No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 172 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

prince of wales
The room we were given was brilliant. Have stayed here before By far best room we have had. Unfortunately breakfast was diabolical. would have breakfast elsewhere next time .Would definitely use Late Rooms again.

Reviewed by
L Whyatt

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were moved from the prince of wales to another hotel. so never got to see the hotel.
so not happy about being moved to the scarisbrick hotel. although the room was nice, i was looking forward to taking my wife for a birthday treat to the prince of wales. have had really good reviews from friends. we go away quite often but this has really put us off trying for the prince of wales again. this
really spoilt our break.
the reviews are for the SCARISBRICK

Reviewed by
thomas g

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money old fashioned hotel with history I will stop here again some .

Reviewed by
David P

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

John
Myself and my partner have stayed at this hotel in the past and always think you get value for money. The room was very spacious and the food was plentiful with a lot of variety, and the hotel staff bent over backwards to help. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again at the hotel....

Reviewed by
John H

From Bordon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince of Wales Hotel
number sixes allround!

Reviewed by
peter morris

From crewe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hotel in the dark ages
I booked the breakfast a half price deal, the fare on offer was awful the layout was out of the dark ages the toast came out on a huge tray I did not even entertain having any of it. The table in the dining room was next to where plates were being cleared a constant scraping and clanging of plates. Tea and Coffee were left on a tray on this table to give to guests when they asked for their preference it could have been sitting there a while.
I would not pay the full price for it. Infact the following morning we went to The Metro Hotel and had a wonderful breakfast, we could not face the scrum or the food again.
The bedroom was in the basement in what I guess used to be a nightclub, it was clean but was in serious need of upgrading.
On checking out the receptionist did not even ask if we enjoyed our stay.
Would I stay here again no not even at a bargain price its back to The Premier Inn for me.

Reviewed by
SALLY G

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed before
Have stayed at this hotel a few times now and it is lovely but tired like most Britainia Hotels but in a great location staff are very good and buffet breakfast is good but didn't bother having evening meal Would definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Steven Tait

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disgusting!
After choosing to stay at the prince of Wales for no other reason then I knew where it was and decided it was central to where I wanted to stay. After checking into the room which was supposedly an 'executive double room' I was shocked to find that on the side of the wardrobe, written in a manner as kids do when they write on the back of lorries with their fingers, written the worlds 'wash me'. At the time me and my partner was in a rush and did nothing but laugh it off. On return to the room we decided to turn the tele on only to find a minimal amount of channels( fair enough as freeview wasn't stated) but the picture quality took me back to being a child moving the antenna round on the back of my TV to get a good picture. We then decided to ring down to reception to ask if any of the rooms had freeview that we could move to and explained why to which the reply was just an abrupt 'no' followed by silence. I would never stay here again even if it was offered to me for free. There was one pillow each that we both had to fold over twice to try and sleep on. The room was cold and the cleaners in the morning came knocking on out room an hour before the checkout time and when we opened the door to them and told them we thought check out was 10, we just got glared at.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient touch of the past
The hotel is conveniently set on the main street. The hotel has seen better days but still has a sense of grandeur. The main lift was out of order but we used the staff lift and when we arrived people were not able to book in immediately as the machine was not working.The staff were very pleasant but they were stretched as there were several coach parties, who were obviously happy with the place, but it meant breakfast was crowded and the chef had to work extremely hard to keep up with demand. Our bedroom was spacious, clean, comfortable and adequate but don't expect glitz!

Reviewed by
E Reeves

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I picked the hotel because of its' period features and I was not disappointed, a beautiful building tastefully furnished. Sometimes a little tatty in places but only to be expected in a hotel this size. Meals were also traditional and very enjoyable. I was given a suite rather than a room which was the size of a small apartment. Overall very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Judith H

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next