This maybe something to do with a function room /nightclub next door. I was awoken a 1.30am on a Thursday morning to the sounds of drunken shouting, banging so the wall wobbled and the moving of beds and furniture as though the room was being trashed. This went on for a long two hours till I finally got to sleep about 3.45am. This is not good when you need to set off to work at 7am. Everytime one of these low-lifes went through the room door or corridor door, the bang of the door and the vibration of the wall was intolerable.
On checking in and out, the female receptionist had the demeanour that she had been sucking lemons for the last hour and couldn't raise a smile. No "everything alright with your stay", No " had a good night sleep", No "welcome, have you stayed here before". Take the money and your room is that way.
The all hotel is dated and certainly would benefit from new carpets and sprucing up.
Positives - Breakfast staff pleasant, food nice, nice clean towels and free car-park and wifi.
I'll not be staying here again. Pay extra and go to another hotel.

Reviewed by
S Hance

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Devonshire
Nice hotel and setting room quite tire, uncomfortable bed. Would book a book a travelodge if staying in Liverpool again. The hotel is a good setting for weddings and the staff were extremely helpful.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Watching Liverpool Giants
Upon arrival we were impressed by the gardens and parking availability. A very friendly front desk who got our room quickly. 45 minutes walk from the city center may be too far for some but bus and taxi service are good. If the Giants walk is repeated could not be better for access to the park where they overnight. Service and choice in the restaurant was good

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel nice people who run it

Reviewed by
E Langton

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The first room I was given was noisy, smelled of stale smoke and the shower didn't work, they were obviously used to complaints and did very promptly and politely change my room. The second room was a bit better, but very drab, bad mattress, wardrobe old and shabby and didn't shut. Breakfast was £6 and inedibly poor. I was charged £4.50 for 'continental' which consisted of a bowl of cereal, and a cup of tea. The bar smells of dirty old carpet and stale beer. I won't stay here again. The staff were however very polite, helpful and nice.

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic

Reviewed by
Nora Taylor

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money!
The Devonshire is truly value for money. So close to the city centre, so close to the motorway and a nice location. The Hotel is old but it is charming and excellent for a short stay. I have no complaints whatsoever. I have stayed in this location seven times over the past number of years. Excellent value for money. It is ideal for my short trips.

Reviewed by
Barry P

From Cookstown, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review devonshire house hotel
Good room, shame about the food .

Reviewed by
C Walker

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We have stayed at the Devonshire many times over the years and I am glad to say the whole place has been redecorated which adds to guest satisfaction, the staff are very friendly and helpful, it is a good location within easy reach of the Wonders of the Central City of Liverpool. And other attractions, The Hotel has a very nice Garden to relax in and a good little Bar. We always try to stay here but at times they are fully booked , So Book early if possible, Well worth the money.

Reviewed by
Alan Herbert

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dont Go on Sunday
Lovely hotel and friendly staff. The accommodation was fine, BUT, we arrived only to find out they don't have a restaurant on Sundays and the bar is not open until 1700. We had travelled from Scotland and had to get a taxi into Liverpool to have a meal and drink. This information should have been given on booking. Would I stay again, only during the week, that answers the first question.

Reviewed by
Michael A

From Lairg, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next