No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 186 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our wedding
There was a lot of confusion at checking in. Guests upset, we booked in because we where getting married. A lot if things didnt go right. We sorted out some of the issues but several guests were far from happy. We were offered NO assistance with our luggage dispite asking for it (as we are both disabed). Food in restaurant was far from impressive.

Reviewed by
S Barlow

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

southport
good value

Reviewed by
SUSAN B

From Millom, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend away
very pleased with hotel. very busy hotel but friendly staff always available to speak to. Buffet breakfast superb

Reviewed by
DAVID S

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only booked for one night thank goodness!. Hotel looking very shabby with peeling wallpaper everywhere. Stayed during the heatwave and room was on the 4th floor and boiling hot. It was clean though. Breakfast was a bit shambollic. They are short of staff and tables were left uncleared. the buffet had run short of fruit and juice and the hot food was cold. At least it only cost £49. Will not go back.

Reviewed by
s petrie

From llanwrda, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel and food were nice, would stay again when go to southport.

Reviewed by
Tracey H

From Wales
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor room!
I booked a single room for over night! The room was very warm and a tony window that was unable to open. Even tho I made my query known to the reception they replied with" hotel is full sorry sir"
I didn't sleep very well atall .... I would re consider staying here again!

Reviewed by
a lord

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
We felt the royal was shabby and needs a refurb. The breakfast was not very warm everything
Lukewarm including the toast.we were on fourth floor it was airless small window. The hotel was central and parking was fine, even though we had to pay for it.

Reviewed by
j winder

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money,only drawback finding a couple of large cockroaches on the bed one night when we came in

Reviewed by
MICHAEL GOODWIN

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
This is a great value hotel but don't expect the Ritz, its a little dated but I think this adds to its character. Its definitely a case of you get what you pay for, great price with all you can eat buffet breakfast included with something for everyone. The rooms are very spacious and clean but could do with updating, all said and done I always use this hotel when I visit Southport as its central, reasonable price and helpful staff

Reviewed by
MARTIN D

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

n/a
n/a

Reviewed by
Karen W

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next