No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired hotel. Has seen better days. No consistency on pricing.

Reviewed by
Brian Suthers

From Carnforth,, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A grand old hotel
A grand old hotel indeed. My single room was quite satisfactory with everything in it but unfortunately the weather was very warm on my visit to Southport and the windows were sealed shut - so it was very warm and stuffy in the room. Breakfast was great and all the staff I spoke to were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
L BROWN

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Impressed
Even though I requested for Ground Floor or 1st Floor twin room, as my mother has difficulty walking and a fear of lifts, I was given 4th floor double until I complained. We were then given a dark and dismal 1st floor twin at the back of the hotel, even the window was frosted like a bathroom!! It was also quite a walk from the lift!! There was only one main lift, with a maximum of 4 people, this meant having to wait for the lift to go up and down 2 or 3 times before we could actually get in it. The dining room was dirty, with what appeared to be soil on the window sills, and the area where we could serve ourselves was covered with grease, which I ended up getting on my blouse, which is now ruined!! I complained to the receptionist, but was told there was nothing they could do. This was to be a break for my Mam, who hasn't been away since my Dad passed away 18 months ago. It's a shame that the stay at the Britannia Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport put a damper on the couple of nights we had!!

Reviewed by
Linda Nevet

From Wesham, Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
If you just want a room to lay your head - great value for money.

Reviewed by
Nicola Proctor

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Areally poor display from such a nice hotel ,breakfast was a disaster ,dirty tables ,no tea or coffee.and No staff !!!

Reviewed by
Stephen O'Brien

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our favourite hotel in Southport
My husband and I have been staying at the Prince of Wales for approx.15 years - we love it because its "old wordly" - solid furniture, huge central heating radiators, large bathroom fitments,etc.plus its central situation - certainly value for money. Staff efficient and friendly.

Reviewed by
Joan Holden

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
Had a lovely stay with my family, was not keen on breakfast they were under staffed but the staff that were there were very friendly hotel is very dated but rooms very clean

Reviewed by
Janet M

From Kirkintilloch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very central!
Hotel was in a fabulous location with onsite parking (although you had to pay). Rooms very traditionally decorated but comfortable. Had breakfast in the morning and had to chuckle at the waitress as she ran around like a headless chicken singing that she was happy even though her face said opposite! Check out was quite early at 10am and due to the size of the hotel there was a rather large queue waiting to check out. Enjoyed our stay, would recommend.

Reviewed by
Gillian L

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Above Average
Everything good apart from the car park being too small leading to traffic wardens having a field day on the surrounding streets.

Reviewed by
ian glynn

From Ferryhill, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but good value for money

Reviewed by
k harrison

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next