No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - MERCURE CHESTER ABBOTS WELL HOTEL

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester, CH3 5QL
Book into our 4-star Chester hotel, close to the city's main attractions and cosmopolitan buzz. The Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel is nestled amid two acres of landscaped gardens just two miles from central Chester and the Cheshire Oaks outlet village. The 126 guest rooms offer internet access and satellite TV. The Brasserie and The Bar offer gourmet cuisine, light snacks and a cosy spot for a nightcap and there's an indoor pool and fitness centre. Our 11 meeting rooms welcome up to 220 people..
Picture of MERCURE CHESTER ABBOTS WELL HOTEL, Chester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
61% recommended this accommodation to a friend 64% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mercure
Although the room and en-suite was rather compact, the stay offered good value for money with no complaints whatsoever. Will be staying again next year

Reviewed by
David D

From Bathgate, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chester Zoo trip.
Great hotel location for the zoo and Chester. Dissapointed with the room fell below the normal standards of Mecure. Far too hot, poor level of cleanliness and shower pressure just did not happen. However good staff and great food.

Reviewed by
L Clark

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Top weekend
Great hotel ideally situated with only £5 taxi into centre of Chester. Room very clean and huge comfy bed.

Reviewed by
J Southern

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

convenient overnight stay
stayed in this hotel as it was convenient for a family event nearby. Soft furnishings in the hotel require a revamp. But that said, bed was very comfortable, shower hot and strong, and plenty of tea/coffee in room, free parking on site. Staff were lovely. Had a evening meal in the restuarant which we enjoyed and wasnt over priced. Returning to the hotel for a night cap, we paid £14 for two glasses of wine. Thought this was excessive. Stayed in other city hotels and never been charged this much.
Hotel was outside of the city centre and a car is needed to access easily the city.

Reviewed by
Tracey T

From Frizington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired & Dirty
Hotel is in a great location but is dirty & tired.The room was dirty, the carpet was disgusting.
The food was rubbish, tasteless and customer service is a word that clearly the staff do not know or understand.

Reviewed by
IAIN R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slightly disappointing
Was the hotel slightly dated? Yes (updated around year 2000), but this isn't a problem, so long as the room is clean. Was the room clean and the bed in good condition? No.
I would stay here again at the price I paid, however had I paid the price a friend of mine was quoted for the same night for the same room, I would have been extremely unhappy. Had I have been checked in to a different room, this review may have been very different, and had I had the time to be able to point out the condition of the room after arrival then perhaps something could have been done to resolve the issue.
However I believe there should be a basic standard, and that is that the room is clean and bed is in good condition, on arrival. This is not something I should need tobring to the attention of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Mike W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy
Stayed when Uk had for us a heat wave and room on second floor was like an oven when you entered as no windows had been opened so initially not happy at all.
However after grumbling and moaning I looked up to see AC unit and all happy after that :-)
Pool was quiet but water too warm - and lets face it thats not a complaint is it so happy.

Reviewed by
Philip R

From Dalton in Furness, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Fairly good location in conjunction with Chester centre. Room quite expensive for quality on arrival. Fairly small, VERY hot with no air con and generally expected a modern room as per the reception and bar area downstairs which looks fantastic. Rooms are very basic and look dated.

Reviewed by
Shane K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

romantic weekend away
We had a loverly time,hotel very clean,hospitality amazing,spa was loverly,staff very accomadating.
we where on a weekend away for our anniversary,the only down side I can comment on is our room was between a party off girls on a Hen party,they where very noisy till 4.45 am..hence to say our first night was kind off ruined due to the girls shouting etc.
Drinks and food nice but a little pricey..but there is a Harvester down the road to the right from the hotel..
Park and ride only 100metres too the left off the hotel and only cost £2.00 return to chester..which we where very pleased about..and tey run every 10mins inc Sundays.
Our stay inc breakfast,there was amazing amount too choose from and very tasty indeed.staff takeyou to your table and offer you tea or coffee immediatly.our table was outlooking the gardens and it was beautiful too watch the rabbits play...
Staff in the morning very helpful and told us off the best places too visit in chester.
We are planing to book again for Aug bank holiday overall experience 9 out 0f 10

Reviewed by
alicia white

From bury, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The races
Hotel was exactly as described. Ideal location on the outskirts of Chester for the races but near enough to travel to & from without to much hassle

Reviewed by
jayne s

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next