No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 153 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince of Wales Hotel
The worst hotel I have ever stayed in,room disgusting,food terrible,no room service after 1

Reviewed by
M ALLEN

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs TLC
Staff very good and friendly and overall a really nice hotel. However, it is in need of some TLC - decorating and some renovating is definitely required. With over 100 rooms it is impossible to comment on all but the room I stayed in was comfortable and what you would expect for a B&B. But, as with rest of hotel a good lick of paint wouldn't go amiss. Also needs updating on facilities - no sat TV, not even freeview. TV was old and remote held together with duct-tape. So, while I got it cheap off Laterooms, it would not have been good value at full price. Breakfast was good though. Buffet style and plenty to choose form. Nice bacon and nice sausages (these can be a little suspect I find).
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the hotel is in need of modernisation.
Good location. The staff very helpful. The room was awful.the valence sheet was dirty. Paid for breakfast but after the state of the room decided not to risk it.

Reviewed by
j wright

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince of Wales Hotel
Bathroom had no heating, or heated towel rail. Bed was comfortable. Good sized room. Breakfast very good value.

Reviewed by
sandra h

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Daty in Southport
We have stayed here before this time we were in the basement which was very quiet a better room than before.The evening meal was very quiet but plenty of staff.The breakfast was very busy over 250 guest but good quality food and very efficient front of house will definitly stay again.

Reviewed by
p hodkin

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
really enjoyed our stay room was clean and warm enjoyed the real coal fires in the lounge area while having bottle of wine and sandwiches

Reviewed by
e pierce

From St Helens, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central City Stay
Having stayed here before I find this a friendly and very reasonable place to stay while in the area,nothing to much bother for the staff to help with.This is an old style hotel but has had a spruce up everywhere and will stay again .

Reviewed by
GARY C

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
There are lots of negative reviews about this hotel but the reality is, for the price you pay this is a good hotel. It is a building with lots of potential and the communal areas are reasonably comfortable. The room I occupied was of a very good size but the decor and equipment was tired but functional. However, for the price, I think the hotel was more than acceptable. The Britannia chain offers good value for money - it is at the lower end of the price market - and therefore, expectations about the quality of the accommodation should be in line with this. There are things to complain about if you look for them - worn carpets, flaking paintwork etc - but if you want hotel accommodation that is modern, has new carpets and excellent paintwork, then pay £100 a night as opposed to £30 and stay somewhere else. Britannia offer clean if dated rooms, a reasonable breakfast, interesting buildings that require investment and acceptable customer service. For the price, a good deal in some excellent locations.

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince of Wales
The first room we were allocated was 408 or 410 which was disgusting to say the least. I spoke with the lady on reception (she was pregnant if this helps to recognise her), she apologised and moves us to a much better room than the first. Again, although better than the first room, the stains on the furniture was very off putting but the bathroom was much better than the first (if u kept your shoes on so the wet carpet didn't wet UR socks or bare feet). The room was ok for a night. When we arrived the restaurant was serving dinner which smelt very strong and not very appetising so we dos not use those facilities.
Would we stay again? Probably not.
Such a shame a lovely building that needs ripping out and completely renovating.

Reviewed by
Lyndsey R

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very old fashioned and run down
when entering the hotel a nice coal fire greets you, after this its downhill all the way
the main lift wasn't working so we had to use the service lift which had a dirty unpainted entrance.
the corridors to the room had damaged walls with paint peeling off,the carpets should have been thrown out years ago.
the room had a old tube telly and the remote was held together with tape .The bed sheets were clean but the valance was filthy and un ironed..The room was cold due to the radiator stat turned down, it did warm up aller when the heating gets turned back on at 5 o'clock. I have since been told by locals that this is one of the three hotels to avoid.The breakfast was barely edible coffee and tea are pre served on all the tables in flasks which are so stewed you can barely distinguish what they are

Reviewed by
paul f

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next