No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 191 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed short break at hotel. Clean and cosy. A bit dated but gives it character. Food good. Location great. Entertainment could of been better.parking facilities good.

Reviewed by
Carol W

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A sorry state
We have stayed at the Prince of Wales many times over the years but I am sorry to say unfortunately this was the last time. I booked an executive but the room was far from that. It took 3 attempts before we found an ok room which was actually in the basement.
The furniture in the lounge was either stained or ripped and smelled musty and damp.
The breakfast consisted of poor quality sausage, beans and bread although bacon was ok if you could find a piece which was cooked. The jam was slopped in a mixing bowl totally off putting. There wasn't anyone to welcome us to breakfast, no-one to ask for assistance.
Very unwelcoming and certainly not worth the money.

Reviewed by
b calderbank

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was very clean & had very friendly staff. The parkings abit of a problem as its not big enough for all hotel residents & there's a charge for parking. the hotel is situated in a good position & I would definatly stay here again & recommend to friends & family

Reviewed by
J Perry

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Southport Britannia
First impressions the outside of the hotel could do with a bit of a tidy up and clean the basic interior was a bit shabby.
But the room was really nice and the reception staff were very helpful. The hotel itself is quite grand and could with a bit of renovation be grand again.

Reviewed by
Jonathan T

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bathroom window and bedroom skirting needs painting
more staff would be helpful

Reviewed by
b hayes

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated and lacklustre
The main lounges are lacklustre and dated due to the thread bare furnishings. The receptionist was quite efficient but at the detriment of her friendliness, which was lacking, no smile in greeting. The room 336 was positioned by the side of the lift shaft which made a restful sleep very difficult. The room however was clean and the furnishing were in keeping with the age of the hotel. If you like a modern and contemporary feel to a hotel then this hotel is not for you.

Reviewed by
Garry H

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ONE NIGHT STAY AT THE PRINCE OF WALES SOUTHPORT
This was our 3rd stay at the Prince of Wales this year and we have stayed numerous times in the past. We think it is a great hotel and always enjoy our time here. Everything about this Britannia hotel is first class. We have also stayed on the 4 day ' Twixtmas' break for the last 5 yrs and have booked again this Xmas.

Reviewed by
alan RIGBY

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear... could do better.. the self service is excellent though..
This hotel could do with a complete overhaul, from bedroom carpets and bathroom lino, to signage, to staff training. It has the potential to be so much more than a functions venue. On arrival I had to check if I was in a hotel or the residential lounge of an institution. It took some time to find the reception staff, who were in the back room because of the noise of the karaoke type entertainment taking place in the lobby. The mass catering breakfast is presented in a 'pile 'em high' fashion and coffee is make it yourself with instant coffee and the hot water provided. A friendly enough atmosphere but a general feeling that staff are really just making the best of the situation.

Reviewed by
Ann S

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

twin room
We love staying at the Prince of Wales, staff very helpful ,good food,rooms clean .But could do with updating.
Good value for money.

Reviewed by
K Driver

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room for the cost via late rooms!
Reason for our one night stop over was to try out the Hotel as a whole, as thinking about getting married at the POW hotel. Found the hotel seems to be taken over by the older generation,so felt a bit out of place to actually stay for the entertainment in the evening! as we in our 40`s. Room as we expected for the price and clean. A bit alarmed in the morning tho when a maid knocked quickly on our door and walked in with her key a second later,have never grabbed for our covers so quick ,we thought someone had wrong door so we ignored the knock,but would not of had time to cover ourselves up anyway as she just walked in around 8.45?????. very odd as we did not need vacate room till 10, just hope does not happen on our wedding night if we decide to have it there.

Reviewed by
patricia a

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next