No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 175 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review of room 134
We were given a room which had no window ad which was wrapped around the lift shaft. Consequently, our night was disturbed with the noise of the lift going up and down until the early hours and also the noise began again in the early morning. Also, as there was no window, there was no way to get any fresh air and there was a prevailing stuffy smell which was unpleasant and made us feel claustrophobic. we did complain on leaving and felt this should not be le as a room as it was more like a cupboard.

Reviewed by
K Mallon

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Good clean comfortable room ,central location

Reviewed by
alan l

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
On arrival we were met by a very brusque young lady on reception - not very friendly or helpful.
Breakfast was very poor. The queue was long. The sausages were a very poor quality. My tinned tomatoes had mould on them which put me off eating the rest of my breakfast. The staff were not eager to put it right in the dining room.

Reviewed by
K Nelson

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week end in southport
We have stopped at this hotel twice before and found it very good for its location. The breakfasts on the last two occasions were of better quality. On this visit the food was not very warm, but the idea of having hot water on your table for drinks was good. The room was good, and the shower was excellent, although the towel rail did not work. The entertainment at night was good, as on our last visits there was none. We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the hotel to our friends.

Reviewed by
david white

From West Bromwich, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was disappointed that I booked a double room for me and my partner yet it was twin beds pushed together this made our sleep really uncomfortable

Reviewed by
L Radley

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in
I paid £100 for a room the size of a dog kennel. I had to pay £18.00 for outside parking no parking space in the hotel. The food was awful breakfast eggs like bullets the oil in the fryers must have been black after see filthy roch hard fried bread. Dinner was awful chicken Kiev rock hard the veg soggy.
The telefilms are from the ark 90s. The carpets are sticky and it is need of a serious refurb. Cheap coffee and tea, all round a complete disaster area.

Reviewed by
Tom Bridge

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Regular Customer..
Me and my husband are regular customers at The Prince Of Wales. My husband booked me a weekend away at the hotel and this visit, also paid extra to go in an executive room. Which I am very disappointed with. From visiting the hotel this was by far the smallest room we've stayed in, it had no window with a view, well a window but was frosted and all I could see was the shadows of pigions going past. Which keep us up all night. The bath had a jacuzzi built in it, I tried it and it never worked, it just made a humming noise and went off. An to say this room was meant to be an executive room, I was very disappointed. A standard room we've been in was better than this. And last but not least, there was no parking spaces, So we had to park else where, which took us 45mins to walk to and from. We did enquire at the reception to change our room, but they said all rooms where full. We're not sure we'd stay here again.

Reviewed by
p wood

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for the price
the room was large and clean, however some of the paintwork around the hotel needed updating and the stairs going to the lower ground floor needed a good hoover! staff extremely friendly, pleasant atmosphere. room needed a better tv....it was a very old fashioned portable..even though advertised as a flat screen. good for the money i paid as i booked late...however wouldn't be comfortable to pay fullprice

Reviewed by
julie young

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice
hotel getting a bit old but otherwise very good value

Reviewed by
Mike B

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New Years Eve at The Prince
Last minute booking to the POWales and found out that we had been booked into the Penthouse, a room we couldn`t imagine. Huge in size, ok could do with a bit ok a overall, but other than that great room. Found staff very pleasant and attentive, food good and overall experience was good.

Reviewed by
DAVID T

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next