Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3

Lord Street, Southport, PR8 1JS

Price From 131.38 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (120)

62% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • thomas g

  • December 2014

we were moved from the prince of wales to another hotel. so never got to see the hotel.

so not happy about being moved to the scarisbrick hotel.

although the room was nice, i was looking forward to taking my wife for a birthday treat to the prince of wales. have had really good reviews from friends. we go away quite often but this has really put us off trying for the prince of wales again. this

really spoilt our break.

the reviews are for the SCARISBRICK

  • L Whyatt

  • December 2014

prince of wales

The room we were given was brilliant.

Have stayed here before By far best room we have had. Unfortunately breakfast was diabolical. would have breakfast elsewhere next time .Would definitely use Late Rooms again.

  • peter morris

  • December 2014

Prince of Wales Hotel

number sixes allround!

  • John H

  • November 2014

John

Myself and my partner have stayed at this hotel in the past and always think you get value for money.

The room was very spacious and the food was plentiful with a lot of variety, and the hotel staff bent over backwards to help. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again at the hotel....

  • David P

  • November 2014

Value for money old fashioned hotel with history I will stop here again some .

  • SALLY G

  • November 2014

A Hotel in the dark ages

I booked the breakfast a half price deal, the fare on offer was awful the layout was out of the dark ages the toast came out on a huge tray I did not even entertain having any of it.

The table in the dining room was next to where plates were being cleared a constant scraping and clanging of plates. Tea and Coffee were left on a tray on this table to give to guests when they asked for their preference it could have been sitting there a while. I would not pay the full price for it. Infact the following morning we went to The Metro Hotel and had a wonderful breakfast, we could not face the scrum or the food again. The bedroom was in the basement in what I guess used to be a nightclub, it was clean but was in serious need of upgrading. On checking out the receptionist did not even ask if we enjoyed our stay. Would I stay here again no not even at a bargain price its back to The Premier Inn for me.

  • Steven Tait

  • November 2014

Stayed before

Have stayed at this hotel a few times now and it is lovely but tired like most Britainia Hotels but in a great location staff are very good and buffet breakfast is good but didn't bother having evening meal Would definitely stay again

  • Chris B

  • November 2014

Disgusting!

After choosing to stay at the prince of Wales for no other reason then I knew where it was and decided it was central to where I wanted to stay.

After checking into the room which was supposedly an 'executive double room' I was shocked to find that on the side of the wardrobe, written in a manner as kids do when they write on the back of lorries with their fingers, written the worlds 'wash me'. At the time me and my partner was in a rush and did nothing but laugh it off. On return to the room we decided to turn the tele on only to find a minimal amount of channels( fair enough as freeview wasn't stated) but the picture quality took me back to being a child moving the antenna round on the back of my TV to get a good picture. We then decided to ring down to reception to ask if any of the rooms had freeview that we could move to and explained why to which the reply was just an abrupt 'no' followed by silence. I would never stay here again even if it was offered to me for free. There was one pillow each that we both had to fold over twice to try and sleep on. The room was cold and the cleaners in the morning came knocking on out room an hour before the checkout time and when we opened the door to them and told them we thought check out was 10, we just got glared at.

  • E Reeves

  • October 2014

Convenient touch of the past

The hotel is conveniently set on the main street.

The hotel has seen better days but still has a sense of grandeur. The main lift was out of order but we used the staff lift and when we arrived people were not able to book in immediately as the machine was not working.The staff were very pleasant but they were stretched as there were several coach parties, who were obviously happy with the place, but it meant breakfast was crowded and the chef had to work extremely hard to keep up with demand. Our bedroom was spacious, clean, comfortable and adequate but don't expect glitz!

  • Judith H

  • October 2014

I picked the hotel because of its' period features and I was not disappointed, a beautiful building tastefully furnished.

Sometimes a little tatty in places but only to be expected in a hotel this size. Meals were also traditional and very enjoyable. I was given a suite rather than a room which was the size of a small apartment. Overall very comfortable.