No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 189 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Areally poor display from such a nice hotel ,breakfast was a disaster ,dirty tables ,no tea or coffee.and No staff !!!

Reviewed by
Stephen O'Brien

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our favourite hotel in Southport
My husband and I have been staying at the Prince of Wales for approx.15 years - we love it because its "old wordly" - solid furniture, huge central heating radiators, large bathroom fitments,etc.plus its central situation - certainly value for money. Staff efficient and friendly.

Reviewed by
Joan Holden

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very central!
Hotel was in a fabulous location with onsite parking (although you had to pay). Rooms very traditionally decorated but comfortable. Had breakfast in the morning and had to chuckle at the waitress as she ran around like a headless chicken singing that she was happy even though her face said opposite! Check out was quite early at 10am and due to the size of the hotel there was a rather large queue waiting to check out. Enjoyed our stay, would recommend.

Reviewed by
Gillian L

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Above Average
Everything good apart from the car park being too small leading to traffic wardens having a field day on the surrounding streets.

Reviewed by
ian glynn

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Had a lovely stay with my family, was not keen on breakfast they were under staffed but the staff that were there were very friendly hotel is very dated but rooms very clean

Reviewed by
Janet M

From Kirkintilloch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but good value for money

Reviewed by
k harrison

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

tea please
reception staff provided excellent service, the room was was clean and comfortable and well worth the cost. the bar man seemed to be a little out of sorts and his customer service seemed to be lacking, my only gripe was the tea and coffee making facilities that were provided in the room 2 tbags doesnt go very far had to make a concious decision if to have a cup of tea before bed or save the t bags for morning, if we go again we will take some with us

Reviewed by
nina b

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia in Southport.
Grand hotel building , dont make them like this anymore... Car parking £2 per night. Good bar prices, food buffet in restaurant 3 courses £10 , live entertainment for residents. Coach trips for the older generation so hotel cater for them . The rooms are basic , clean had usual facilities bathroom was clean and free comp toiletries. Its a grand place which needs a bit of resturation and paint here and there , you cant knock it for price you pay !!! And good location for town.

Reviewed by
s pereira

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value for money

Reviewed by
M GOODWIN

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old and tired
we have been staying at the prince of wales for a number of years now it really needs some attention rooms are tired and the décor very poor the rooms are always clean.we didn't get a great deal of sleep because of the floor boards above us and they had a very squeaky bed we could hear all of this into the early hours of the morning 4am to be precise not exactly the relaxing break we planned so we will not be booking the prince of wales again unfortunately we have had many good weekend there but over a period of time we have noticed a big decline lynne harvey

Reviewed by
r maiden

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next