No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 190 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fading charm
We were given a very nice room, albeit that it was in the basement, it was clean and functional though there was a slight smell of damp. The hotel itself is a grand old lady that is being looked after relatively well. Car parking was a bit of an issue as it was a very busy weekend as the airshow was taking place. Breakfast was very good and you could eat as much as you liked as it was buffet style. Overall a good experience.

Reviewed by
d mccoid

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good if you get it at a cheap rate
The staff are very nice but the hotel is very tired. Our room was grim but clean. We were glad we had not paid the full rate, it would not have been worth it.

Reviewed by
Lynn L

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Need updating
One of the lifts not working which made it hard work as we were on the 3rd floor also my husband has difficult in walking. Also we came for our wedding anniversery of 58 years booked a lunch for the ocasion which was spoilt because the food was not good. The liver was hard and cold the desserts the only one what looked good was the choclate cake which we had.the hotel needs a bit of t.l.c.

Reviewed by
DOREEN K

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Hotel is a little dated and certainly in the room that we were in there is a need to update a few things. Awful looking yellowed bathmat!! Television very archaic and limited access to channels. Staff very pleasant and always helpful. There was a fracas in the night from next door but security dealt very quickly with it and apologised. Over all, not too bad and the room we had was large and spacious.

Reviewed by
peter s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

prince of wales for 1night
Stayed for 1 night at short notice glad it was only 1night. The whole room on general was dated and not really looked after. Floor not hovered and bathroom not nice at all

Reviewed by
r shaw

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big improvment
Looks like they have really tried to improve from last visit ,got ex room and very impressed ,the breakfast service has improved 100% since last vist ,more staff on and tables cleaned ,well done will book again

Reviewed by
Stephen O'Brien

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very friendly and very helpful

Reviewed by
ruth jones

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very shabby and tired, not a nice experience
Booked 2 rooms, twin was damp below ground level - dark and very depressing, no heating. On complaint moved to reasonable room on 2nd floor. Just a quilt on bed, my mother who is 86 needed a blanket, we asked twice and were assured one would be delivered to room - never happened.
Asked to change the double room but told unable to - no opening window or ventilation -glazed partition high with obscure glass. Very noisy from ballroom otherside. Could only get BBC2 on television -very old tv. Very dated and neglected.
Breakfast poor, both tea and coffee served was apalling. Cooked breakfast lukewarm.
This was a treat for our elderly mother and it would have spoilt our stay in Southport if we had refused to stay and to try to find alternative accommodation.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
A Hart

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekender
Ideal base for the Flower Show, theatre, and football in Liverpool.

Reviewed by
Deryck F

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but clean
Had had booked a double room but were given a suite! The hotel is very dated and needs a lick of paint but was very clean and friendly staff. Would not hesitate in staying there again.

Reviewed by
Joanne R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next