No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Prince of Wales Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lord Street , Southport, PR8 1JS
Located in a prime position for those Golf lovers and shopaholics, 5 minutes walk from Southport train station! This beautifully kept Victorian hotel boasts the most beautiful landscaped gardens and detailed architecture from days gone by. Throughout, the reception, lounge area and the bedrooms the decoration is in keeping with the elegant and stylish character of the building. All 143 en-suite bedrooms are fully equipped with today’s modern facilities.

The restaurant is the Colonial, which serves excellent traditional fayre dishes and the Clubhouse bar, themed in true Golf style, has a friendly atmosphere. The hotel also features the 11 Conference Rooms available for any occasion with first class facilities and accommodating up to 450 people. WIFI is free to all guests and is available in all public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Prince of Wales Hotel, Southport at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 185 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
The place is in real need of a revamp and is a bit dated. The television in the room was far to small and we had to use binoculars to watch it in bed. Really didnt like the suprise £2 hidden car park fee for the night. Ok for the sunday night price.

Reviewed by
P Robinson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location. A little dated but tip out too early
Nice clean hotel with nice atmosphere. Great location. A little dated but tip out too early. 10.00 vacate is a little early especially at southport. 10.30 or 11.00 would be more reasonable. Pleased though with everything else.

Reviewed by
paul s

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Britannia
Thought it was brilliant that you could take pets there ,friendly, breakfast nice but really need to change the sausages they were not very nice at all not edible,hotel could do with an up date , very over priced £39.00 for a room not inc breakfast I think was very expensive.

Reviewed by
Danielle S

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed comfortable
Food good
Room very tired. Needs TLC
Staff indifferent

Reviewed by
W Mobbs

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Served it's purpose but very tired hotel. Dated, needs painting and cleaning
Very dusty room and was woken by repairmen at 9am wanting to
change a lightbulb !!!
Good value for money but wouldn't rush. Back!!

Reviewed by
Alison T

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The executive room we were allocated on arrival was somewhat dated and under no circumstances couid it be described as executive. It would appear the lady in front of me had a similar problem as she was upgraded to a suite room. However the hotel were happy to find a room that although was not up to the level we expected was adequate for one night stay

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay!
Good value for money hotel. Great room, very clean. Lovely afternoon tea!

Reviewed by
Jeanette R

From Birkenhead, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

review of room 134
We were given a room which had no window ad which was wrapped around the lift shaft. Consequently, our night was disturbed with the noise of the lift going up and down until the early hours and also the noise began again in the early morning. Also, as there was no window, there was no way to get any fresh air and there was a prevailing stuffy smell which was unpleasant and made us feel claustrophobic. we did complain on leaving and felt this should not be le as a room as it was more like a cupboard.

Reviewed by
K Mallon

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
Good clean comfortable room ,central location

Reviewed by
alan l

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
On arrival we were met by a very brusque young lady on reception - not very friendly or helpful.
Breakfast was very poor. The queue was long. The sausages were a very poor quality. My tinned tomatoes had mould on them which put me off eating the rest of my breakfast. The staff were not eager to put it right in the dining room.

Reviewed by
K Nelson

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next