No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 186 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

organised chaos
Bathroom - Water was coming through the light in the bathroom, when the upstairs shower was in use.
Bedroom - There was damp in the corner. The room was needing redecorated.
There was only one lift, which caused a lot of inconvenience

Reviewed by
A Turnbull

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location is good , hotel itself is very dated and some of the furniture in our room was older than me
we paid over the top for this hotel as everywhere else was booked.
Poor buffet breakfast and they charge you £2 to park in their car park.
Pensioners paradise mainly. Unimpressed.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money,nice cosy bar,room clesn and tidy,great position for town centre

Reviewed by
dave savage

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
very nice hotel staff very helpful will book again

Reviewed by
bernard h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but needs a revamp
Room was on the top floor and a little cramped, but adequate for one night.
Hotel was very busy, and could imagine that this hotel was top class years ago. Sadly now looking run down and in need of a revamp.

Reviewed by
B Thomas

From Castell Nedd, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our wedding
There was a lot of confusion at checking in. Guests upset, we booked in because we where getting married. A lot if things didnt go right. We sorted out some of the issues but several guests were far from happy. We were offered NO assistance with our luggage dispite asking for it (as we are both disabed). Food in restaurant was far from impressive.

Reviewed by
S Barlow

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

southport
good value

Reviewed by
SUSAN B

From Millom, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
very pleased with hotel. very busy hotel but friendly staff always available to speak to. Buffet breakfast superb

Reviewed by
DAVID S

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only booked for one night thank goodness!. Hotel looking very shabby with peeling wallpaper everywhere. Stayed during the heatwave and room was on the 4th floor and boiling hot. It was clean though. Breakfast was a bit shambollic. They are short of staff and tables were left uncleared. the buffet had run short of fruit and juice and the hot food was cold. At least it only cost £49. Will not go back.

Reviewed by
s petrie

From llanwrda, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel and food were nice, would stay again when go to southport.

Reviewed by
Tracey H

From Wales
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next