Reviews - Manor House Hotel & Spa


Front Street West Auckland, Durham, DL14 9HW

Price From 115 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (47)

74% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • James Makepeace

  • June 2014

Exactly what was promised

An excellent, reasonably priced hotel.

Very good service throughout our stay. Friendly, approachable staff, who work hard to make sure you get an excellent experience, in lovely surroundings. Would definitely recommend, and will be staying again. Many thanks for an enjoyable visit.

  • C Neill

  • May 2014

Lovely but a little dated X

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first bank holiday in May.

It wasn't bad priced (£95 for b & b) & full use of pool etc. Hotel is an old building so walls/floors wax were a little dated which was expected. Room decent, lovely bed. Disappointed with bathroom as advertised on their website as better than it was. Our 4 poster bedroom had a separate bathroom which was basic and had the tiniest window with no view (being picky as this didn't effect us but expected different) food ok and prices average.

  • N Jones

  • April 2014

Dreadful Service

The car park was incorrectly signposted which meant we ended up at a trade entrance walking through mud in the dark.

The shower was too cold and too weak. There was no wifi in the room despite the advert saying there was. The TV was impossible to operate without clear instructions that were not given. The bed was too hard and had a gap down the back that the pillows fell into. There was mildew on the windows. At breakfast we had to ask for all of the following before we got them: A table, glasses, milk with our coffee (twice), sugar and both our drinks and breakfast orders were wrong. The staff were rude and unhelpful. No refund was given so I can only conclude that the company was happy with this level of service. Do not go here!

  • A Sproat

  • April 2014

Satisfied with our stay.

We booked the hotel last minute and it was very reasonably priced considering it was the Easter Bank Holiday weekend.

When we arrived at the hotel the reception staff were polite and friendly.

I would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend to others too.

  • Caroline W

  • April 2014

lovely hotel!.

would definitely come back!

  • Caroline W

  • April 2014

excellent hotel with friendly staff and nice furnishings including carpets!!

  • Anthony K

  • April 2014

Lovely old building.beautiful big family sized bathroom.

costumer service left a lot to be desired

  • Barrie W

  • March 2014

ok for the price

Hotel had a lot of old features which included a very narrow staircase to my room (would have been a problem for some guests).

Needs some money spending on the interior decor. Breakfast was ok when it arrived, very slow service and toast would have been nice, the contractors who where guests language over Breakfast would have offended a lot . over all was as you expect for the price paid.

  • L MacLean

  • March 2014

Value for money. Nice room.

  • v robe

  • February 2014

Had fab time so relaxed