No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 172 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for the price
the room was large and clean, however some of the paintwork around the hotel needed updating and the stairs going to the lower ground floor needed a good hoover! staff extremely friendly, pleasant atmosphere. room needed a better tv....it was a very old fashioned portable..even though advertised as a flat screen. good for the money i paid as i booked late...however wouldn't be comfortable to pay fullprice

Reviewed by
julie young

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
hotel getting a bit old but otherwise very good value

Reviewed by
Mike B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years Eve at The Prince
Last minute booking to the POWales and found out that we had been booked into the Penthouse, a room we couldn`t imagine. Huge in size, ok could do with a bit ok a overall, but other than that great room. Found staff very pleasant and attentive, food good and overall experience was good.

Reviewed by
DAVID T

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very old comfortable hotel
My third visit to this hotel,always clean,comfortable and good food at a reasonable price,i love grandeur of bygone days and that is all here in this hotel,coal fires, sweeping staircases and good old fashion standards.please dont change a thing.

Reviewed by
D Fisher

From Chester, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay was satisfactory but I would not stay again.
The hotel decor was very dated as well as the squeaky floors and doors. There was also a terrible suspected damp smell near the stairs on the first floor. The staff appeared to be friendly and customer service was to good standard. The room itself was clean but very basic and not worth the amount paid. If I was to visit Southport again, I would seek alternative accommodation.

Reviewed by
Ashley P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a short stay
Rooms vary with price. I paid very little for a basic room, had everything I needed.

Reviewed by
Joseph A

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing break
we have stayed at the prince of wales southport for many years now the rooms are looking very tired in need of an update but to be honest for what time me and my wife spend in there it is adequate.The car parking is an issue though you have to pay £2.00 aday even though you have paid through the nose for a room there it should be free for persons staying at the hotel and the front of house need to be more welcoming the young lady who checked us in was rather miserable not what you expect when checking into a large hotel

Reviewed by
r maiden

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Take care when you book
Arrived at 9.00am knowing our room was available at 3.00pm, to find a car parking space. We were told the hotel was busy and to try later when we book in at 3.00pm. At 3.00pm we found a spot and went to book in, only to be told the room had been double booked! We were sent over the road to the Scarisbrick - an inferior hotel. The first room we were given smelled of damp and smoke. We went back to reception and were moved to an acceptable room. Breakfast thrown in because of the inconvenience. If you book in advance you should have the room you requested, no questions asked. Extremely disappointed. The P of W hotel blamed Late Rooms, but this has never happened before in the 10 years or so we have used the website.

Reviewed by
I Westwell

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed short break at hotel. Clean and cosy. A bit dated but gives it character. Food good. Location great. Entertainment could of been better.parking facilities good.

Reviewed by
Carol W

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A sorry state
We have stayed at the Prince of Wales many times over the years but I am sorry to say unfortunately this was the last time. I booked an executive but the room was far from that. It took 3 attempts before we found an ok room which was actually in the basement.
The furniture in the lounge was either stained or ripped and smelled musty and damp.
The breakfast consisted of poor quality sausage, beans and bread although bacon was ok if you could find a piece which was cooked. The jam was slopped in a mixing bowl totally off putting. There wasn't anyone to welcome us to breakfast, no-one to ask for assistance.
Very unwelcoming and certainly not worth the money.

Reviewed by
b calderbank

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.