No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 169 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean tidy friendly hotel, quick service, cheap price, car park, early check in on request for a nominal fee

Reviewed by
Jane C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but needs money spent updating hotel
Got a good deal on hotel
Hotel has some good old features but needs better maintenance
A lot of neglect to a fantastic old building
Hence a major project needed to bring it back to its glory
Happy with my stay good location good breakfast
And good value for money.
Just needs more T L C!

Reviewed by
David S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Inhospitable and cold stay
Our room had no heating at all. No radiator to dry wet clothes or towels. one window in the room that was too high to see out of. Breakfast not too good, no mushrooms or hash browns but chips ! Private parties at night going on late. Liked the entertainment one evening when there was a good singer. We had a better room last time we went.

Reviewed by
M Jackson

From Newton Aycliffe, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very basic but got a good offer last minute. Beware parking is not available and you have to pay if

Reviewed by
ann m

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Car park is first come first served
No problems with accommodation but it should make clear car park is on a first come first served basis. A primary reason for booking the hotel was the car park. To arrive and find there were no spaces was disappointing and meant crawling round the streets to find a 24 hour space.
Advert should make clear

Reviewed by
P Mackay

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good room
a few more drink making supplies required & as usual the T.V. update required it is 2014 !

Reviewed by
denis r

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired hotel. Has seen better days. No consistency on pricing.

Reviewed by
Brian Suthers

From Carnforth,, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A grand old hotel
A grand old hotel indeed. My single room was quite satisfactory with everything in it but unfortunately the weather was very warm on my visit to Southport and the windows were sealed shut - so it was very warm and stuffy in the room. Breakfast was great and all the staff I spoke to were very friendly and helpful. I enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
L BROWN

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Impressed
Even though I requested for Ground Floor or 1st Floor twin room, as my mother has difficulty walking and a fear of lifts, I was given 4th floor double until I complained. We were then given a dark and dismal 1st floor twin at the back of the hotel, even the window was frosted like a bathroom!! It was also quite a walk from the lift!! There was only one main lift, with a maximum of 4 people, this meant having to wait for the lift to go up and down 2 or 3 times before we could actually get in it. The dining room was dirty, with what appeared to be soil on the window sills, and the area where we could serve ourselves was covered with grease, which I ended up getting on my blouse, which is now ruined!! I complained to the receptionist, but was told there was nothing they could do. This was to be a break for my Mam, who hasn't been away since my Dad passed away 18 months ago. It's a shame that the stay at the Britannia Prince of Wales Hotel in Southport put a damper on the couple of nights we had!!

Reviewed by
Linda Nevet

From Wesham, Preston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value
If you just want a room to lay your head - great value for money.

Reviewed by
Nicola Proctor

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next