No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel & Spa

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW
The Manor House Hotel, a 35 bedroom AA 3* hotel conveniently located in the charming village of West Auckland, is a historic, family owned hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and extensive facilities.

With 35 well appointed bedrooms, a mix of doubles, twins and spacious Four Poster rooms split between the main building and the courtyard area, The Manor House Hotel is the perfect destination for both business & leisure.

Food is served all day in the hotel’s Juniper Restaurant with a range of quality, affordable dining options. Relax after a long day with a drink in the lounge or Stables Bar. Make use of the hotel’s leisure facilities - free for all hotel guests - complete with pool, sauna, steam room and gym. A variety of spa treatments are available on request - pre booking essential.

We also have extensive business facilities, with two meeting rooms and free wifi available in the hotel’s public areas, which include the hotel’s lounge area.

The hotel is ideally located for exploring everything that County Durham has to offer, including the famous Bowes Museum, and is less than half an hour’s drive from Durham Cathedral & Castle.

The hotel is famous for it’s history - reputed to be King Henry VIIIs hunting lodge, the Manor House Hotel offers character, heritage, and history all rolled in with friendly customer & modern conveniences.

Part of the family run STR/Keeping Inn group, who also own the the Honest Lawyer Hotel in Durham, the Centurion Bar in Newcastle Central Station, and the Victoria Hotel in Bamburgh.

Picture of Manor House Hotel & Spa, Durham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Charismatic old manor house hotel, lots of charm.

Reviewed by
Guy K

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing break in a beautiful hotel
Fantastic value for money. We booked on a special offer and couldn't of asked for anything more than what we received. Gorgeous rooms and great service. Will definitely return!

Reviewed by
Vanessa H

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly
booked at the last minute. friendly staff , room was comfortable and very clean would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Ronnie M

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing!
Having stayed here a few times before, we were looking forward to some quiet time together and good food. The staff as always were very pleasant and welcoming. Unfortunately, the food was a big let down, breakfast was sparce and hardly cooked, continental items ran out, no fruit, no butter, even the toast offered was meagre. We had an old menu in the room and not many of the items we had chosen we available. The room service tray was left in our room all night, not very pleasant, cold fish all night in the bedroom. The excuse given was the fact it was between Christmas and New Year and no deliveries had been made, plus they had a wedding party booked in. Fair enough, but surely sufficient supplies should have been ordered in advance. We hadn't booked on a deal, paid full up prices and we weren't discounted on our departure. If you pay reduced prices you half expect a reduce service, but not when they charge these sort of prices. The spa was fully booked as well, which was probably due to my not booking early enough, however an advanced warning of the need to book early would have been good. I'm afraid we won't be going back again.

Reviewed by
ELAINE H

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a happy experience
Our first impressions on entering the hotel were of shabbiness. On entering reception ,15 min earlywe felt that we shoukld not have the audacity to arrive before "regulated" checkin . Our room ,a double so called, was extremely small and ill furnished. The hotel itself seemed to be a mis match of furniture. The staff seemed to be regimented and not trained to be either welcoming or meet customer needs. Food was of average quality. Overall a very disappointing experience. The appropriate feed back form was filled in and left.
Took an early breakfast just to get away from it.

Reviewed by
Mervyn F

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing experience
Clearly the owners had a vision which unfortunately was not carried on throughout the hotel. The room furnishings were new and looked chic but let down by tired furniture. The bathroom was newly fitted but clearly had skimped on costs and no hot water in the shower. Light from outside building lights shone into the room due to way curtains had been fitted which spoilt the ambiance of the 4 poster room. The restaurant menu was limited and quality of food and wine was poor. Vegetarians should stay clear unless they are looking for a 1970's approach. Swimming poolvery small.

Reviewed by
stephanie m

From Cwmbran, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staf were friendly on arrival and were polite and very helpful. I had awonderful time at the hotel. I only stayed one night and it was lovely, had a lovely meal could not fault staff.

Reviewed by
K thompson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed
Stayed here in February this year and found accommodation and food ok for a 3 star.
Very disappointed this time. Bed was not very comfortable due to a very lumpy mattress.
We ate in the hotel on the first evening only, as we found the food very poor. We tried two different bottles of wine and found both poor quality and undrinkable, consequently we ate elsewhere the following two nights. Breakfast was not much better with scrambled egg resembling rubber.

Reviewed by
Lynn G

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character Hotel
Quirky hotel, comfortable clean and the staff were really friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this great old building that is full of character.

Reviewed by
Helen P

From Glossop, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was our Anniversary so a short break away for 3 nights value for money excellent, Room was very nice only problem was the bath room shower not very clean Housekeeping just needs to be looked at

Reviewed by
J Quirk

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next