No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 190 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Big improvment
Looks like they have really tried to improve from last visit ,got ex room and very impressed ,the breakfast service has improved 100% since last vist ,more staff on and tables cleaned ,well done will book again

Reviewed by
Stephen O'Brien

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very friendly and very helpful

Reviewed by
ruth jones

From Wigan, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very shabby and tired, not a nice experience
Booked 2 rooms, twin was damp below ground level - dark and very depressing, no heating. On complaint moved to reasonable room on 2nd floor. Just a quilt on bed, my mother who is 86 needed a blanket, we asked twice and were assured one would be delivered to room - never happened.
Asked to change the double room but told unable to - no opening window or ventilation -glazed partition high with obscure glass. Very noisy from ballroom otherside. Could only get BBC2 on television -very old tv. Very dated and neglected.
Breakfast poor, both tea and coffee served was apalling. Cooked breakfast lukewarm.
This was a treat for our elderly mother and it would have spoilt our stay in Southport if we had refused to stay and to try to find alternative accommodation.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
A Hart

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekender
Ideal base for the Flower Show, theatre, and football in Liverpool.

Reviewed by
Deryck F

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but clean
Had had booked a double room but were given a suite! The hotel is very dated and needs a lick of paint but was very clean and friendly staff. Would not hesitate in staying there again.

Reviewed by
Joanne R

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would have been nice if we had stayed at the Pricne of Wales
We ended up in one of there groups other hotels down the road, dont go tell them you want a refund if they are over booked!!!!!

Reviewed by
kevin k

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointed in the service at reception and in the dining room.
Regarding the reception there was only one member of staff on the desk and when she was dealing with another customer, it caused a queue for quite some time. This happened to myself on a least 3 occasions were I was waiting for over 15 minutes whilst the queue got longer. All I needed on two of these occasions was my room key and car parking ticket validated.
Regarding the Dining room, when I had finished the starter and salad courses the plated were not removed and it meant eating the main meal with a table full of dirty plates. So not acceptable. The staff had no idea as to the importance of making the meal times a pleasurable experience. So under staffed

Reviewed by
GEOFFREY BERRY

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff ,clean room ,good value for money.

Reviewed by
benjamin s

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night in southport
The hotel is very large, showing signs of its age and internal repair works and decoration are required. The exterior is also in need of repair works e.g the signage.
Our room being a double executive suite was adequate but no more, the furniture was again dated and the corridor leading to the room was in need of decoration.

Reviewed by
DENNIS P

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay frindly and suprised on th prices for food and drink very ecomaomoical

Reviewed by
paul mann

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next