Reviews - Mercure Chester Abbots Well Hotel


Whitchurch Road, Christleton, Chester, CH3 5QL

Price From 256.71 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (51)

61% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Mike W

  • September 2014

Slightly disappointing

Was the hotel slightly dated.

Yes (updated around year 2000), but this isn't a problem, so long as the room is clean. Was the room clean and the bed in good condition. No. I would stay here again at the price I paid, however had I paid the price a friend of mine was quoted for the same night for the same room, I would have been extremely unhappy. Had I have been checked in to a different room, this review may have been very different, and had I had the time to be able to point out the condition of the room after arrival then perhaps something could have been done to resolve the issue. However I believe there should be a basic standard, and that is that the room is clean and bed is in good condition, on arrival. This is not something I should need tobring to the attention of the hotel.

  • Philip R

  • July 2014


Stayed when Uk had for us a heat wave and room on second floor was like an oven when you entered as no windows had been opened so initially not happy at all.

However after grumbling and moaning I looked up to see AC unit and all happy after that :-)

Pool was quiet but water too warm - and lets face it thats not a complaint is it so happy.

  • Shane K

  • July 2014


Fairly good location in conjunction with Chester centre.

Room quite expensive for quality on arrival. Fairly small, VERY hot with no air con and generally expected a modern room as per the reception and bar area downstairs which looks fantastic. Rooms are very basic and look dated.

  • alicia white

  • July 2014

romantic weekend away

We had a loverly time,hotel very clean,hospitality amazing,spa was loverly,staff very accomadating.

we where on a weekend away for our anniversary,the only down side I can comment on is our room was between a party off girls on a Hen party,they where very noisy till 4.45 am..hence to say our first night was kind off ruined due to the girls shouting etc. Drinks and food nice but a little pricey..but there is a Harvester down the road to the right from the hotel.. Park and ride only 100metres too the left off the hotel and only cost £2.00 return to chester..which we where very pleased about..and tey run every 10mins inc Sundays. Our stay inc breakfast,there was amazing amount too choose from and very tasty indeed.staff takeyou to your table and offer you tea or coffee immediatly.our table was outlooking the gardens and it was beautiful too watch the rabbits play... Staff in the morning very helpful and told us off the best places too visit in chester. We are planing to book again for Aug bank holiday overall experience 9 out 0f 10

  • Frank Gualtieri

  • July 2014

Accommodation and restaurant food was very good.

  • jayne s

  • July 2014

The races

Hotel was exactly as described.

Ideal location on the outskirts of Chester for the races but near enough to travel to & from without to much hassle

  • J Smith

  • May 2014

Never again!

I have tried nearly all the hotels in and around Chester and this is the worst one I have stayed in for a long time; dusty room, mouldy fruit on complimentary platter (if you can call one blackberry and one strawberry a platter); restaurant food was inedible so had to leave hotel to find somewhere else to eat; bed very uncomfortable and for the hotel to describe the room as a 'suite' is beyond a joke.

  • J Robotham

  • May 2014

Nice hotel

Nice hotel all in all, the only criticism I could give would be quite an impossible one to fix being that the floors/walls/ceilings sound wafer thin and very very creaky.

Guests above can clearly be heard and just walking in our own room made us very wary that people below could hear as every floorboard creaked very loudly.

Besides that though I can't fault our stay. Good location too.

  • T Shelmerdine

  • May 2014

This hotel is lovely and can not complain at all..

  • Alan S

  • May 2014

Room was hot quite old fashioned and expensive for what it was