No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 173 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay frindly and suprised on th prices for food and drink very ecomaomoical

Reviewed by
paul mann

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
We needed a stop over whilst staying close by to family, so our purpose for this hotel was a base, a bed for the night & the facilities associated with a hotel. We did not eat here at all, however we used the bar facilities. All the staff were helpful, friendly & polite. The hotel could be amazing & clearly was in its day, the decor is average & could easily be much improved but its clean & tidy. The seating area in reception is grand but now slightly run down but not in an offensive way, just the odd crack in the grand ceiling & the odd chair needing attention. The front garden is lovely & we had a sunny drink before we met up with family again. The shower was powerful & rooms large. Just needs some £ spending on it to make it much better, however lets be honest here its value for money & what can you expect. Will stay here again & that states it all.

Reviewed by
Rachel C

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Horrendous stuck in 80's!!!!!
This Hotel would have been Great back in the 80's when it was last decorated or renovated!!!
The rooms are very tired and old the mattress was very uncomfortable and there was one very thin cheap towel for two people.
It was 32 degrees outside and airconditioning is a swear word in this hotel.
That is not the worst the corridors and carpets stunk like sick.
We will never stay here again. Take my advice go to the small independant B&B's same price but clean modern and nice.
Great Hotel for Stag Do.....

Reviewed by
Kenny W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Night out in Southport.
It was a bit tired looking especially in our room. Well past its' former glory, no doubt, but it was clean and tidy, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and for the price a bargain. Car parking arrangements at £2.00 for 24 hours another bargain. Many thanks to "The Prince of Wales"

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

basic accommodation,needs updating
This building has lost some of its grandeur! In need of a make over and keen management to clean the place up, stayed in an "Executive" double room??? Nothing much to warrant that! Clean sheets, warm room (June) clean towels.

Reviewed by
Wayne Ramsden

From Darwen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shopping trip to southport
i have stopped at this hotel before and would recommend this hotel, but this time they put me in room 134, no windows and next to lift noisy, bad room if you want to sleep....

Reviewed by
Patrick landy

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel was okay for what we paid, clean room and comfortable beds. The only thing that let the Hotel down was the breakfast, there wasn't much chose for the full breakfast and instead of hash browns they served chips which was a bit strange. If we go again we will book room only as there are plenty of places to eat close to the hotel. The staff were very helpful except two women in the dining room who were rude.

Reviewed by
L Jones

From Llandudno Junction, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very cheap, and cheerful! Bargain
We stayed here just for one night after going to a nearby wedding, we arrived really late, but the receptionist still opened the bar to get us a drink, the place is massive, took us while to find our hidden room, which was perfectly comfortable, and clean. This hotel has had its hayday , it's dated but I gpu d it to still be lovely and enjoyed all the old decor and fittings!! If you want a flashy hotel this is not for you, if you like quirky, and can look passed the dated decor this is for you. So cheap couldn't complain!!!! I would definitely go back again. Shower was old but was best shower had in any hotel, really powerful!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Sally, R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay in Southport
Central hotel, good size rooms but need updating. Good value for money but if you are looking for a high quality hotel this is not it. Our room was in the front but needed a good clean in places where you could not see at first glance. i.e. wardrobes, drawers under beds. Some of the facilties advertised not available, we booked bed only so cannot comment on the food. The entertainment was ok.

Reviewed by
J T

From , England
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel for the money. Good choice of breakfast

Reviewed by
David B

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next