No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 187 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ONE NIGHT STAY AT THE PRINCE OF WALES SOUTHPORT
This was our 3rd stay at the Prince of Wales this year and we have stayed numerous times in the past. We think it is a great hotel and always enjoy our time here. Everything about this Britannia hotel is first class. We have also stayed on the 4 day ' Twixtmas' break for the last 5 yrs and have booked again this Xmas.

Reviewed by
alan RIGBY

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Oh dear... could do better.. the self service is excellent though..
This hotel could do with a complete overhaul, from bedroom carpets and bathroom lino, to signage, to staff training. It has the potential to be so much more than a functions venue. On arrival I had to check if I was in a hotel or the residential lounge of an institution. It took some time to find the reception staff, who were in the back room because of the noise of the karaoke type entertainment taking place in the lobby. The mass catering breakfast is presented in a 'pile 'em high' fashion and coffee is make it yourself with instant coffee and the hot water provided. A friendly enough atmosphere but a general feeling that staff are really just making the best of the situation.

Reviewed by
Ann S

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

twin room
We love staying at the Prince of Wales, staff very helpful ,good food,rooms clean .But could do with updating.
Good value for money.

Reviewed by
K Driver

From Clitheroe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room for the cost via late rooms!
Reason for our one night stop over was to try out the Hotel as a whole, as thinking about getting married at the POW hotel. Found the hotel seems to be taken over by the older generation,so felt a bit out of place to actually stay for the entertainment in the evening! as we in our 40`s. Room as we expected for the price and clean. A bit alarmed in the morning tho when a maid knocked quickly on our door and walked in with her key a second later,have never grabbed for our covers so quick ,we thought someone had wrong door so we ignored the knock,but would not of had time to cover ourselves up anyway as she just walked in around 8.45?????. very odd as we did not need vacate room till 10, just hope does not happen on our wedding night if we decide to have it there.

Reviewed by
patricia a

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not recommended at all. Tired and dated hotel, a major disappointment. Worst breakfast ever - not worth having.

Reviewed by
M Scallon

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Prince of Wales Brittania hotel Southport
After using this hotel in 2011 I was very disappointed at the drop in standard this year when I visited. Considering the price for the days I stayed it was disgraceful not to receive fresh pots of tea at breakfast and fresh toast instead it was a flask of hot water left per table and a large bowl of toast all done at once and left on the warmer . By the time you went to get your own it was just soggy toast. There was nowhere near as much choice in cereals and dried and fresh fruits. I went elsewhere for a few more days in Southport for a few more days at a price of £25 for B & B and received a much more superior standard of food etc and all served fresh to order and also sky tv and biscuits in my room, Harrogate water and toiletries in the bathroom plus a bath sheet and towel and face cloth. I didn't receive half of that at the Prince of Wales and would not consider going there again and would be very doubtful of using Brittannia Hotels at all. Very disappointing indeed.

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

organised chaos
Bathroom - Water was coming through the light in the bathroom, when the upstairs shower was in use.
Bedroom - There was damp in the corner. The room was needing redecorated.
There was only one lift, which caused a lot of inconvenience

Reviewed by
A Turnbull

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location is good , hotel itself is very dated and some of the furniture in our room was older than me
we paid over the top for this hotel as everywhere else was booked.
Poor buffet breakfast and they charge you £2 to park in their car park.
Pensioners paradise mainly. Unimpressed.

Reviewed by
John S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money,nice cosy bar,room clesn and tidy,great position for town centre

Reviewed by
dave savage

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
very nice hotel staff very helpful will book again

Reviewed by
bernard h

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next