No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW
The Manor House Hotel, a 35 bedroom AA 3* hotel conveniently located in the charming village of West Auckland, is a historic, family owned hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and extensive facilities.

With 35 well appointed bedrooms, a mix of doubles, twins and spacious Four Poster rooms split between the main building and the courtyard area, The Manor House Hotel is the perfect destination for both business & leisure.

Food is served all day in the hotel’s Juniper Restaurant with a range of quality, affordable dining options. Relax after a long day with a drink in the lounge or Stables Bar. Make use of the hotel’s leisure facilities - free for all hotel guests - complete with pool, sauna, steam room and gym. A variety of spa treatments are available on request - pre booking essential.

We also have extensive business facilities, with two meeting rooms and free wifi available in the hotel’s public areas, which include the hotel’s lounge area.

The hotel is ideally located for exploring everything that County Durham has to offer, including the famous Bowes Museum, and is less than half an hour’s drive from Durham Cathedral & Castle.

The hotel is famous for it’s history - reputed to be King Henry VIIIs hunting lodge, the Manor House Hotel offers character, heritage, and history all rolled in with friendly customer & modern conveniences.

Part of the family run STR/Keeping Inn group, who also own the the Honest Lawyer Hotel in Durham, the Centurion Bar in Newcastle Central Station, and the Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh.

Picture of Manor House Hotel & Spa, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived very late at night but someone was there waiting for us and checked in with the minimum of fuss. Lovely grounds and very quiet so able to sleep with windows open.
Lovely breakfast wit excellent service.

Reviewed by
Gillian M

From Horsham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Manor House hotel
Warm & stuffy room
Shower very poor, complained after 1st night...no change by Wednesday despite being assured maintenance would visit. Left on Thursday morning & stayed at a B&B on the Thursday night instead.
Very doubtful I would return despite being local to office.

Reviewed by
S Galbraith

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday Break
Beautiful room in historic building. Good spa, good food, good service.

Reviewed by
V Carr

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly what was promised
An excellent, reasonably priced hotel. Very good service throughout our stay. Friendly, approachable staff, who work hard to make sure you get an excellent experience, in lovely surroundings. Would definitely recommend, and will be staying again. Many thanks for an enjoyable visit.

Reviewed by
James Makepeace

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely but a little dated X
My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first bank holiday in May. It wasn't bad priced (£95 for b & b) & full use of pool etc. Hotel is an old building so walls/floors wax were a little dated which was expected. Room decent, lovely bed. Disappointed with bathroom as advertised on their website as better than it was. Our 4 poster bedroom had a separate bathroom which was basic and had the tiniest window with no view (being picky as this didn't effect us but expected different) food ok and prices average.

Reviewed by
C Neill

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dreadful Service
The car park was incorrectly signposted which meant we ended up at a trade entrance walking through mud in the dark.
The shower was too cold and too weak.
There was no wifi in the room despite the advert saying there was.
The TV was impossible to operate without clear instructions that were not given.
The bed was too hard and had a gap down the back that the pillows fell into.
There was mildew on the windows.
At breakfast we had to ask for all of the following before we got them: A table, glasses, milk with our coffee (twice), sugar and both our drinks and breakfast orders were wrong.
The staff were rude and unhelpful.
No refund was given so I can only conclude that the company was happy with this level of service.
Do not go here!

Reviewed by
N Jones

From Purley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfied with our stay.
We booked the hotel last minute and it was very reasonably priced considering it was the Easter Bank Holiday weekend.
When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff were polite and friendly.
I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend to others too.

Reviewed by
A Sproat

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old building.beautiful big family sized bathroom. costumer service left a lot to be desired

Reviewed by
Anthony K

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel!! would definitely come back!

Reviewed by
Caroline W

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel with friendly staff and nice furnishings including carpets!!

Reviewed by
Caroline W

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next