No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 188 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not value for money
Reception staff happily chatting on phone whilst we waited to be booked in without any haste to sort guests out, called 'Honey' and 'sweetheart', cash had to handled by another receptionist who had authority. They hold your 'payment' that reserves the booking for 7 days even though we paid cash. The room needs updating, is very basic and over priced. Pillows were flat. The restaurant staff were inattentive and did not greet or check if we needed anything - we had to interrupt staff to ask for coffee.

Reviewed by
Gwen B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Disappointed
We have stayed here on many occasion over the last few years - the building itself is a great landmark in Southport and in an excellent position but we will probably not stay there again - we were there for 2 nights - the lift was broken (with no signs of it being fixed) though we could use the Service Lift which we were glad about with being on the third floor- The TV in the room was so ancient we were surprised it worked at all - only 3 channels - 2 of which were fuzzy - complained to Reception who said they would try to find another (they didn't ) - the bedroom was freezing - when I asked when the heating was coming on I was then told that it wouldn't as the central heating system was broken - not good news on a cold October night!! They did find us a little fan heater which helped a little - asked for a Midoori and lemonade at the bar and had to point it out to the barman as he didn't know what it was - then had to return the drink as it was musty - obviously the bottle had been on the shelf for months!! Most of the staff were helpful enough but the whole place appears to be going downhill and is desperate need of some TLC.

Reviewed by
S Dawson

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heartbreaking to see a flagship hotel, once the pride of Southport losing the battle to survive.
Room quoted at original price £188 on Laterooms,com was £99 for a twin bedded garret in the roof, very cheap thin pillows and duvets on beds, the cheapest plain white covers on both beds. Room clean, view from high window in wall was the slates on a roof, 4th floor, and the area of public corridor up there had a slight hint of tobacco (despite whole hotel had no smoking policy). Woken up at 7am Sunday with fire alarm sounding at a seriously deafening level in our room. Was this to make sure guests were awake after Saturday night? Was told it happened because of "something else"was the cause. Main lift was out of action during all our stay, 24hrs, service lift offered to 3rd floor, what if our party couldn't make the stairs? Getting into the hotel with a car,- hotel operates an automated barrier, ticket system charges £2 a night, tight parking area, with lots of places but only one left to us on arrival and once parked you wouldn't get a second chance to go out and back into a space. In the evening of our stay the whole reception area which is a very large room and open hallway with wide ascending staircase smelled of food, and it was obvious that extractors in the kitchen are not efficient or don't work at all. The original revolving doors at the entrance are down to the wood through visitors having to get through with luggage that once a porter would have carried, and therefore these genuine beautiful doors are bashed and worn with people's luggage damaging them. The whole building once the pride of Southport, where the clients would have respected and valued the place, it is being neglected. It was built in the Art Deco era, and still has these artistic features. We asked for a hot chocolate drink late in the evening before we wanted to go to our room, were told not enough staff to provide that, the bar was busy and no one could leave it, to make our request. The following morning, after the shattering noise of the fire alarm, we went down to breakfast, guests had to try and find their own table in a crowded room of noisy people, in a cafeteria atmosphere, jostle around an elliptical counter with food laid out for a help yourself service. Food sitting on open trays. Lots pushing along with other guests. Staff numbers were insufficient, were run off their feet and looking stressed, and sounding huffy, but kept polite. Not nice at all, and not expected in this hotel. Another feature of the low standards was seeing three- in- a- row huge laundry bags hanging on big metal frames on all four landings right in front of the stairs. WHY? for the staff's benefit. Unsightly for guests, another indication of low standard. The walls of the hallways around the staircases are scuffed and the decoration is tired and needs attention. Perhaps "the guests" don't care?
This is not the way the Prince of Wales hotel should project itself.
Even the very large golden scrolled writing sign pinned to the front of the hotel, again probably the original carved wood, (?) was broken, the R was hanging at the back of the sign, it's sad evidence that the present owners don't appreciate the history of this hotel, and don't care about these things.
A sad experience, and disappointing for me, I knew this hotel when it was regarded as very special, the leading hotel in the town. Even at a "reduced" cost......... no operating guests lift, no personal service, very noisy crowded cafeteria, etc, it wasn't worth the cost of the visit. We would have been more comfortable at a local small business guest house.

Reviewed by
elaine s

From France
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding Anniversary at The Prince of Wales Southport
We decided on the Prince of Wales for a two night stay to celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary because we have stayed many times since Britannia took it over and have never had any reason to complain. Every time we visit they seem to have improved something. The breakfasts are very good and the bar is very welcoming with reasonably priced drinks - which is more than one can say about some of the other bars and pubs in Southport !

Reviewed by
ALAN RIGBY

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but a great location
The hotel is dated, but that's what makes it. A great Base for the shops and local pubs and restaurants.

Reviewed by
Adam Hope

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fading charm
We were given a very nice room, albeit that it was in the basement, it was clean and functional though there was a slight smell of damp. The hotel itself is a grand old lady that is being looked after relatively well. Car parking was a bit of an issue as it was a very busy weekend as the airshow was taking place. Breakfast was very good and you could eat as much as you liked as it was buffet style. Overall a good experience.

Reviewed by
d mccoid

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good if you get it at a cheap rate
The staff are very nice but the hotel is very tired. Our room was grim but clean. We were glad we had not paid the full rate, it would not have been worth it.

Reviewed by
Lynn L

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need updating
One of the lifts not working which made it hard work as we were on the 3rd floor also my husband has difficult in walking. Also we came for our wedding anniversery of 58 years booked a lunch for the ocasion which was spoilt because the food was not good. The liver was hard and cold the desserts the only one what looked good was the choclate cake which we had.the hotel needs a bit of t.l.c.

Reviewed by
DOREEN K

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Hotel is a little dated and certainly in the room that we were in there is a need to update a few things. Awful looking yellowed bathmat!! Television very archaic and limited access to channels. Staff very pleasant and always helpful. There was a fracas in the night from next door but security dealt very quickly with it and apologised. Over all, not too bad and the room we had was large and spacious.

Reviewed by
peter s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

prince of wales for 1night
Stayed for 1 night at short notice glad it was only 1night. The whole room on general was dated and not really looked after. Floor not hovered and bathroom not nice at all

Reviewed by
r shaw

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next